We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,022: English reviews
leics
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A ideal location, only one minute to the mail box on foot, the canal net work and shops are all close by, the parking was about 10 mins away but we picked the cheapest. The hotel is having a extension and our room was a bit tired but clean, we was aware of this and didn't bother us. We never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilf10
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room very poor with fittings falling off and bathroom furniture loosing its protective covering leaving untreated MDF exposed. Not a typical high standard we are used to with Premier Inn. Extension in progress so had to put up with contractors at 07.30 banging and rattling around on Sunday morning

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartr905
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stuart, Thanks for your review of our Premier Inn, Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side). I am very sorry to read that your experience with us during your recent stay had fallen short of our usual standards. Naturally, we want all of our guests to enjoy every aspect of their stay with us and therefore we shall be sure to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff that this hotel were very supportive at a stressful time, as I was down for a funeral. They ensured I had a comfortable room which met my needs, with a large comfortable bed. They also were very helpful with my travel arrangements, giving knowledgeable advice

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we have stayed at Broad street at least ten times, this is the first experience of a disturbed night, with shouting and cars screeching their tyres. on all other occasions the stay has been great, the staff are friendly and welcoming

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y5602LLkeithw
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keith, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us and the disappointment caused by the noise from outside which disturbed your stay. Our rooms are fully insulated to prevent an much noise as possible so I...

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Premier Inn Canal Side hotel many times over the years. Probably in excess of 15 nights. I have always left very positive reviews, even coming back after the 6 month period between reviews has expired on TripAdvisor to extend my thanks to the hotel for comfortable and pleasant stays. This is not one of those...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zillion
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Zillion, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel again. I am very sorry you were not happy with the current extension works at this hotel. Although we do advise guests of the current works on the website, I am sorry you feel it affects the quality of your stay and so...

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Chose this hotel because it was a short, 10 min walk, from New Street Station. There was a significant amount of work going on at the hotel, which we were made aware of in advance. Staff at reception were really nice. Room was ok, but it is time for the refresh. It's an older Premier Inn, so not as spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hawklord_pxr5
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years. It has never been good but is handily placed in the centre of the city so I have returned despite the poor quality of my stays. However, When I went back a few days ago for a two night stay I was shocked to find the car park,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david r
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi David, Thank you for your review. It's such a shame to hear that you have not enjoyed your visits to the Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) hotel. Recently the hotel has been refurbished, however this has been displayed on our website, as well as a notification of the smaller room sizes so that guests are able to make an...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The hotel, staff and surrounding area was excellent. Unfortunately there were works taking place and this impacted on our stay but we received a full refund without asking for one. If it was not for this it would have got top marks.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nebloc
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

View of the building works from room 312. No parking here at all and tricky access with the building work on site. As notified on the website the rooms here are small. I had only 12 inches my side of the bed and the bed was shorter than normal. Clean and very comfortable though and in a perfect location for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila r
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Mould on the ceiling of the bathroom in the first room I went in. Did get to move room, bathroom was better but overall cleanliness was still pretty poor. Also building work going on so my first view was scaffolding and when I opened my curtains in the morning I could be greeted by builders :(

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hello George, Thanks for taking the time to review our Premier Inn, Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side). I am very sorry for the issues you had during your recent stay with us regarding the cleanliness levels of the rooms you were allocated and the building work taking place. Of course we want all of our guests to enjoy every aspect...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
3,419 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 117 in Birmingham
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#52 of 117 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $89 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a different Premier Inn Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles P-j-S-2, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go there. Its a rip off.”
 of 5 bubbles 854davidr854, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Refurbish with better sound insulation and air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles petm2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor canal view”
 of 5 bubbles marka467, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles LOVEOURHOLIDAYS60, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5