We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Booking.comUS$70*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 396: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Adelaide Hotel
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights, the small double is very small. The best part of it is definitely the location, just 10 mins walk into Windsor shops and the castle. Staff seemed ok but I got quite a rude response when asking about bar food menu/room service in the afternoon. I was told the room info book was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahCLeeds
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I read the reviews and was really worried about staying here.....but wow I was so wrong. Lovely staff from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. Comfortable rooms and lovely food. Will be definitely staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kindest regards

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a short break in Windsor and we were delighted with our choice of this hotel, for anyone bored with the soulless boxes that are chain hotels then this is a superb pick. The hotel is charming and unique but still offers all the comforts you would expect from a modern hotel. We had booked three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZooPip1979
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for your recent review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

Derby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location! We used it as a stay over before flying from Heathrow & must say it was a great location for both the airport & for exploring the town the day before. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Yes the hallways may need some tlc but you don't stay in them so personal think this is nit picking. Would definitely return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
RoyalAdelaideHotel, Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for your positive review and we are delighted to hear that this was a perfect location for you. Please do think of us if you return to Windsor in the future. Kindest regards

Sydney
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We stayed at the Royal Adelaide as part of a last minute trip to participate in the Queen's 90th Birthday Celebrations. Room prices throughout Windsor were horrendous that weekend and the Royal Adelaide had vacancies and looked nice. The hotel is located 10min walk or a very short taxi ride from the center of Windsor. That was a bonus during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxiTaxi
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for your review and we are pleased you had a comfortable stay and found the staff friendly. With regards to you finding the room and corridors cramped, this may be due to the age of our building which a lot of our guests do comment on how charming it is. We do hope to welcome you...

UK
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I had my doubts about staying here after reading various previous reviews. To be honest it wasn't my choice and we only stayed due to other family members being there, and this was depicted by one of them needing a place to stay that accepted a dog. Whereby there was nothing majorly wrong with the hotel (just lots of little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happy-To-Wander
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your stay here at the Royal Adelaide Hotel. I do apologise for the issues you have experienced and I can assure you that each matter has been addressed and the relevant departments spoken to. Given the number of issues that you encountered during your stay, I am surprised that you did not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Where to start? The room was NOT what we booked - we booked a Superior Deluxe Room and was given a small family room (we were on a romantic break away). For the price I expected the pictures that accompanied the advert on both Booking.com and the hotel website - I received neither. When we asked at reception what Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Lilley, Please refer to your personal e-mail to which we have responded as per your request.

Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel near Windsor Castle. Some rooms have curved glass windows. Easy to walk to attractions. Was reasonably price when we went. Included breakfast at that time. Enjoy the area and your trip to this part of England

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidhale22
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review with regards to your stay at The Royal Adelaide Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back should you travel to Windsor in the future.

Chafford hundred
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here fri 9th & sat 10th Dec . Staff friendly & helpfull and location only a few minutes walk to high street & Windsor castle . Overall impression of hotel was that it was tired and in need of a redec especially the corridors & stairways . Our room (17) was adequate and had everything one would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylortays
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments as we do find these very useful. I am pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for your stay. I am surprised to learn your Breakfast experience was disappointing and this matter has been addressed. With regards to the car parking it does state it is limited...

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed for one night when having a night out in Windsor. I cannot fault the staff, location or cleanliness. The room was not huge but certainly adequate. For the price this was an excellent choice in the heart of Windsor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
RoyalAdelaideHotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to The Royal Adelaide Hotel in the very near future. Have a very Merry Christmas!!

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.7 km away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.6 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
1.0 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.8 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Price Range: $120 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com, LateRooms and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Adelaide Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Adelaide Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a ground floor room if you struggle with stairs, there is no lift available”
 of 5 bubbles ZooPip1979, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a superior double - No. 35”
  • Damp damage in bathroom
  • Dirty sink
  • Dust in room above curtains
  • Stains on pillows
  • Dust on ceiling
  • Stains on bed
  • Filthy ironing board!
 of 5 bubbles MissRLilley, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Windsor is on the flight path to Heathrow; planes fly right over the hotel from 6am, but the windows are double glazed.”
  • Room 33 looked out on an elegant terrace of houses and beautiful trees.
 of 5 bubbles ccsidewriter, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get used to the aircraft every 90 seconds”
 of 5 bubbles regk128, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All are small, but neat and tidy, however be aware no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles cliffordjohnw, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$70
HOTEL.INFOUS$78
Expedia.comUS$70
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates