We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plas Derwen

Booking.comUS$87*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Plas Derwen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Plas Derwen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We had Sunday lunch yesterday which was great after being let down by another pub in the area we turned up at short notice but still you fitted us in I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to you and all your staff the service was brilliant and the food was of a good standard , We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MOLEMASTER59
Management response:

Glad you enjoyed your visit too us! Thank you for your lovely comments, I'll be sure too pass these onto the team! We Look forward too seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Kate

Reviewed 5 November 2016

Have been a number of times previously and the food has always been to a god standard. However at today's visit the food was extremely poor. Jerk chicken skewers were literally 3 pieces of chicken with a salad garnish. There was no pineapple or relish as described on the menu and for something described as jerk the flavour was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
Management response:

I would like to offer my apologies for the bad experience you had on this occasion, as you have previously visited you know this is not to our usual high standard. I you would like to contact me directly so that I can kindly discuss your experience and investigate this further I would be very grateful and can hopefully resolve...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Five of us stayed here for two nights because we were going to a wedding nearby. All three rooms were very large for the price charged as well as being warm and clean. The staff were so obliging especially at breakfast time. We only ate one evening meal in the restaurant but the food was of a high standard. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beechwood24
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Saturday night meal and on arrival the barman delivered good service. Menu and wine list very good and interesting all tasted good and well priced. Training needed though for the waitresses in the restaurant who were very inattentive on a not very busy night. We had to ask for wine list, ask to place food order, clear our own plates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rayney_12
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with other members of our family to take part in a wedding renewal at another venue, we were treated very well,staff were great,food was very tasty,had one evening meal and two breakfasts and came away well satisfied.hotel was very clean, only downside was no hand rails on the bath (which was deep) as a person who is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel..great staff great food lovely big rooms we had a fabulous weekend here. Would highly recommend can't wait to visit again. I truly can't find any thing that would have made our stay better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrie E
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed our dinner out here tonight! Had blackened hake. Was delicious. Daughter has mini fish and chips and staff were happy to give her beans instead of peas. In fact all staff were very helpful and friendly. Desserts lovely too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTParkin
Preston
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel with friends last weekend, it was chosen due to the location, where we wanted to meet up before moving on to take a canal boat holiday. What a lovely surprise - there is nothing that can be faulted about it! We had 2 lovely massive rooms between us with large bathrooms - it would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PKNelson
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016

In good location 10 minute walk into Abergavenny. Visiting friends so did not eat in hotel except for breakfast which was very good and had a vegetarian option. Visited a local vineyard which was a surprise and was very enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

I returned to this hotel with my family for a one night stay, to break our journey from the Midlands to Pembrokeshire. I have stayed here before on a short break. Everything about our stay was superb. The food, although not cordon bleu, was excellent and served by staff who were pleasant, friendly, obviously dedicated and well trained. My grand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrdo5959

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
1.0 km away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
851 reviews
6.1 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
489 reviews
10.6 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#3 of 29 in Abergavenny
303 reviews
0.7 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 29 in Abergavenny
154 reviews
3.5 km away
Llansabbath Country Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plas Derwen is a fantastic pub restaurant which offers exceptional food at ordinary prices. Located within easy reach of the A40 and A465 (Heads of the Valleys Road), it was redeveloped to a high standard in April 2007. All our food is cooked to order, using produce from local suppliers, listed on the back of our weekly changing menus, enabling you to have a different dish with every visit. There is also a Specials board and a Fish Specials board for even more variety. This is a warm, welcoming venue with pastel colours and a large see through feature fireplace. The building dates back 600 years and the refurbishment has been sympathetically undertaken to reflect old meeting new. With contemporary furnishing, the traditional slant has been retained with many nooks and crannies around the pub. The Garden Room, Lounge Bar and double Conservatory are separate rooms offering different experiences. Some areas have leather sofas and leather tub chairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plas Derwen

Address: Monmouth Road, Abergavenny NP7 9SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: $137 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Derwen 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plas Derwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Hotel Abergavenny
Plas Derwen Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plas Derwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked outside in the courtyard, didn't see any other rooms.”
bella3777, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms outside in the annex were great.”
Claire123456777789, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Close to the railway station and easy access to the main motorway connection. Excellent countryside close at hand - good for walkers.”
bsrbaram, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Several rooms are set across the car park - they are big, very quiet and cars can be parked outside the door - good if it starts to rain!”
PKNelson, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I can't advise on this, I have experience of three rooms and have had no cause for complaint.”
jrdo5959, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$87
TripAdvisorUS$87
LateRooms.comUS$87
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates