We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

42 The Calls

42 The Calls HotelUS$77*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$80*
US$77*
US$80*
US$80*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
42 The Calls
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 42 The Calls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 791: English reviews
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed on business as presenting at a conference in Leeds. I do a lot of business travel and one night stays and I've always said all you need is a good shower and a comfortable bed. You get a very comfortable large bed in a large room with a super raindrop shower. Double aspect room, heavy duty curtains, good television...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartinatDesk
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was lovely to read your comments regarding your recent business stay and glad you had a quiet and comfortable time with us. Although there is not currently an alarm in the bedroom, you can ask the receptionist to wake you in the morning, with a personal alarm call. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I liked my room here very much. A good size with a big bathroom. The view over the canal was lovely too and the location is great for city centre meetings/ work. In the room, the amenities are very good. Oddly, for a hotel in this price bracket, there is no clock in the room. And no radio - the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thedorothyparker
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location was good for your business meetings. I am sorry there was not a clock in your room, we do have the digital time on the TV boxes and there should be a clock in the bathroom. We are looking in to the radio...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I like staying here as it is such a change from the big corporate hotels and what they get right here is the slightly quirky design and approach. But some of the little things don't help, twice I have stayed there when there has been some basic maintenance to do in the rooms, the bed head in my last room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you do like staying with us for our quirky design and approach; however I was concerned to read your comments regarding basic maintenance. We do have a maintenance team on site and any issues reported to us by, either team members or guests, are fixed where possible. The team and I...

Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a birthday celebration .the welcome from reception staff was excellent with a complimentary glass of wine on arrival.we also received a free room upgrade.the room was clean and unique with parts of the old building incoperated in to the deco.I've never slept with a large wheel in my room before!we loved it.the carpet was a little tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrshkarcher
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love a celebration at 42 The Calls and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay. The building has some fantastic original features from the days when it was a corn mill and I am glad you were able to appreciate these. The team and I look forward to giving you a...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2013

On arrival we were met by friendly staff and offered a glass of wine to take up to our room. I thought this was a lovely touch which I had never experienced before. Our room had a lovely window which overlooked the River and the bed was extremely comfy. Complimentary Tea and coffee with home made shortbread added that special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our little added extras such as the frog soaps and homemade short bread. The team and I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Helen Cooper Operations Manager

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a treat from my daughter for my 60th birthday she had booked the hotel because we were going to see cirque du soleil on arrival they were very friendly we were offered a glass of wine and shown to our room. it was most impressive views of the river Aire. we had complimentary tea and coffee and water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenys85
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review. What a lovely treat from your daughter for such a special birthday. I am glad that you feel we are a fantastic hotel and do hope you had an equally great time at the Cirque de Soleil which was at the new arena. We would love to see you again. Kind regards Helen Cooper...

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here as we came up from London to see Peter Grimes(wonderful).we stayed here about 4 years ago.Its a little quirky,and in a great city situation.However the hotel really needs a refurb.The outside requires decorating,and our room was in need of a new lick of paint.Carpet was stained.Bathrooms spotless.Breakfast was excellent.This hotel looked a little unloved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and found your bathroom to be spotless and breakfast excellent. There is a refurbishment programme, where some areas have been completed and other areas are ongoing. I do hope the team and I can welcome you back to the hotel very soon. Kind regards Helen...

Stocksbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The last boutique hotel we stayed in being a massive disappointment, I booked The Calls looking to have my faith in individualism restored. A glass of wine on arrival to take up to your room was a lovely touch which set things off on the right foot. If I'm honest, we didn't utilise the room for muc other than sleeping,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonRACowan
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we were able to restore your faith and you had a comfortable stay with us. The team, especially reception, love to take the time to talk to all the guests and get to know them, but as you say if you want further information on services we offer they are there...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed with my mum whilst visiting Leeds for an interview. Good value for money. Room immaculately clean and very well equipped. Lovely comfy bed and really nice bed linen. Only criticism was that even with our windows open it was boiling hot (a warm October, unusual for Leeds!). The reception staff were really friendly and the wine on arrival was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dobbertravels
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was lovely to read your comments and that you, your mum and your dog, all enjoyed your stay. We did have some late summer weather in October, should you ever require a fan then the team will happily supply you with one. I hope the interview went well and...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at 42 The Calls previously and recently came back with my husband and upon reading some recent reviews I felt compelled to write a review myself.   First of all, it was yet again another delightful stay, on a Saturday evening, yes there is some outside noise, but you are in the heart of the city centre, not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie J
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5/5 review. As a return customer it was great to read that you had enjoyed another wonderful stay on a Saturday evening. I would like to thank you for your patience and understanding with regards to the fire alarm. I have shared your comments with the team, who are thrilled and look forward to your return...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 86 in Leeds
1,051 reviews
The New Ellington
#11 of 86 in Leeds
782 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 86 in Leeds
1,287 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
489 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Price Range: $113 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 42 The Calls staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield
3 months ago
Bradford, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from 42 The Calls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room at weekend7”
MaryBSheffield, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get one next to the river”
lunesdalem, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a river facing room.”
PaulC792, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dont get a room on the front due to noise and light polution”
105lukes, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a river view are very nice.”
VickieTee, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
42 The Calls Hotel
US$77* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$80
TripAdvisorUS$77
Hotels.comUS$80
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates