We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nanteos Mansion

Rhydyfelin, Aberystwyth SY23 4LU Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (385)
Dining (66)
Room & Suite (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-04-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Nanteos Mansion
Updated 21-04-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 14 hotels in Aberystwyth
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Nanteos Mansion is a grade 1 listed Georgian Property built in 1739 by the Powell Family, and lived in by the same family until 1951. Now restored to its former glory, offering a range of deluxe bedrooms, combined with sumptuous public spaces and providing fine dining using the finest of local Welsh produce.The ethos of the house is 'A country House that happens to be a hotel rather than a Country House Hotel' professional, yet friendly unobtrusive service, where our guests can feel pampered yet relaxed. Nanteos is proud to reestablish the tradition of welcoming guests to this fine Country House.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Hidden Gem
Great View
Languages Spoken
584Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 403
  • 81
  • 49
  • 25
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
RL3579 wrote a review Jan. 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited at the first weekend of December with my dog. I’d been given a dog friendly suite and wasn’t sure what to expect but I was very impressed. The suite had both a bath and stand-alone shower and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was very clean and the bed comfy. There was a good selection on offer for breakfast and both days the food was exceptional. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially on checking in and out and the grounds and hotel are beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded Jan. 4, 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your break during these challenging times, and hope to welcome you once more when we are all returned to some normality. The Nanteos team
Read more
Ann R wrote a review Oct. 2020
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were disappointed with the quality of the "luxury" room after paying £170 for the night. The lack of a mirror in the bedroom was a real issue. Two roman blinds were broken, one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. There was a makeshift arrangement with the broken blind in the bathroom but the blind needed to be lowered as we saw occupants looking out of windows in neighbouring rooms and the bath was right in front of the window. It was too dark even with the lights on for shaving, contact lenses and makeup. The bathroom door didn't close. The bed was really hard, creaky and uncomfortable. Emailing Nanteos on our return home, the answer was .......... silence! This isn't luxury accommodation and if the room needs repairs really shouldn't be available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: All a bit shabby, if you want a bit of luxury go elsewhere
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded Oct. 10, 2020
Dear AnnvrV9049SG, Thank you for your recent review, I am disappointed to read your comments with regard to your recent stay and do not recognize many of observations you have made. Yes we are aware of the roman blinds, which have been measured for repair, however the existing ones remain functional. The lighting in the bathroom has always suited the needs of many of our clients whom specifically request that particular room, however as you have now raised it we will review the current provision. We would also take issue with regard to your comments about the bed as our beds are complimented on with regard to their comfort. It would appear from the above that the room itself was just not to your liking, it is a shame that you could not have raised this at the time of your stay and we could have moved you to a room more to your liking, and similarly had you requested an extra mirror for the bedroom we would have been more than happy to provide one. Finally, unfortunately we have not seen any email from yourselves with regard to the above, we strive to ensure that we reply to all correspondence in a timely fashion, but in this digital age we live in it is not unknown for the odd email to go astray. We would be delighted to see you again at the Mansion in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly to assure you of our personal attention. Yours Nanteos Mansion
Read more
Ian S wrote a review Oct. 2020
Bristol69 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed here for the first time as part of an Equinox ride across the UK, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after by every member of staff who attended to us. The service we fast and efficient and really enjoyed ourselves though out, so we would return for another stay. The Covid precautions required, gave this hotel as the first hotel of this ride, a strange air to it, but like the world we now live in, accepted it and carried on with our stay. The room, was clean and comfortable with a tea and coffee tray for our use. The food was well cooked and plentiful and very freshly prepared, our pre-ordered breakfast which is now the norm, was nicely cooked and tasted great .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded Oct. 5, 2020
Dear Ian, Many thanks for your review . The 'Equinox ride' was a unique event and we are glad at it all went well. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Best wishes The team at Nanteos.
Read more
Glenda E wrote a review Oct. 2020
2 contributions
In response to the cancelled ‘wedding’ booking, it is correct to say that the wedding had taken place 36 hrs before, BUT we had not booked the venue for a wedding or for a blessing!!!!! We booked the venue for a family gathering to take place two days after the wedding - there was NO vicar and NO registrar. The music room was simply booked for the family, and my brother to say a few words. It was booked weeks ago with everything agreed with Nanteos. All these covid rules that Nanteos are going on about all cane into place on the 22nd, so that gave them plenty of time to let us know that they were not going to allow our family gathering. Yet they left it until 36 hours before to drop their bombshell. The running of this place is diabolical. Shocking behaviour !!!!! Think twice before booking anything at this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded Oct. 5, 2020
Dear 234glendae, Whilst we regret having to cancel, we received confirmation on 10th September from the Bride that the Music room was required for a Blessing of the wedding. On the 14th of September the Welsh Gov placed a ban on indoor social gathering of over 6 people with the exception of Weddings or Funerals. At this stage under these guidelines all was still fine for the event based upon the information we were supplied. A further email was received from the bride entitled ," Blessing Saturday 26th September 2020 , New COVID 19 regs," agreeing to these regs and asking whether ,"it was just wedding guests who have to wear masks and not the bride and groom?". From this we rightly assumed that the wedding and the "blessing" were happening on the same day. Of course when we were made aware that the wedding was not going to be held on the same day as the reception we had no option but to cancel.
Read more
JKwls22 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom34 contributions19 helpful votes
Not even sure where to begin writing this review but I feel people should know. I was due to get married there 2 days ago and the venue cancelled on me 2 days prior with some out of date covid terms and conditions, not the most up to date ones. The terms and conditions were dated from august 22nd however we booked the venue 1 week before that and they were happy to book it, pay in full and continue to plan the day with us. Why they couldn’t tell us it couldn’t go ahead 6 weeks ago? If it wasn’t for another venue stepping up to help me I wouldn’t have had a venue. They were not bothered that they were ruining one of the biggest days of my life and no issue in just brushing it off with a quick phone call. I would have been the first person to recommend this hotel as it is a great place however I have to say the team there have dealt with this so unprofessional! The funniest part of it all is they couldn’t hold my wedding because of some out of date covid guidelines however they were okay to hold a wedding there the day they were calling to cancel mine! Not a place I would ever trust to be in charge of a wedding!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Response from Nanteos Manager, General Manager at Nanteos Mansion
Responded Sep. 29, 2020
Dear JeWales22, Firstly, your review headline is untrue. You were not due to get married at Nanteos. You had planned to have a Blessing of your marriage and a small reception for 30 people at Nanteos. To be clear and to avoid confusion it is important that I address this review. Whilst it is true that we had to cancel the event mentioned this was done with extreme reluctance when it became evident to us that to continue with the event would mean that the business would be breaking the law. Unfortunately it only became apparent to us at the last minute, i.e two days prior to the event that the couple were not getting married on the same day as their reception. When contacted two days prior to the event to confirm the location of the marriage Ceremony we were informed that it was to happen in the Manchester area in 2 hours! Current Welsh Covid 19 Wedding Guidance, which was 'updated' on August 22nd and remains in force, is very specific in the matter of the wedding ceremony and subsequent reception being held at two different venues in that this is allowed if both wedding and reception were to be held on the same day. As soon as we were made aware that that the couple were actually getting married two days prior to the wedding reception itself, we revisited Welsh Government Guidance, confirmed this with the council and deemed that it would not be legal for us to allow the event to proceed. We then had to inform the couple that the event could not continue and immediately returned the deposit. We bitterly regretted having to take such an action and of course we have sincerely apologised to the couple and family. However, as one can imagine emotions were running high, and the reasoning behind our decision was dismissed. Unfortunately we cannot risk the future of the property and its staff to accommodate an event that could see us rightly prosecuted and hope that the casual reader understands the predicament we found ourselves in. Lastly we are surprised and shocked that another venue in Wales permitted the event to go ahead as we are all subject to the same regulations. Especially at a time when our County for the past week has seen such an increase in COVID test positive results and most businesses are doing their utmost to assist in controlling the risk of spreading the virus even with resulting loss in revenue.
Read more
US$98 - US$381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomWalesCeredigionAberystwyth
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nanteos Mansion
Which popular attractions are close to Nanteos Mansion?
Nearby attractions include Amgueddfa Ceredigion Museum (4.8 km), Hafod Uchtryd (2.3 km), and Aberystwyth Castle (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nanteos Mansion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Nanteos Mansion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Nanteos Mansion?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nanteos Mansion?
Conveniently located restaurants include Y Ffarmers, Casablanca, and Backyard BBQ.
Are pets allowed at Nanteos Mansion?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Nanteos Mansion offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Nanteos Mansion?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cofiwch Dryweryn Wall (7.0 km), Queen Victoria - Merchant Ship's Figurehead (4.8 km), and Statue of King Edward VII (4.9 km).
Is Nanteos Mansion accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.