We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Celtic Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 892: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Celtic in Caernarfon is well worth a weekend visit It is a few minutes easy flat walk to castle so suitable for all Staff are extremely helpful and friendly I must compliment the breakfast unlike many hotels the hot breakfast was made to order and not the usual buffet style so excellent warm breakfast severed to table also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 832Starrsy
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd don't normal write reviews but spend the last weekend at the hotel with Pontypridd rugby club,two buses for two nights and two buses for one night. First class service, rooms excellent and the food one of the best hotel food I've had .many thanks to all staff and managment

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allan R
Wigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here on the 17/12/2016 just as a break away from Christmas. Originally booked just for one night but enjoyed it so much booked the same room again in the morning for another night. The room was really nice and extremely clean. The staff were really friendly, couldn't do enough for you. There was a couple of Christmas parties going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SusanFagan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. The room was lovely & the breakfast was fab. Location was great. Would definitely stay here again. Checkout was at 11 but as we had plans for the day the hotel allowed us to leave our vehicle in their car park til we were ready to head home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne C
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a New Year Break organised by a coach tour company. May I congratulate the staff for their courtesy, friendliness and hard work they all put in to make this a truly memorable and enjoyable occasion. Especially the New Year Gala Dinner. Outstanding!! However. Shower almost useless/ no shelves in the bathroom Floorboards creaking from the room above. You...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jassy502
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind review, we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed the Gala Dinner, as well as your feedback of the Celtic Royal Hotel staff. We have taken your comments regarding the floorboards and shower on board and will look into this. We hope to welcome you back in the future Kind Regards Customer Care...

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had afternoon tea for 10 people as a birthday surprise. Although it was busy the service, arrangements and quality of the afternoon tea was outstanding. We have also recently enjoyed a lunchtime meal that was equally outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CardiauP
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. We were thrilled to read your compliments of our afternoon tea and lunches. We hope you will visit us again soon Kind Regards Customer Care Department

walsall
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a three night break at the Celtic Royal and could not fault it at all. Lovely food with a good choice, modern colourful decor and spacious rooms. Leisure facilities were good and a nice central location with good parking. Would definitely return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenny_ianWalsall
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your fantastic review, we appreciate you taking the time to pass on your kind comments regarding our meals and leisure facilities We hope to welcome you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the future Kind Regards Customer Care Department

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit to the Celtic Royal although we have visited Caernarfon on many occasions. We used a Groupon voucher and this gave us really good pricing over our 3 day stay. Our room was spacious as we had been given a family room on the third floor. We overlooked the main road, but there was very little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike S
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for your 5-star review! We were delighted to read your praise of the Celtic Royal Hotel bedrooms, bathrooms and restaurant. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Customer Care Department

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night with our Christmas do. The room was well decorated and welcoming with a nice atmosphere. We had a three course meal. I had a fish based starter which was very tasty. The turkey main was very average - pretty much a processed "roll" of meat - service was spasmodic with lots of colleagues waiting to be served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyRyan
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lily, Thank you for your review. We were surprised to hear that you felt that some aspects of your meal were not of a high standard as we regularly receive fantastic feedback on our dining. We have taken your comments on board and will look into this. We hope that you will visit us again Kind Regards Customer Care...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having booked 5 days on HALF BOARD at the Celtic Royal over christmas we were very disappointed to find that our evening meal was a two course meal with a supplement for the 3rd course and a further charge of £2-35 for a single cup of coffee without the mint chocolate !!. on the plus side this is a fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim w
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim, Thank you for your review, we were pleased to read your compliments of the hotel staff and amenities. Our dinner, bed & breakfast deals include an allowance of £21.95 per person per night from the 3 course menu. There are options available below this price, anything above this would be added to the bill. Standard coffee is included...

562 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (362)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (26)
Viewed
Double Room (30)
Viewed
Executive Suite (32)
Viewed
Family Room (29)
Viewed
Pool (19)
Viewed
Dining (77)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)
Viewed
Twin Room (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,156 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
18.3 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
397 reviews
2.6 km away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Price Range: $93 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Celtic Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Stockport
7 months ago
Prescot
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Celtic Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with double and single more room and at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Shopaholic12, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Never heard anyone in our party complaining about their rooms. We certainly had none.”
 of 5 bubbles carandfay, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't think it really matters”
 of 5 bubbles 822petek, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views ask for a top floor room at front of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ChoiceMum, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check for creaky beds!!”
 of 5 bubbles prenteg, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay