We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maltsters

18/06/2017 19/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Maltsters
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Maltsters
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

I walked in with my parter and were rudely ignored by staff members. There was a table of staff all eating food to the left of the door, who all just looked at us when we came in. We walked towards the bar and were still ignored. Tried finding a table but no staff around. Once sat down it just...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tom p
MatthewMcCormack71, Manager at Maltsters, responded to this review

Dear Tom I apologise for the unfortunate experience you received at the Maltsters recently. The day you arrived also coincided with our new menu launch which we are very proud of. The staff you saw had all come in on their day off so that they could try the new dishes so that they can deliver the very best service...

Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

Popped in last Sunday with family, we had a lovely, well cooked meal, the pub was busy by didn't wait for anything. Definitely be back again for a meal and if you haven't been then well worth the visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davidjones1984
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Just had a post voting dinner at the Malsters. The bar and waiting staff were very pleasant but the food was quite disappointing. When the chef explained the reason for the dryness of the food was because they didn't inject it with water I was astounded!! Given the choices in Llandaff I won't be rushing back here for food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FR22_11
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

I came here for my sisters birthday, the waitress staff were friendly but when I asked how much it would cost me for a pint of certain cider, the man behind the bar said £8, as a stupid joke. My sister ordered a starter and it came out with the main courses. I ordered the venison terrine which didn't taste...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay D
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

We stayed at the Maltsters for two nights with friends, to visit their son and family. We found the hotel very clean with modern bathrooms and friendly staff. Breakfast was very good as was the bar food,we found the resturant was very busy with locals on Saturday evening that's always a good sign. The Hotel is in Llandaff near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Scunthorpe
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, very good room. TV in the bath was a gimmick which didn't work but not a show stopper, breakfasts excellent, didn't have any other meals but judging how busy it was they must be good! Central heating a little tempramental,but portable electric heater provided was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Reviewed 5 April 2015

This place is great, have visited here a couple of times and have had great nights on both occasions. The food is very good - I would recommend the beef burger and mushroom starter. The service is always very good too. Great place to visit with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swesh82
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

Visited with fellow school staff for a colleagues leaving do. Mussels were nice and big and followed up by a real tasty burger. Quality chips too which were the best I have tasted in a long time.Great way to end the term.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We stayed here recently for two nights whilst visitng family, I wanted a good bed instead of an air bed at my husbands brothers and thats what I got! I did think it was a little soft at first but actually I had two great nights sleep and the hotel rooms are much farther from the road than they look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twedhead
Reviewed 15 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night as we were going to six nations game. The rooms are very well finished, clean and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast, good choice and priced reasonably considering how good the food was. Service was great too. Would definitely stay, eat and drink here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette711

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
18/06/2017 19/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
3.2 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,169 reviews
1.8 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
6.3 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
5.2 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
3,659 reviews
4.1 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Maltsters

Address: 42 Cardiff Road | Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Price Range: $131 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltsters 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maltsters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltsters Hotel Cardiff
Maltsters Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maltsters staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Maltsters staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only had lunch didn't stay”
Lucelockett, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 big comfy bed , great size shower slight smell from it but didn't bother us. Very quiet so you will get a grt sleep.”
Calno1, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms to the back so not fronting on to main road”
Den51_12, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay in hotel”
robertjV582MM, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Nice peaceful room”
hibby65, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates