We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cartref Guest House

  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Cartref Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked through booking.com and was contacted by guest house to say I'd been double booked but I could have a lesser room with shared facilities for the same price as original booking. When qustioned about it i was met with fairly short and rude answers. I suspect they didn't want to honour their booking .com price as I was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
Kirkby Malzeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in hotels all the time when I am travelling for my work, so I did not know what to expect when booked into this guest house in Caernarfon. Well, I can admit to being very pleasantly surprised. The room, though small, was comfortable and well appointed. The owner and the manager friendly, approachable and very helpful. I expected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
mary h, Owner at Cartref Guest House, responded to this review

Well thank you David. As I'm not at Cartref so often these days it was a pleasure to have the opportunity of meeting you and your partner. I'm so glad you were also happy with the Manager, Cai, who I have every trust in to look after our guests. Thank you for the comments about our breakfast. We can only...

Flintshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having been to Caernarfon many times and absolutely loving it there I decided to treat my husband to a night away and came across the Cartref on booking.com Upon arrival around half past 1 we were allowed to check into our room early and the gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in room 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leahry20
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely establishment run by charming people. Cai was helpful and friendly throughout my stay and the breakfast was perfect! Fresh food to get you primed for a day of exploring the town. Wish I could have stayed longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadatraveltime
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016

End of season mid week stay. Perfect as a base for a few days walking in Snowdonia. Nice warm room and a clean bed to crash after day in the hills. Can't complain. Excellent price and good value. B&B nicely situated within the walls of Caernarfon, couple of minutes walk from centre. Parking free 3 minutes walk away at Victoria...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank podzorama
Manchester
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I booked Cartref Guest house because it was the cheapest room available last Wednesday. I booked through booking.com I was working an hour away from Caernarfon and just need somewhere cheap to stay as I was working the next day. The Guest house is in a fabulous location and stones throw from Caernarfon town centre were there are lovely shops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenkiely27
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This is ideal if you want to be in the town just a 2min walk, room was clean bit of a flaky ceiling but was quiet outside. We were located on top floor there was a bathroom shared opposite by two rooms that werent on suite so you do get noise from people using this facility. The let down for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie b
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, a beautiful townhouse which could do with a lot of TLC. Room a little shabby, but clean. One young man providing a sterling service from check in to check out. Breakfast room a little cramped, no cooked breakfast other than eggs and toast which takes a long time to arrive. However there was only ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marjory A S
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my kids to visit family recently. What can i say the place is a little gem. Nice clean rooms and comfortable beds. Excellent continental breakfast ( even for my fussy kids) The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a comfortable time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bonnybunny
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely little B an B family run inside of Castle walls can't fault it really made to feel at home on arrival an quaint an homely. Maybe not for someone who used to more modern style hotel/boutique style but for us was just right an location was perfect. Only problem we had was parking but was completely safe at end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macpaul82

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caernarfon hotels
0.1 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,177 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.2 km away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
134 reviews
0.1 km away
Caer Menai Guest House / Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#4 of 22 in Caernarfon
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cartref Guesthouse is a lovely Georgian house with a wonderful atmosphere in a location that is steeped in history and convenient for all the town's amnesties and local attractions. Roger and Mary bid their guests a hearty welcome to their home and are happy to provide for all guests needs. Being excellent cooks they provide a 5 course breakfast that is exceptional and for which they use only the best of local food. Their home made vegetarian sausage and potato cake is a great hit with guests and they provide both breakfasts and evening meals for any special diet, all home cooked. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cartref Guest House

Address: 23 Market Street, Caernarfon LL55 1RT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: $65 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartref Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cartref Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartref Guest House Caernarfon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cartref Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They seem to be all very quiet so no preference”
  • twin room
  • twin room
 of 5 bubbles R_G_Baker, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a twin room and it was rather small as above . Don't know about other rooms”
 of 5 bubbles TrevorS431, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The new 'rose room' is beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles kathybK1486RA, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is a double with ensuite bath on 1st floor, overlooking quiet cobbled street. Plumbing was a bit noisy, but otherwise v nice room.”
 of 5 bubbles 375julietp, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
“They are all good rooms! Mary showed them all to us and all are charming.”
 of 5 bubbles yourbasictraveler, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5