We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Hotel Cardiff

Save
Share
Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$110
View deal
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (366)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (39)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-02-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21-02-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 130 bright and modern bedrooms, uber stylish dining at the all day pub and grill, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre and Business Club, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
3,646Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,245
  • 1,070
  • 708
  • 358
  • 265
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
WarringtonBaz wrote a review Mar. 2021
Warrington600 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
The Village Hotel Cardiff is now our "go to" hotel when we are working in nearby Treforest and this trip was unusual in so much as it was taken during the Welsh national shutdown in February so the hotel was very quiet. I checked in with my business partner on a Sunday afternoon and apart from my car, there were only two other vehicles on the car park... really weird, because in "normal times" it is difficult to find somewhere as the hotel has a gym and pool which is used by members who aren't residents... the gym and pool were of course closed due to covid restrictions this time! Check in is easy at the Village hotels. Everything is self serve and the hotel receptionist cleans everything, both before and after you've checked in. We booked the Club Rooms as we normally do (mainly for the big TV and power shower (although I'd love a bath sometimes :-) ) I was allocated Club Room 233, but even though there was the "serviced" seal on the door, the window blind was hanging off the wall... a quick call to reception and they came and moved me to 236... great service... although I could have fixed it myself if the hotel had been busy!! The club rooms no longer have the Nespresso machines they used to have, but I managed to get a battery operated, portable Nespresso machine off Amazon, so my fresh coffee fixes are no trouble anymore! Towels are in sealed bags on the bed and the Afonwen towels are the absolute best when it comes to "fluffiness"... When you want a change of towels, just stick them back in the bag and leave outside your door and when you get back from work, a clean bagful is sat there waiting for you. There is food available, although the menu, as you can imagine, is somewhat limited, so I opted to order from a few local curry houses while I was there. They deliver to the reception and you just collect. Breakfast is again quite basic, a bag with some fruit, a croissant, orange juice and a yoghurt Still, the beds are still amazingly comfy and apart from later in the week, when about 50 BT Openreach vans appeared on the car park (apparently they have a training facility nearby and they always use the Village) parking was no issue, but still cost £5.00 a night... no covid reductions there :-( In short, still a great hotel, despite everything that's happening with covid. The staff are great and everywhere is spotless and sanitised
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book the Club Rooms. Big TV, great shower...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
JayM1976 wrote a review Jan. 2021
Leicester, United Kingdom65 contributions34 helpful votes
I stayed in this hotel between 13-14 January as a critical worker in the height of the new varient pandemic. The staff are helpful and communicate efficiently and the check in process was seamless. I stayed in a Club room which consist of a large Samsung TV, shower, iron, hairdryer and walk in shower. TV channels are through a sky box however you can't watch HD channels. Towels were provided for both days in a secure bag and left on the bed. Hand sanitisers placed next to all lifts and NHS QR code placed inside each lift. Evening dinner is £18 with limited menu. I had it one night and I wouldn't say its worth the money so I ordered an Uber Eats on day 2 with plenty of choices and was more than satisfied with good choices from restaurants in the Cardiff area. Overall a satisfied guest, it was my first village hotel stay and would not hesitate to use them again in other parts of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Cruickshank, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded Feb. 15, 2021
Dear JayM1976 Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read your comments about the lengths and seriousness that we take covid 19 and we are glad we made you feel comfortable during your stay. It is our number one focus to ensure our hotels are covid safe for guests and staff. We will of course take your feedback on board about rooms service. We really do hope that we see you again in better times and you can experience Village hotels out of lockdown.
Read more
Chloe Davies wrote a review Nov. 2020
4 contributions4 helpful votes
My partner and I were booked in to have a meal at the hotel at 8:30pm, we arrived at 8:20pm and were seated straight away which was perfect. We were told to use the QR code on the table to order our food but when we tried to do this, it wouldn’t work so I asked a member of staff how to use it and his reply was “we will come over and take your order you don’t use the QR code on the table that is just to download the app” this is the same man who told us to use the QR code to order our food. Half an hour passed and we still hadn’t been served, not even asked if we’d like any drinks, this was now 9pm and the restaurant closed at 10pm so we were expected to order our food & drinks, wait for them to arrive, eat it and enjoy our night within the space of 1 hour.. We decided to get up and leave and order a takeaway to the hotel instead as by this point we were starving hungry having worked all day and travelling to cardiff straight from work. After settling down into bed around 11:30pm we could hear atleast 4 people in the room next to us being very loud, singing, shouting and banging. For a start, the village only does 2 people rooms so why there was 4 in a room in the first place I’ll never know, but anyway we decided to give it 10 minutes to see if anything changed. With the neighbours getting louder and louder and is being unable to sleep, I called down to reception to complain. I was told someone would be sent up to deal with it but nobody was. 20 minutes later, I decided to take matters into my own hands, I knocked the room and asked them to be quiet and I received a very rude response and was basically told to ‘f*** off’ so I called reception again. This time they came upto our room and told us that there was 4 people in the room and they’ve sent 2 people back to their own rooms so now they should be quiet. Finally there was 10 minutes of peace until they decided to go back into the room and start being noisy again, so I called down to reception and asked to move rooms which was sorted straight away. Obviously this isn’t any of the hotel staffs fault, but instead of me and my partner having to pack all our stuff at midnight and moving rooms, the 4 noisy people should have been kicked out of the hotel or sent to another room themselves. Absolute joke.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Cruickshank, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Dear chloedavies13 Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us. I am so sorry and disappointed that you experienced some disappointments with us and I would like to assure you that we will take your feedback on board. I have asked both managers to review these issues and ensure it does not happen again. Thank you once again for your time and feedback. Kind Regards
Read more
janeeywy wrote a review Nov. 2020
Pontypridd, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
We are members here and used our free vouchers for some much needed rest and a treat as we are both keyworkers. Check in was fine and our room was spacious, we like a good shower and it did not dissapoint - i also like the espa products. The host at the restaurant was wonderful however there were not enough staff for a Friday, service was very very slow - our Desserts took an hour to come! The Food however was faultless - great American style bar food well done and good portions. The only major complaint is the bed - it was rock hard. I have never woken up with pressure pain before and so despite paying for a late checkout hoping for the much needed lie in we were awake by 7am,after a very restless night. I've come home more tired than when we arrived.as it was free which is really appreciated, I didn't want to kick up a fuss. Overall it was OK but I would not stay again (we will be back for food though as its great and staff were trying their best)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Cruickshank, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Dear janeybaby Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to see you had a good experience at our hotel and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. We are disappointed that you experienced some disappointments with us and I would like to assure you that we will take your feedback on board. Thank you once again for your time and feedback. Kind Regards
Read more
Go505141 wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution
I’ve stayed here on a number of occasions. Donna the receptionist is very friendly, she could not do enough for us, she is really kind and helpful. Donna will go that extra mile to ensure your stay there is on exactly how it should be. She is very professional and very very helpful with any concerns you may have.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ashley Cruickshank, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded Dec. 28, 2020
Dear Go505141 Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to see you had a good experience at our hotel and we hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Also thank you for the kind words about Donna and i will ensure this is passed on to her. Thank you once again for your time and feedback. Kind Regards Ashley Cruickshank
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
village cardiff hotel cardiff, village hotel cardiff
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Village Cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Village Hotel Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Forest Farm Country Park (0.9 km), Whitchurch War Memorial (1.2 km), and Glamorganshire Canal (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pantmawr Inn, Hollybush Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, and Verve Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Village Hotel Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.7 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.6 km), and Mansion House (6.4 km).
Is Village Hotel Cardiff accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.