We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Angel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Angel
The Angel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Angel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 762: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with friends recently. We chose to book a Deluxe Double room which was located on the second floor overlooking the High street. Whilst it was a lovely spacious room, we were very disappointed that it only had a shower & no bath considering our friends who only had a small Executive room had both! Plus there is no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sue J
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our lovely spacious deluxe room. Unfortunately as you booked through booking.com, a bath was not requested which is why you had a deluxe room with a shower only. We have recently changed our toiletries to Aromatherapy Associates which I am... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have previously enjoyed drinks with friends, afternoon tea which is something everyone should treat themselves too. I have also used The Angel for business meetings. Because of these good experiences we decided to have our wedding and accommodate our guests overnight at The Angel From start to the finish of our mini moon everything was quite simply superb. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your wedding day at The Angel; it was an absolutely magical day. We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Angel in the very near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an autumn 1night break that included mulled wine on arrival DBB. Lovely homemade mince pie with mulled wine on arrival. Room was upgraded & very nice . Facing the street so was noise but didn't bother us as quiet by 11pm. Clean room with lively linen & good bathroom. Only little fault with bathroom you turned the light... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mgf
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the Winter Wonderland break with an excellent breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant room overlooking peaceful High Street. Good parking and if full adjacent public one. Staff impressive and food enjoyable. Decor in restaurant and bar area needs revamping as not quite got it right. However overall top marks for great stay. Back in April for wedding anniversary. Town has become rather up market but remains very friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony2710
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a pleasant room overlook the peaceful high street. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Angel in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a wonderful place. Staff are Amazing they really put there selfs out. I would stay there again and again.. which we plan todo after the great stay we had. If you do stay i would like to say please try the afternoon tea you will be very suprised ..

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay. I will make sure to pass on your kind comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a guest with my wife at a wedding service followed by the reception at the Angel on Friday afternoon and evening. We were looked after brilliantly by a small group of very professional staff who appeared to be exclusively looking after the wedding. The room in which the service and reception was held was superb, in fact the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank review2013744
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the wedding on 4/11/16. It was such a beautiful event and I am pleased you felt well looked after. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, but room 6 is noisy - I got an upgrade, and as you can see from the photo, it looks onto the Main Street, so I was woken early by the beer barrels being delivered, and some traffic noise. The staff are very helpful - I asked for an iPhone charger and they provided one very quickly. Eating... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica76
Willenhall, West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the angel for work reasons. The facilities and staff were great as was the food and drinks. The hotel has a relaxed warm feeling and will definitely return with my wife for a long relaxing weekend.

Helpful?
3 Thank E985QCjohnw
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with great facilities, great staff, great food and drink. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife to The Angel in the future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

Cardiff
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a relaxing weekend here, enjoying delicious food, friendly staff too. Although there were weddings held it did not spoil our weekend. Fabulous little cwtches. We will definitely return here and we highly recommend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Welshy60
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your weekend break. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business. Rooms are clean and modern, but the hotel also has character and charm. It was just a shame I had to work, as the location great and surrounding countryside lovely. Ate in the restaurant one night (some of the best scallops I have ever tasted) and bar the next night (good steak).

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
Charlotte G, Manager at The Angel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your 2 night business trip. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit The Angel again for leisure. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths More 

557 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (367)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Castle Cottage (110)
Viewed
Executive Room (59)
Viewed
News Room (90)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (38)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abergavenny
6.9 km away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
442 reviews
9.8 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
15.0 km away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
788 reviews
14.3 km away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
0.3 km away
Abergavenny Hotel
Abergavenny Hotel
#2 of 30 in Abergavenny
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
Cuisines: British, Welsh
The Oak Room
The Oak Room
Cuisines: British, European, Welsh
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish hotel and place to eat in the Brecon Beacons. Winner of The Tea Guild's prestigious Top City and Country Hotel Tea Award 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Angel

Address: 15 Cross Street, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Abergavenny
Price Range: $145 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Abergavenny
Angel Hotel Abergavenny
The Angel Abergavenny, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Caerleon, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe room is large & airy”
 of 5 bubbles mgf, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the small 'cosy' rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Deborah140658, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are staying overnight, get to the hotel early in order to get a car park space.”
 of 5 bubbles BARRYONEUK, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles katezara6110, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter than the ones at the front”
 of 5 bubbles CrispyDuckRaglan, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay