We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King's Head Inn

Traveller (157)
360
Panoramas (29)
Traveller (157)
360
Panoramas (29)
Dining (7)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Public Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
River View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
176Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
45Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
953Reviews
332Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 377
  • 387
  • 125
  • 28
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
First stay in a Wetherspoon Hotel, certainly not the last!
· Great location. Room and bathroom spacious, clean and well equipped.
Iron, ironing board, hair dryer, large walk in shower.
Comfortable and large bed.
Impossible to tell you were above a pub.
Great value for money with
Read more
I found the hotel easily from the station (10 min walk) and it was less than 10 mins to the cathedral. I had a spacious double room on the first floor, with a huge bathroom and rainfall style shower - everything was absolutely great, although the creaky floors in the corridors we
Read more
Never stayed in a Weatherspoon hotel before and i really enjoyed staying in the Kings Head.

The room was a single but was beautifully well decorated and being a converted coaching inn, the ceilings in the roof area are different. However, i am over 6 feet tall and did not come
Read more
We just got back from nearly 2 weeks in England. Our first night was here. The inn is super conveniently located, old, and charming. Our room (a twin) was fine. Parking is off-site and paid, but easy enough. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Be aware there is a lift fro
Read more
The pub has a large and attractive interior on two levels with loads of seating. We were there on a Saturday evening which was very busy and, as a result, the tables weren't getting cleared and cleaned anywhere near quickly enough for new customers. We finally got ourselves a rea
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Accessible King Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Twin Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Single Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The King Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Family Room at the King's Head Inn
Previous
Do you have a car park and also do the rooms come with a fridge? Many thanks
Dear Jessica S, Thank you for your query. Our Hotel does not have on-site car parking, but the closest long term stay car park to our location is Central car park and the postcode is SP1 3SL. Please contact our Reception Team if you require further information about Central car park. We do not provide fridges within our rooms, however we are happy to refrigerate guest medications or other items at Reception upon request. Kind regards Gina Hawkins Hotel Shift Leader
0 votes
Do you have a car park and also do the rooms come with a fridge? Many thanks
Dear Jessica S, Thank you for your query. Our Hotel does not have on-site car parking, but the closest long term stay car park to our location is Central car park and the postcode is SP1 3SL. Please contact our Reception Team if you require further information about Central car park. We do not provide fridges within our rooms, however we are happy to refrigerate guest medications or other items at Reception upon request. Kind regards Gina Hawkins Hotel Shift Leader
1 vote
Show all answers
May I ask what is the name of the closest train station?
Dear Forrest W, Thank you for your query! The station is called Salisbury train station and is a short walk from our location. Please do contact us if you need any further information. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have any interconnecting rooms?
Dear livetotravl1950, Thank you for your query. Unfortunately we do not have any interconnecting rooms within the Hotel, however we do have Family rooms (which are suitable for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 16) and rooms that are next to each other can be requested by contacting us on 01722 438 400. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello King's Head Inn, I'm inquiring if you have one room for 3 adults, (my husband and I and our 21 year old son) for September 13 to 14 or 13 to 15, 2017? Thank you, Heidi
Dear hksh2014, Thank you for your enquiry! Unfortunately we do not have any room types suitable to accommodate 3 adults within the same room. However we would suggest a Double room, suitable for 2 adults at £79 per night or £158 for a two night stay, as well as a Single room for your son at £69 per night or £138 for a two night stay. At present we have this availability for the dates you have mentioned. Please do contact us directly if you have any further queries. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"Ask for a quiet room away from the road"
"Its a Wetherspoons so Food is Excellent and inexpensive"
"might be best at the back for a quieter sleep?"
"We were on the lower floor room 118"
"If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room at reception."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
king`s head hotel salisburykings head hotelkings head salisbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSalisbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing