We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wellington Hotel

Booking.comUS$63*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$63*
US$63*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We visited the hotel for lunch just before Christmas after they re- opened it was very busy the food and service was awful we put it down to teething problems with new staff so when in Brecon on the 20th Feb at 2.45 we decided to try it again there was only about 20 people in and most were eating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonandjac
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Visited with partner and children, around 3pm on a Saturday afternoon. Initially told that there was an hour wait on food orders despite the fact that it was not particularly busy. Then within minutes we were told it was actually only a 25 minutes but in fact the food arrived in around 10 minutes. They didn't seem to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baz069
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

What a shame. We came for some supper at the Wellington last night with 2 friends for my boyfriends birthday. We ordered 2 "gourmet" burgers with the delicious extras and a Mexican chicken burger. The pictures on the bar and in the large graphic menu of the gourmet burger look like a hefty large meatball size burger with fresh salad...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lucy G
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

we booked into this hotel for one night and decided to have a meal there too - disaster! Very slow service and despite it being very quiet (it was 5pm) no-one was bothered about serving us. Eventually I chose my meal, only to be told a few minutes later it was "off the menu", I made another choice, the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann P
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel your experience at The Wellington Hotel was the best it could have been. We would like to invite you back, please email Wellington@sabrain.com so that we can arrange this. Kind regards

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Spent a valentines weekend at the Wellington Hotel Brecon. Easy access into Brecon. Parking is limited but parking is available outside the hotel. Delightful and helpful staff. Beautifully clean room with on suite bathroom. Information and visitors leaflets available in the room. Delicious food and plentiful. Many Brains beers available and saw the six nations rugby on the big screen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike K
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wellington Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Don't believe all the recent bad reviews !!! My husband and I met up with old friends who we had not seen for almost four years. The Staff at The Wellington Hotel were friendly and helpful in many ways, including taking a group picture. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. Our friends and my husband had fish and chips, which they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeyJones
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wellington Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews on here I was a little worried about what to expect. I booked 3 rooms for a Saturday night to meet up with friends. The rooms were nicely laid out, freshly decorated, new carpets and bathroom. Comfy bed. Not the height of luxury but decent. We had a lunchtime snack that arrived promptly. Breakfast was good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VXR C
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We’re very glad you enjoyed your visit to The Wellington Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Absolutely appalling service! Ordered Sunday lunch and when it came no veg as they had run out! Customers should be told on ordering! A couple next to us had there lunch served,again the same lunch came no veg and one more couple on the other side of us! The service was shoddy our waiter looked wasted and food was cold...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen H
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jen H Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you didn't have the best experience when visiting us recently. We have taken on board all of your feedback and will be looking into the matters that you have raised. I would like to invite you back to give us another chance to wow you, could you...

canada
Reviewed 22 January 2017

If we had noticed the hygiene rating thenwewould not have eaten here. We ordered soup on a saturday afternoon and this seemed to take an age at least 30min. When the waitress was asked the soup appeared quickly but the read order was wrong which was quickly rectified. The barman that took the order seemed not to know what he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ted87
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ted87 Thank you for taking the time to review the Wellington Hotel. I am sorry that you haven't had the best experience when you visited recently. With regards to the wait time on the soup that is something that I will investigate. Unfortunately we do have a lot of new staff since reopening and we are identifying training needs...

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

My partner and visited the Wellington just before Christmas. I went to the bar to order food and was told by a member of staff that he couldn't serve me. He did not give a reason and made zero effort to find someone who could. Seconds later a lady approached the bar and was served by this man straight away,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerryanneadams1234
Wellington B, Manager at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kerryannedams1234 Thank you very much for your review of the Wellington hotel. I am sorry that you didn't have the best experience when you visited before Christmas. With regards to the member of staff, I am confused as to why that happened and is definitely something I will look into. We opened with a lot of new team members...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.4 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
447 reviews
4.7 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
872 reviews
0.5 km away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#3 of 44 in Brecon
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#9 of 44 in Brecon
103 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#5 of 44 in Brecon
48 reviews
0.4 km away
The Beacons
The Beacons
#29 of 44 in Brecon
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're situated in a prime position in Brecon Town Square, within easy reach of the beautiful surrounding Powys countryside and Brecon Beacons National Park. You'll find plenty to do and explore locally. Why not take a leisurely walk along the canal, or maybe a trip on the Dragonfly Barge taking in the stunning scenery. If you fancy an energetic day out, pursuits such as canoeing, mountain-climbing, biking or kayaking can be arranged with Black Mountains Activities, or alternatively you could give Cradoc Golf Club a visit - an excellent club for those golfers amongst you. And of course, in August during the Brecon Jazz festival, the Wellington provide a perfect base for you to enjoy all the musical revelry. Whatever you're looking for, you will find it here in Brecon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: Bulwark, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range: $99 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Brecon, Wales, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For families the interconnecting rooms in the courtyard are excellent”
andreamilne123, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“don't go there are better but further afield”
Acquerelli, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms at the front can be noisy at weekends as the taxi rank is outside.”
SkydiveAnnie, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else!”
sianonholiday, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money”
orge1030, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$63* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$63
TripAdvisorUS$63
Agoda.comUS$64
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates