We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Angel Hotel

Save
Share
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$78
View deal
Hotels.com
US$78
View deal
Snaptravel
US$78
US$68
View deal
SAVE US$10
PricelineUS$77
eDreamsUS$78
Booking.comUS$78
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (765)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (268)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 19-08-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 19-08-30 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 elegant and traditional bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
City View
Languages Spoken
English
2,650Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 731
  • 854
  • 584
  • 277
  • 205
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amy E wrote a review Today
1 contribution
I am very disappointed on this hotel, I don't expect it to be squeaky clean considering the price but the dust all over the appliances, grime down the toilet and all over the taps in the bathroom, gone off milk and no replacement for new, the kettle nor did three of the lamps work in the room so we only had one lamp near the bed. The bath wouldn't fill up as the plug was not in working order. It looked like this room had been left for years and not been checked.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Beverley n wrote a review Apr. 16
3 contributions
Very good stay obviously covid rules applied at the time so bar and restaurant not open but they offered room service. Room was clean comfort ble all you needed for a good stay good value for money good location for shopping
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us and taking your time doing a review for us. Kind regards, Utkarsha Chauhan Operations Manager
Read more
dudleyphillips wrote a review Mar. 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I've stayed at the Angel so many times [for work] that over the years I must have slept in 70% of the rooms. Its very charming architecturally, with a friendly group of staff who always have time for you. The city centre is ten minutes walk away. I'm sorry to have to mention one negative though - the mattresses. They're seriously in need of replacement! Quite hard to get a full night's sleep as a result. But I will still go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Darren Kosa-Jones Front of House Manager
Read more
RSTC wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Pleasant looking-hotel in a nice location. Receptionist was friendly, efficient and helpful. Only member of staff we saw. Nearly missed the car park entrance and poorly signed. (Didn't want to be caught on 1 way system) The car park is rough and the chain across part of the car park doesn't seem to have a purpose except as a hazard to your vehicle. Room was 'tired' and attempts to bring it up to date were a little sad-looking with rough over-painting, dingy net curtains and the room phone and other bits and pieces were very dirty. Premier Inns clean absolutely everything. Bath was old and scratched, toilet seat loose and there was no fan in the bathroom, however, the shower had very good pressure and hot. 2 USB socket at the small desk. Not really up for serious business stay. Wi-fi limited. £54 per night and £13 parking is a bit steep. The car park should be much cheaper and we couldn't see a CCTV camera in it anywhere, so felt it lacked security. We may stay again if needed but all the budget, more modern hotels were closed during this period. It was slightly disappointing. Didn't mind it being dated, but didn't like the dirty appliances.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms on the Castle Street side have a pleasant enough view for a city
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Our car park is monitored by ParkingEye cameras and we also have 3 CCTV cameras on the car park. We are aware, due to the history of the hotel the bedrooms do vary. We continually carrying out works and decoration and a major renovation project is in the planning stage to commence as soon as practically possible. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Darren Kosa-Jones Front of House Manager
Read more
mr g wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After looking at the pictures on hotels.com we decided to book this for one night as we were attending a family bereavement on arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff was given our room key on entry to the room were shocked at how very out dated it was and dirty nothing like the pictures there was stains in the toilet and carpets and hair in the bath were were moved to another room that was the same bigger but very out dated with the windows dirty cracked paint falling off bed uncomfortable shower from the 1980s light switches were yellow dust on everything this could be a beautiful hotel but unfortunately just been let to go to ruins even the outside is looking dated Good points - great location but unfortunately have a holiday inn across the road that is well looked after and maintained Bad points- Was like walking back in time to 1980s from furniture to appliances very dirty just not a nice experience couldn't wait for the morning just to leave
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angel Management, Guest Services / Front Office at The Angel Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for your review, I am glad you found our staff friendly and helpful. This is something we pride ourselves on and the team appreciate your feedback. We are aware, due to the history of the hotel the bedrooms do vary. We continually carrying out works and decoration and a major renovation project is in the planning stage to commence as soon as practically possible. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again. Kind regards, Darren Kosa-Jones Front of House Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo cardiff, angel hotel cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Angel Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Angel Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Bootlegger (0.1 km), Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.2 km), and Escape Reality (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Angel Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Angel Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Angel Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Angel Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Citta, Nata & Co Bakery Clifton, and Lezzet Turkish Kitchen.
Is The Angel Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Angel Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Angel Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Angel Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.1 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.6 km), and Mansion House (1.0 km).
Does The Angel Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Angel Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.