We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sandringham Hotel

PricelineUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 851: English reviews
Start your review of Sandringham Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently spent a weekend at this friendly,ideally placed, family run hotel in the centre of Cardiff.The room was comfortable and clean and considering it was Friday/saturday night in a capital city I slept well with no disturbances.The breakfast was very good,with a good deal of choice.The real bonus was the friendly dining-room and reception staff-who went out of their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil k
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Neil for your excellent feedback. Everyone commented on how nice it was to meet you so it is lovely to read that it was reciprocated. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 1 week ago

Sandringham hotel Cardiff is situated above cafe Jazz free entrance if you are resident. Reception is on first floor unfortunately there is no lift but staff will carry your cases for you. Breakfast is good, and price is very reasonable. Have stayed there twice. Cafe jazz has amateur musicians on certain nights plus restaurant and bar belongs to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Royston C
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Royston for your kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you again and hopefully we shall see you in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great little hotel right in the center of Cardiff. The rooms are basic, but very clean, by booking directly with the hotel we received a welcome drink and free breakfast every morning. Breakfast was wonderful, as were the ladies serving the breakfast; I wish we could remember their names. We were always greeted cheerfully by the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PTinVA
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We get a lot of lovely comments but sadly not everyone writes about their experience. It is really important to a family business like ours to receive such positive feedback so I am really grateful to you both. I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and our...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a dump. From the moment we saw the place we were disappointed: over a betting shop, drab entrance, steep stairs even to reach reception. The rooms are small, dark and in desperate need of refurbishment. Steep, narrow stairs are everywhere and no help offered with suitcases to rooms. Even the lounge is depressing. Do not be fooled by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hilary W
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you have totally hated staying with us. I must say I am very surprised with some of your comments. First of all if any dealing was being done in the street on the main thoroughfare of Cardiff then this is a/. Obviously not the fault of the hotel and b/. Surely something a responsible person...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A central hotel - so great location. Affordable rates - So value for money Friendly staff - so an enjoyable stay An old building - although comfortable and clean, the structure is tired and the rooms are noisy as a result of thin walls, creaky stairs etc - You have been warned : Take your ear plugs

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Albia-Newton
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very happy that you have mostly enjoyed your stay and that you have found us to value for money. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

cardiff
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have travelled all over the world, this hotel is on my door step but has been the hardest review to write. The hotel is right in the centre, so great for all tourist attractions or for a gig, which we were there for. It was noises, even being put in a quiet room, the noise of late night party...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnnparsonsCardiff
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that you believe the room smelt damp. I am also horrified if the breakfast room smelt of fat. This is something I personally hate when I go out. That is one of the reasons why our extractors are regularly serviced to prevent this. I will have a word with...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a small and old hotel with narrow stairways. You can hear every step, stumble and flush. This is more pronounced when most of the customers are drunken Englanders on a Buck's/Hen' night - which was typical of most of the people on the Cardiff streets on the Saturday night we were there. The room is a two-star and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Fred for your feedback. I am sorry that you have not particularly enjoyed your stay at my hotel and surprisingly Cardiff. I think we have a great city but I realise that a busy weekend may not have been for you. Maybe we shall get to welcome you again on a week night. Kind regards, Simon

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked 2 rooms for a night to go to UNI open day. short walk to the UNI. right outside the principality stadium, ideally placed for all sights. Staff helped with directions and information and were very friendly. Very clean, We went next door for a meal in the Jazz cafe, we had a free welcome drink and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cortijorey
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such excellent feedback. It honestly helps us immensely. I am happy that you have enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and I shall ensure all the staff get to read your review. Hopefully we shall get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on two occasions in the same week. This is not a top end hotel, but it doesn't charge prices that a top end hotel would charge. It is very good value for money. The rooms are nice, if a little dated, and breakfast is good too. You get a complimentary drink at the bar downstairs if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MinkySpinky
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your two visits and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed again (9th time) at the lovely Sandringham Hotel. Fantastic hosts and service as usual hence why we keep coming back here. We don't consider it staying in a hotel we think of it more as staying with friends. Greeted with a smile and a hug from the lovely Alison on reception. Sorry we didn't get to see Simon as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaylorWheeler
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks to both of you for visiting us again and for this superb review. We agree that you are more like friends now and everyone looks forward to you staying. We have recently started doing an afternoon tea so hopefully you will have one next time. You will have to come back sooner!!! Thank you for my birthday card although...

312 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (Top Floor) (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,179 reviews
0.3 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,061 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Food & drink at the hotel
CafeJAZZ
CafeJAZZ
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $71 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I asked for a quiet room but beware it was approx 8 flights of stairs from front door”
jnnparsonsCardiff, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“No lifts so if you dont want lots of stairs chose a low floor”
  • bedroom had double and single lots of room
cortijorey, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We love rooms 1,2 & 4 which are on the first floor same as reception and the breakfast room.”
TaylorWheeler, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“any room is difficult for some one with a disabilty”
Deebob5652, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 are on the lowest floor. Room 4 looks onto the side street so would imagine it would be slightly quieter that front facing Rooms.”
  • Side street view from room 4.
  • Room decor could do with brightening up, but was clean
  • take heed of advice re adjusting bath water temp before switching to shower. Water is extremely
helengG6372WQ, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$68* /night
View Deal
AccorHotels.comUS$76
Expedia.comUS$76
Booking.comUS$76
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates