We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

42 The Calls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
42 The Calls
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 42 The Calls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 768: English reviews
Tyne and wear
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We checked in Saturday afternoon, check in quick and friendly, first impressions of room (217) was very good, closer inspection was the decor and silicon in bathroom need updating, TV was some type of computer system and monitor popped out of wardrobe (it's 2013 everyone has a flat screen tv on wall) there was a honesty bar in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny D
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall you would return to 42 The Calls. We are currently in the process of updating the TV's and system as part of our refurbishment scheme, however we do not have a completion date for this, but in the meantime if you ask the reservations team they will be happy to...

Wimbledon
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Best nights sleep I have in a hotel for a long time. All staff were very polite and the breakfast was yummy If traveling by train and have luggage better to get a taxi from the station. There is a pub two doors along from the hotel which very nice as well called the Landings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobthetaxi
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you had such a great night’s sleep whilst staying with us and found the team polite. They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it was great to read that you found ours yummy. The team and I look forward to your...

London
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed for one night for business - an executive room booked through hotels.com for £140 room only. Pros: Glass of wine on check-in is a nice touch - I don't drink wine and was kindly offered a beer instead Smarties and hand-made biscuits in the room appreciated, as was good selection of drinks on tea tray Beds are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. Having found your bed comfortable and enjoying some of the added extras I was concerned to read your other comments. I am sorry that you had issues with the Wi-Fi during your stay, a maintenance issue with the Wi-Fi was detected and a technician has since been on site and rectified...

Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in this hotel at the start of October. It's a lovely looking hotel with lots of period features and beautiful decor. The location is fantastic (it was noisy on the Saturday night but in the middle of Leeds that's expected!). The staff were nice and friendly and even brought our complementary wine to our room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Having had a pleasant stay and finding the staff helpful I was concerned to read your comments. There are procedures in place to ensure the privacy hatches are cleared during and after a guest departure so I am sorry that this was not the case for yours. I have spoken to the kitchen and porter...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at 42 The Calls in mid September. Upon arrival I was blown away not only with the wonderful interior but also by the helpfulness and politeness of the staff ... not to forget the complimentary glass of wine. The room was perfect. It was warm, clean and very well presented. The staff had kept a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 rating. Your glowing review has certainly put a lot of smiles on faces. The team and I are thrilled that you had such a brilliant stay and will be back. Kind regards Helen Cooper Operations Manager

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband & I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and although it was nice tbh I wished we'd booked the the hotel we were looking at. It was quite dated in the rooms & corridors also was really warm we had to ask for a fan. I'm not saying its bog standard as to me that's a travel lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMW2002
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Although you thought the hotel was nice, I was disappointed to read that having stayed for your wedding anniversary you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I would obviously like for you to return and if you do, please contact me directly so I can personally oversee your reservation. Kind regards Helen Cooper...

London
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent from start to finish. Welcoming, friendly receptionist, spotless, large, comfortable rooms. A joy to stay in. Convenient for the city centre shops. Nice cosy bar area. Would make this my first hotel of choice next time I stay in Leeds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlondieMo
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review. I am delighted that you had such an excellent stay and we will be your first choice for Leeds. Your praise for the hotel and team are much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Helen Cooper Operations Manager

huddersfield
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently booked to stay at 42 The Calls for my birthday last weekend, we were greeted at reception by a member of staff who took payment etc. I was told 'we usually have a glass of wine for guests but we haven't got any glasses (providing the bar is next door) but we will send two up to your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rachel h
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was concerned to read your comments regarding your stay and please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I am sorry that you did not receive your welcome wine; I have addressed this with the reception team to ensure this does not happen again. Our check in, as well check out times are detailed...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We finally got the chance to stay here for a concert on Friday & glad we did. The reception staff are really friendly, no problem with checking into our room & the glass of wine at check in was a nice extra. The hotel is very clean with a strange layout, after walking down the narrow hallway in our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne_B55
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you finally got to stay with us and after enjoying your stay you will definitely return. Our housekeeping team work very hard and really appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and turndown service. We all look forward to seeing you on your next Leeds visit. Kind regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We had two choices - window open and get too much noise to sleep or window closed and it be too hot to sleep. Not being able to sleep was really disappointing because apart from that it's a nice hotel with a comfy bed and a decent bathroom. Alas, needing to sleep is pretty crucial. May try again in winter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Having found your bed comfortable and liking the hotel, I was concerned to read that due to the hot weather and external noise you were unable to sleep. If you do stay again in the summer months we would be happy to provide you with a fan. I do hope we will see you again...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Quebecs
#7 of 85 in Leeds
1,006 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#13 of 85 in Leeds
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The New Ellington
#14 of 85 in Leeds
732 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 85 in Leeds
2,850 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Price Range: $105 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#20 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 42 The Calls staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from 42 The Calls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with a river view are very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles VickieTee, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room overlooking the river”
 of 5 bubbles Dinchy, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles obsngobs67, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles loubylou-n, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room overlooking the canal. Rooms overlooking the street can be noisy with late night revellers”
 of 5 bubbles Selgris, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay