We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality

Save
Share
Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Site
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (674)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (344)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-08-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Updated 20-08-10 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#45 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally located in Cardiff City Centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formerly Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David’s shopping arcade. The Citrus Hotel, Cardiff is within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. Recently refurbished, the hotel offers 83 bedrooms and is ideal for business travellers, leisure breaks and families with a choice of room types to suit your needs. This fabulous Cardiff City Centre Hotel is perfect for those looking for Budget accommodation with a difference – great value with a designer feel. All bedrooms have WIFI, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, Super King Beds, Smart TV & views of the city. Our hotel has a 24-hour reception and a Lobby Bar that provides light snacks and refreshments. Car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Polish
1859Reviews25Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 424
  • 451
  • 318
  • 426
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
amandasicingonth2019 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stayed at this hotel on Friday 10th December 2020, the staff were friendly upon check in and smooth booking in process. We went up to our room which had a note on the door to say covid cleaned room, however as soon as we went into the room I saw a necklace next to the bed then we found a bottle lid and a sticky sweet the other side. We did not go looking for faults. I later went to reception to let them know that perhaps they should speak to their cleaning staff about the poor job. They did offer me another room but I didnt feel any others would be different so declined as not one to make a fuss or write reviews. The next day when packing our stuff away we checked under the bed to make sure we hadn't left anything and my husband found a bottle of Russian pills that were for blood clotting. When checking out I spoke again to the receptionist who said he would let the manager know. I got the impression that they couldn't be bothered or would even do anything about the complaints. When we went out to the car we spoke to another couple who had found a dirty hairbrush in their room. So safe to say not a very well cleaned hotel. ONE JOB CLEANING CREW, one job.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with compasshospitality.com
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Responded Apr. 19, 2021
Dear amandasicingonth2019, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We regret to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At The Citrus Hotel Cardiff, we strive to provide a memorable stay experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very important to us. For those reasons, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies in regards to the inconveniences caused. Yours sincerely Tom
Read more
Gareth D wrote a review Nov. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed in this hotel last Saturday while packing up my belongins I left a bottle of expensive aftershave in the room. After contacting the hotel the next day when I realised the receptionist promised to call me back to inform me if this has been found she didn't! So I called the hotel after a few hours and didn't have a helpful response apparently the aftershave was not there so obviously been taken by the cleaners! She denied this on the telephone and said I need to report it to the police which I wasn't prepared to do in a middle of a pandemic they have more things to worry about I just wanted my aftershave back.. Laura the receptionist was not helpful and didn't offer me any resolution to this! Poor service and won't be staying in this hotel again!! Cleaners are thieves
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Responded Nov. 27, 2020
Dear W2570UXgarethd, Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you found us to be so unhelpful but I do not believe it is fair of you to accuse my staff of being thieves when there is no evidence of this. From a hotel point of view all we have been able to confirm is that the housekeeper did in fact clean your room and that during your stay no other room keys other than the ones issues to you were used to entre the room. Since we have no proof that the item you lost was even in the room in the first place we cannot accept any liability for it and since you reported it as missing the day after you checked out you really did leave us with very few options. As you have affectively accused the housekeeper of committing a crime it would become a criminal matter, hence the reason Laura suggested that you would need to report it to the Police . I don't really understand how you can suggest that this was Laura being unhelpful as I am not really sure what else you expected her to do. We certainly would not look to replace the item since as I mentioned earlier we have no proof that it was in the room to begin with. I appreciate that you believe that you left the item in the room and on that basis I understand how you have come to the conclusion you have but unless we can confirm that the item was in the room after you checked out there really is nothing we can do as a company. The housekeeper that cleaned your room has worked for the hotel for serval years and has never been accused of theft and we have had absolutely no issues or concerns regarding her work. She has found the fact that you have publicly accused her of theft deeply upsetting and as mentioned early I consider it to completely unfair. I am sorry that you feel that you do not want to stay at the hotel again but if I am honest based on your recent actions I am not sure that I would feel comfortable welcoming you back. Kind regards Tom
Read more
Ruth Y wrote a review Nov. 2020
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
A clean comfortable room with great views, lovely friendly welcome, couldnt ask for more at a great price, was a little optimistic as its a 3 star, but well worth the stay, would definately return when visiting Cardiff again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Responded Nov. 24, 2020
Dear Ruth Y, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Citrus Hotel on your recent visit to Cardiff and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. At the Citrus Cardiff, we strive to provide superior levels of service to our guests and our team will be glad to know we made your time with us so memorable! Yours sincerely, Tom
Read more
Qtshiv wrote a review Sep. 2020
Rustington, United Kingdom12 contributions10 helpful votes
The hotel was clean and inviting in the lobby. It was made clear what covid rules they had in place. After parking the car, perfect that they have private parking, however very tight and awkward spaces. The room was pretty basic (all amenities removed due to covid) but clean and tidy. We paid for a king bed and city views, which we got. The bed was very comfortable with nice pillows and duvet. Few minor touch ups throughout the room would give it 5 stars (bubbling paint in bathroom, cracked shower tray, wall scuffs). Only negative I have is that the curtains don't fit the window when closed. It leaves about a 2ft gap at one end when closed, which is not ideal in the morning when the light is let in. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the shops/bars which is great. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Responded Oct. 22, 2020
Dear Qtshiv Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Citrus Hotel on your recent visit to Cardiff and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. At the Citrus Cardiff, we strive to provide superior levels of service to our guests and our team will be glad to know we made your time with us so memorable! Yours sincerely, Tom
Read more
Fi0na63 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Reading, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Great price, location, room and COVID safe! Breakfast was takeaway due to restrictions and way more than we expected. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Room and all public areas that we saw were very clean. We would certainly stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tom Williams, General Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Responded Oct. 22, 2020
Dear Fi0na63 Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Citrus Hotel on your recent visit to Cardiff and for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay. At the Citrus Cardiff, we strive to provide superior levels of service to our guests and our team will be glad to know we made your time with us so memorable! Yours sincerely, Tom
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
big sleep hotel, big sleep cardiff, big cardiff hotel sleep, big hotel sleep
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality
Which popular attractions are close to Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Nearby attractions include The Dead Canary (0.3 km), Lab 22 (0.3 km), and Retro Cardiff (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresh the Baguette Bar, The Clink Restaurant, and The Coconut Tree Cardiff.
Is Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Grey and Shipwreck Museum (7.7 km), Insole Court (4.0 km), and St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.2 km).
Is Citrus Hotel Cardiff City Centre by Compass Hospitality accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.