We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

King's Head Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
King\\
King's Head Inn
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for King's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 707: English reviews
WIndsor, Berks, UK
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Our stay at the Kings Head was very last minute as we had been to a funeral and changed our plans and decided not to drive home, we booked because it was in the city centre and very convenient. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanandMurray
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear JanandMurray, Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating! While we are sorry to hear about the reason for your visit, we’re glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our wonderful central location to be convenient for you. We’re happy that our friendly Reception Team made you feel welcomed during your stay and we...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The beer was great, the food was cold and disappointing. I was told I couldn't take a drink up to the rooms, but then the receptionist (on the first floor) said there is no room service but you can bring anything up from the bar. Excellent bathroom, uninspiring bedroom. I would go again, but it would be better if they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Paul U, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully satisfied with your stay, please be assured that we do allow food and beverages bought in the bar to be consumed in your room. We will discuss the issues you have raised with the Bar Management Team to...

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

This is an old coaching inn now repurposed as a wetherspoons pub. The standards still apply with steak nights to Mexican mondays. Like all the pubs in the chain it's a standard formula that works. But there's little to mark it out as unique. But it's a place that is considerably cheaper than many others in pricey Salisbury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robert W, Thank you for your 5* review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again should you visit Salisbury! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Very impressed with the King's Head Inn at Salisbury. Large corner room with double aspect windows. Lovely decoration throughout the hotel, and nice to get some extra touches, such as biscuits / complimentary bottled water which have disappeared from other "budget" hotels. A great Sunday night price. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Good value food and drinks as always in...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to welcome you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The room was smaller than the ones shown on the web site but perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. Strange thing though, there were no drawers in the rooms so you have to use your suitcase for your smalls! Not bothered by any noise and we stayed Weds to Sunday. All the staff extremely friendly and professional, couldn't fault them. The...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila b
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sheila b, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you are already booked for a return visit in April, we look forward to welcoming you! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Thetford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

As all weaterspoons we found it all very reasonable. First time we have stayed at a spoons and can't fault it. Our room was a bit on small side but very nice and clean and tidy. A very lovely barthroom and very clean. The hotel is very central to everything. Well worth a staying here . Parking is a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank s g
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear s g, Thank you for your lovely review! We're glad that you found our room cleanliness to be of a high standard and that you enjoyed our wonderful central location, as we are very fortunate to be walking distance from all that Salisbury has to offer. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Good price and Wetherspoons? Was not expecting such a spacious bathroom, and the small but pleasing touches like free shortbread and sparkling water that you just don't get at budget chains any more. Clean, modern, and always good to find a place that offers single rooms. Recommended, though bring earplugs as handy convenient location means some street noise.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaireadDw
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear MaireadDw, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your kind comments! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

We had an absolutely lovely stay. The room was large and spotlessly clean. The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. We did stay on a Wednesday so weren't troubled with noise that other reviewers have commented on. The reception staff were really friendly and efficient. Overall for the price and location we could not fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2978
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrea2978, Thank you for your review! It's great to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words for the staff! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

well worth a visit again.the room was immaculate and tastefully decorated.Salisbury is a historical city and the Kings Head is ideally situated alongside the river to explore the city.all staff were efficient and smart appearance.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekcfb999ww
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear derekcfb999ww, Thank you for your review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you should you visit Salisbury again! Kind regards Liz Davies Hotel Team Leader

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

A rather special Weatherspoons right on the river and close to the cathedral. We stayed in the hotel and ate in the pub. Room was very comfortable and clean. Reception staff very helpful and friendly. Food was good value. As with many Weatherspoons, the only niggle were a few guests who were clearly a few sheets to the wind, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela K
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review

Dear Angela K, Thank you for your wonderful review! It’s great to hear that you find our location rather special, we are very fortunate to be located right in the heart of Salisbury alongside the river Avon. We’re glad that you found our Reception Team to be approachable and helpful during your visit and we’re happy to hear that you...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Accessible King Room (24)
Viewed
Double Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (23)
Viewed
King Room (20)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (13)
Viewed
Twin Room (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
4.5 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
6.7 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#8 of 16 in Salisbury
248 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
944 reviews
2.0 km away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
394 reviews
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: 1 Bridge Street, Salisbury SP1 2ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Price Range: $93 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Salisbury
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Salisbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from King's Head Inn staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
normanton
1 month ago
1 month ago
8 months ago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
9 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from King's Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not have room 118”
mamabella48, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth giving a go”
KarenT902, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room on the highest floor you can if you want it more quiet”
Somerican, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there if you like to sleep.”
ginger5London, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in Salisbury.”
calvino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5