We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Vagabond

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Vagabond
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Vagabond
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've visited the Vagabond a few times now, usually with a group of friends for a MTB or walking weekend but more recently with my other half and another couple. Have to say that it is a great place to stay; rooms are clean and tidy, shower facilities are great (plus the privacy policy for women is really helpful), dry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Betws has become very popular and very expensive in the last ten years. It is therefore great to find real good value for money accommodation. Beds are comfy and clean, showers (mixed) are hot and clean. Drying room is a very valuable feature but needs to be "on" overnight to ensure all clothes are dry. Cooked breakfast, a bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thornzie
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As a bunkhouse its ok, decent well sized bedrooms, warm showers, a decent drying room and well located in Betws. But didn't expect them to be hosting a party until 1am in the morning whilst other guests tried to sleep. Could also of done without the half hour wait for breakfast the morning after. Like most people staying here we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
Colyton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed as a group of 14 at vagabond in April '13 on a MTB weekend. I found the hospitality of Mark and the others to be excellent, a real 'can do' atmoshere. The rooms were fine, though powerpoints were an issue, only one between a 6 and a 4 bed room. The food was cool, good hearty grub, tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niallmc89
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to visit North Wales and look for reasonably priced accommodation, but my goodness we couldn't have found a better place. The manager Mark was so helpful and nice I thought there must be a catch - there wasn't. The place was so friendly, comfortable, clean and welcoming I have no problem in recommending this to anyone. It's an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I planned a weekend away mountain biking with a group of mates for my 40th birthday. The Vagabond is in a great location and it's easy to get to some of the trails in North Wales. We rode out on the Friday to do the Marin Trail Saturday we went to Coed-Y-Brenin (about 35mins away) Sunday we did Antur Stiniog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DStar-LED
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We've stayed in many hostels across the UK and Europe and were disappointed with the Vagabond. There are a few misleading points on the website. The general cleanliness and upkeep of the place is poor. The kitchen is large, but not well equipped for self catering and has no personal food storage facilities. The bar and evening meals are probably...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManyAplace
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Hi manyAplace, thanks for your review are deeply sorry we did not come up to your expectations. Still shocked at the dirty remarks as we clean top to bottom most days. I do all the cooking for the Vagabond and I must say that it has everything required to cook for 36 people. We have a large fridge in the...

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having stayed at the vagabond last weekend I have to say the place was fantastic, the manager was very pleasant and couldn't go enough for us all. The rooms were comfortable and clean and other guests friendly and considerate. The bar was a little noisy but that's what bars are isn't it? Wasn't in my view that bad it needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazinbrum
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Daz. Kind Regards Neil

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Initially looking at the reviews it seemed that they are either great or poor. Having visited The Vagabond I can now confirm that everything complained about in the poor reviews is correct. The place is dirty, with poor facilities, cheap sheets that bobble and cheap matresses. There are only a few sockets for charging things. It is very noisy, and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mandyw66
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review

Hi Mandy, Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay at the Vagabond. We take all complaints very seriously. Please feel free to ring me and let me know what further improvements you would like. The Manager did say it was noisy that evening so on behalf of the Vagabond we are sorry you did not have a...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Fabulous location. The staff couldn't do enough to help. Great atmosphere. Helpful suggestions for things to do in the local area.I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. I will certainly be returning, hopefully before long. I would recommend this place without reservation to people travelling by themselves or in groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 949travellingJo949

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 km away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
662 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
666 reviews
0.4 km away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
499 reviews
0.3 km away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
443 reviews
0.6 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Vagabond staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the lower in the building the warmer”
 of 5 bubbles BarnabyHolmes, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept room 1-grim! 2 & 3 are nicer and refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles rachelt390, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room have best views.”
 of 5 bubbles lushy4, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You don't really get a choice of room but rooms at the top and front of the building have the best views... and the most stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles jamiea672, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“front rooms in the house give you fab views”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelinesmith99, 5 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5