We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$64*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$64*
US$64*
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of The Wellington Hotel
 Click to rate
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and 3 friends went today for lunch and the bar maid who served us was very rude, she had no smile and spoke to us as if she just didn't want us there, I'm sure her name was Shannon as that's what the till read. We ordered our food and sat down to then get stared at from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliviaa0000
Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here twice recently as it is convenient for work. The rooms at £59 a night are good value. They have recently been refurbished and are clean and comfortable. We did ask for a quiet room and were then woken up by the kitchen extractor about 7.30am and then builders drilling at 8.30am. But the service and food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AZV
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Refurbished since our last visit. The whole place is very modern, clean and fresh. We had 2 rooms 23 + 24 at the top of the building, steep steps to get there! ..... room deco lovely even if the floors are sloped..... Breakfast good no complaints about anything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No car parking had to carry the bags from public car park. The breakfast lacked certain ingredients and overall not very well presented. I was also over charged by 10 pounds I didn't realize until I arrive home and checked the paperwork

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carey P
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, lovely facilities, clean & value for money, welcoming friendly staff, just a shame about the food, no vegan options on the menu & vegetarian very limited, breakfast quite disappointing, buffet consisted of cereal, apples or oranges & juices, cooked breakfast ....well not very well cooked, anaemic hash browns & over cooked mushrooms, tomatoes not available as out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feral_Minx
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I really don't want to have to give this place a 1 star rating, it really is a shame as the hotel itself is amazing, 2 million spent on renovations I think, fantastic attention to detail but the breakfast was terrible, and by the looks of things I'm just repeating was other reviews are saying, for starters the breakfast menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Brecon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Family stayed at this hotel from 12/4/17-15/4/17. The accommodation was excellent but the food was only 1 star, we tried evening meals twice before family arrived, the first time the main meal was fine but the dessert we ordered was unavailable (lemon posset) second meal was 2 weeks later and this time the main meal was very poor - fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andreamilne123
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Visited Brecon and called to the Wellington Hotel for lunch- 4 adults and one child. The Hotel is conveniently situated in the middle of town 5 minutes from the main car park. It has a nice clean, classic decor with a beer garden in the court yard. We all chose our meals and then waited...approximately an hour for our mains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshua2901
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one Saturday night in April 2017. Hotel room and bathroom small and cosy but had everything we needed. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KW1963
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wellington Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards

Reviewed 5 April 2017

My husband and i stayed Sat 1st April 2017 for one night. we stayed in a clean well presented spacious king size en suit room that was situated on the ground floor in the court yard. Our 3 course evening meal was presented to us swiftly & Hot. The food was beautiful. The service we received from the Staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyson D
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wellington Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
454 reviews
4.7 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
891 reviews
0.5 km away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 43 in Brecon
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 43 in Brecon
52 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#28 of 43 in Brecon
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Ty Helyg Guest House
Ty Helyg Guest House
#2 of 43 in Brecon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Bulwark, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range: $100 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Brecon, Wales, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For families the interconnecting rooms in the courtyard are excellent”
andreamilne123, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't go there are better but further afield”
Acquerelli, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the taxi rank is outside.”
SkydiveAnnie, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
sianonholiday, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money”
orge1030, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$64* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$64
PricelineUS$64
LateRooms.comUS$64
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates