We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandringham Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sandringham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 812: English reviews
Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Booked for one night, good size clean room, large bathroom, very close to center of Cardiff. Staff very helpful and the best part was the breakfast, not a cold buffet with rubber eggs but a hot cooked breakfast. And good rates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geecee09
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star review. It is always great to read that guests have enjoyed themselves and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We booked at the hotel due to knowing how congested Cardiff is AND how expensive the parking is. Mostly NCP car parks and very heavy on price. We booked our parking through the hotel and only paid 9 GBP instead of 21 GBP for 24 hours parking. Not bad eh? 37.5 pence an hour in a city. The Sandringham is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 582jacquiec
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such an excellent review. We try our best to ensure that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is great to read when he have done a good job. It was a pleasure to meet you and hopefully we shall welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Well what a lovely little jewel of a hotel in cardiff. From the moment we arrived until the minute we left we had a warm welcome from the excellent polite staff who went out of their way to help us. Our room was spotlessly clean and spacious, clean bedding, comfortable beds, bathroom was big and again spotless with free toiletries....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

My gosh what a beautiful review. We try our best not only as a business but also because hopefully I employ generally nice people. When these people meet really nice guests it makes a great combination and makes the atmosphere. It wouldn't happen without our loyal and friendly visitors such as yourselves. I will show your kind words to all...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a family room which was on the top floor with no lifts. The hotel itself is in need of updating. Very noisy from the outside passing people and early morning deliveries. Staff very helpful and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pawel W
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Pawel for your feedback. We do have secondary glazing which helps keep out the noise. I am not sure if you had these shut at the time of your visit. Unfortunately with the hotel being a Grade 2 listed building we are unable to upgrade the hotel with a lift. We have explored all options with the relevant...

Reviewed 28 September 2016

The hotel was difficult to find following a gps as St Mary Street does not come up on them. So try High Street as they run into each other. I booked through Booking.com and it said there was parking but didn't mention it was not in site and cost £9 per day. The hotel reception is located on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. I agree the parking information is not clear on Booking.com but they won't allow us to change it. Hopefully guests book direct with us and then we are able to tell them. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon

somerset
Reviewed 18 September 2016

My friends and I booked this hotel for the 30th sep for 3 nights with Booking.com . We had a tele call from the hotel asking us to pay the full monies upfront (a month upfront) as my friend had DD coming from that account and needed to make sure that enough monies were in the account to cover ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dynamite29
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read about this annoying incident. The rooms your friend booked on Booking.com were stated as pre-recharged and non-refundable which is the cheapest option but does mean money paid in advance. We then suggested that we take the booking direct as we can be more flexible without third party agents. In the meantime the rate had...

London
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Situated in centre of City but no parking and clearly a one night stop for coach parties. Hard to find by car as its in a restricted driving area. Not expensive so can't complain too much, but one night was enough.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R W
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you have found us to be value for money. Whilst we do not have a car park we do have a concession with a local NCP. We inform the booking sites that the postcode for it is CF10 1DZ so that guests can drive straight there and then walk one minute...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

FOR those planning a visit to Cardiff then the Sandringham Hotel should be on most people’s shortlist of places to stay. We chose it as our base for a short holiday because the location was so wonderfully central within easy walking distance of key attractions such as Cardiff Castle, the National Museum and the Principality Stadium (formerly the Millennium Stadium)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank singhasam
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your superb review. For someone to take so much of their time to write about us speaks volumes about you. I am so grateful and delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. All of my staff that met you commented on how nice you were. It was our pleasure to welcome you and I hope...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I have almost nothing bad to say about the hotel itself. The staff were, without exception, friendly, polite and helpful, the room was clean and the breakfast very decent (even for a fussy vegetarian like me). The wi-fi was a decent speed and I had no problems with it. The bathroom was clean (although a detachable shower hose would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lordofthemoon
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing us so favourably. It was lovely meeting you and it is great to read that you have had a nice stay. I do understand your comments about street noise. This does generally relate to weekends. However we have many rooms at the back of the hotel which are quieter so please request one of...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This hotel is in a great location, but you have to climb a steep set of stairs to get to the reception desk and then we were on the third floor with no lift. The water pressure is so poor that every time we tried to take a shower the water sent to a trickle within moments and then came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We did try the shower after you mentioned a problem. We set the temperature first and then let it run. We flushed the toilet and ran water in the sink. None of which affected the pressure. This is why we informed you that we felt it was okay. I shall now check what happens when...

293 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Room (Top Floor) (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
1,081 reviews
0.3 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,013 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#18 of 75 in Cardiff
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
Food & drink at the hotel
CafeJAZZ
CafeJAZZ
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $64 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sandringham Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms 1 and 2 are on the lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles V1336XPbrianw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 403phillipl, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front facing with views overlooking St Marys street... !!- rooms 1 - 4”
 of 5 bubbles rosalync324, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“According to how heavy/bulky your luggage is and how good your legs are, book early and get one of the downstairs rooms... NO LIFT”
 of 5 bubbles 582jacquiec, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 were on the same floor as reception so only 1 flight of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseM769, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay