We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sport Wales National Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Start your review of Sport Wales National Centre
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I have been a regular user of the accommodation and gym facilities for 8 years and have been given regular stay rates and bookings without deposits as a understanding of loyalty. Unfortunately the past 6 months has seen changes in availability (singles only offered instead of all types of rooms - singles, doubles and triples as previously). Deposits being asked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnretroreload
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I appreciate that this is first and foremost a sports centre (and badminton, table tennis facilities etc. are good), but the gym leaves a lot to be desired. Clearly the size is an issue - it is tiny, but that in itself doesn't bother me. However, there seems to be absolutely no maintenance or monitoring of it. For example, supplies...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Los247
DCNicholas, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. While we appreciate our gym facility is small in comparison to other operators this is taken into account in our pricing policy. As the National Centre for Wales the development of facilities is based on our national governing body requirements. The Cardio and Free Weights Gyms were refurbished last year with the Cardio Gym having...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Very basic amenities but very clean. The staff are outstanding. The single rooms are very small. Some of the rooms have been refurbished in the last year - the new arrangement lacks bedside reading lights which is a real pity as the overheads are fluorescent and too bright for nighttime reading. However, the staff compensate for these minor issues.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Saira M
DCNicholas, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Hi Saira Many thanks for your feedback and for your comments re provision of a reading light. As you are aware, we are currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment for our bedrooms and there are bedside lights in all the most recently refurbished rooms. This also now forms part of the basic specification for future refurbishments. many thanks, Denise

UK
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Ideal for groups and individuals. This sporting centre has an arrange of training, sports, events and facilities. Good value for money and breakfast, WIFI included. Always recommended as first choice in Cardiff. Right in Bute park which is an outstanding public park with plenty of biking routes. 20 mins walk from the bus station and rail station. 'Situated on three...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank johnretroreload
Owen29, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to receive such positive feedback.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

To be honest this isn't the sort of place I would ever stay but friends had booked for a rugby World Cup game and we just went along with it. Have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Very central location, reception staff extremely friendly and right across the road from a reasonable pub. Rooms very basic but clean. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Suemas2014
Owen29, Assistant Customer Services Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is good to receive such positive feedback, particularly regarding the friendliness of our staff.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

The accommodation here is brilliant for the price. En suit room with a tv, very basic but it does the job. The rooms are the hottest rooms I've ever stayed in, even with the window open. The free WiFi also does not work in the accommodation, it's just out of range so that's slightly annoying. Great place to stay if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicola W
Owen29, Front Office Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

Hi Nicola Thank you for your review. It's great to have such positive feedback. Your comments regarding the food we provide have been passed onto our Catering Team.

Wales
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Considering it's a National Centre, WIS lacks pizzazz! Very small, pretty cramped gym and a poor selection of exercise classes. Dance Studio is dated too and could do with a full size mirror. Please inject some money and life into the centre to make it a bit more attractive for members!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taff55
Owen29, Manager at Sport Wales National Centre, responded to this review

It is appreciated that the gym facility is smaller in comparison to other operators and that there are a limited number of group exercise classes available and this is taken into account in our pricing policy. As the National Centre for Wales the development of facilities is based on our national governing body requirements. The Dance Studio was converted to...

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

My daughter was doing her rhythmic gymnastics grading here & we needed somewhere to stay. After checking local accommodation in the area, which were proving to be very expensive due to it being over the easter weekend, we decided to stay here & we wasn't disappointed. Was very reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, reasonably priced cafe with very nice food....

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank LoopyLaura68
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

One criticism is of one receptionist on the main desk. She must be in her 30s, has mousey blonde hair and is the most rude, unfriendly and unapproachable person ever! I always hope someone else is working whenever I visit! I was a member of the gym 10 years ago and she was EXACTLY the same then! I hate to...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank dixonbainbridge78
UK
Reviewed 16 December 2014

Ideal for groups and individuals. This sporting centre has an arrange of training, sports, events and facilities. Good value for money and breakfast, WIFI included. Always recommended as first choice in Cardiff. Right in Bute park which is an outstanding public park with plenty of biking routes.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank johnretroreload

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
121 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
1,001 reviews
0.8 km away
NosDa Hostel & Bar
NosDa Hostel & Bar
#5 of 42 in Cardiff
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cayo Arms
Cayo Arms
#37 of 46 in Cardiff
110 reviews
0.7 km away
Austins Guesthouse
Austins Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Cardiff
263 reviews
0.4 km away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#7 of 46 in Cardiff
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Sport Wales National Centre

Address: Welsh Institute of Sport Sophia Gardens, Cardiff CF11 9SW, Wales (Formerly Welsh Institute of Sport)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Class:1 star — Sport Wales National Centre 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Welsh Institute Of Sport Hotel Cardiff
Sport Wales National Centre Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sport Wales National Centre staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sport Wales National Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter floors, disabled user friendly,family friendly.”
LoopyLaura68, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
1 of 1