We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Save
Share
Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-10-02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$99
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (291)
Room & Suite (104)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Updated 20-11-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 5 more
1,781Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 537
  • 713
  • 380
  • 99
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hearingman wrote a review Apr. 5
1 contribution
I am an essential worker running our own practices in south and west Wales. When I am in Cardiff to cover, I always stay at the Holiday Inn. Before and during COVID 19. The staff have an excellent attitude and are always so helpful, despite being short in numbers during this period due to the pandemic. Nothing is too much trouble and they always have a smile and a great attitude, to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I echo the previous review about the COVID systems put in place, never felt unsafe and everything is spotless. They even accommodate my awkward dietary lifestyle being low carb and Keto. What is striking that even from the beginning they would remember your name, which is not that easy when we are all wearing masks! But that shows their level of customer care. They all work so hard to make your stay as good as it possibly can be, and I cannot recommend this hotel, and it’s team of staff highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Platts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Hearingcentre Many thanks for your continued business and taking the time to write this review. These times are both difficult and strange still, however to receive a review such as this that demonstrates how much the team care and have done so in such difficult circumstances is fabulous and certainly puts a huge smile on my face. It's a pleasure to look after any dietary requirement, we are glad that this is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon, until then take care. Best regards Richard Platts General Manager
Read more
Rosecrew wrote a review Mar. 2021
Wales11 contributions38 helpful votes
I am a clinic Manager and have been booking rooms in this Hotel during lockdown for visiting clinicians and surgeons. we have been using this Hotel for the past twelve months. Infection control is paramount to us and the feedback I am continually receiving from my team is that they feel "covid safe" at the Holiday Inn Castle street. Making a reservation is simple and every staff member that has answered my calls and requests for rooms has been helpful and friendly. When guests arrive they are dealt with promptly and in a very polite and professional way. Covid regulations are strictly adhered to. There is on site parking too. The rooms, although somewhat tired, are always spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a well organised affair and food is hot and plentiful with a good vegetarian option. My clinicians request to stay at this Hotel rather than the other (more expensive) hotels which we used to use because the staff are so welcoming and make their stay easy. Thank you to the brilliant Team at Holiday Inn Cardiff for making us keyworkers feel safe and looked after as we work during the pandemic.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Platts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Responded 3 days ago
Dear RoseCrew Many thanks for your lovely review and for supporting us with your valued custom over these past difficult months. The team I have with me here are a super bunch of people and its clear to see that over a long period of time this has been most evident. We look forward to when we can welcome you back, perhaps even a leisure stay when the situation permits and this fabulous city has all its attractions on offer once more. Best regards from myself and all the team here. Richard Platts General Manager
Read more
Lisa wrote a review Oct. 2020
3 contributions
Well worth £64 for a twin room for 1 night on a bank holiday weekend. Checking in was done easily. Very friendly staff. A lovely clean hotel & very quiet. Lovely views & very central. Will definately return again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Platts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Responded Nov. 9, 2020
Dear Lisa Thank you so much for choosing us on your recent visit to Cardiff. I am delighted everything was to your satisfaction and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you from myself and the team, Best wishes Richard Platts GM
Read more
BillyFCC wrote a review Sep. 2020
Swansea, United Kingdom50 contributions14 helpful votes
Very friendly and helpful staffs, which is the main reason for my rating (would have given a rating of 3 otherwise). Location is great for exploring the city centre but difficult to navigate to the hotel if you're using GPS and came from the east since Castle street is now closed (I spent about 15 minutes driving around the city to get to the hotel). There's also hand sanitizer in almost every corner of the public area (even within the lifts) which is commendable. However, the hotel is in need of refurbishment as the room is too dated for current standards (it seems like the last renovation was at least 20 years ago). Maintenance / upkeep could be improved (most of this is probably due to how old the room is) - room windows could do with regular cleaning to remove the dust stuck outside the windows, one light in my room didn't work, towel had some dark stain, black mould around bath filler tap, wardrobe door dragging on carpet etc. Good effort to provide breakfast but options and quality could be improved as another hotel chain (of similar price) provided better breakfast when I stayed with them last month. The bacon panini didn't taste good. Pastry and cereal were available when requested but I would appreciate being offered these options by default as I wasn't aware they're available until the last day of my stay. Overall a good stay with some rooms for improvement
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Platts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Responded Sep. 25, 2020
Dear BillyFCC Many thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us. I am glad overall you had a good stay and thanks for the feedback on the areas we need to work on. It would help further if you could drop me a line to richard.platts@hicardiffcitycentre.co.uk with the room you had so we can review in more detail. Re the breakfast we are now on full options delivered to your breakfast table to ensure a safe and enjoyable experience - this include fully cooked hot breakfast. I look forward to hearing from you, and welcoming you back when next in Cardiff. Best regards Richard Platts GM
Read more
Deborah W wrote a review Sep. 2020
Ivychurch, United Kingdom196 contributions121 helpful votes
Although we weren't staying at the hotel, Maria who was on reception at the time, very kindly allowed my 88 year old mum and me to use one of their disabled parking bays while attending an event at the Pettigrew Tea Rooms just opposite the hotel and to use the hotel's bathroom facilities. It was a delight to meet someone so helpful and welcoming and made the afternoon socially distanced wedding event in the park so much easier for mum to access. A massive thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Platts, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Responded Sep. 14, 2020
Dear deborahw574 Many thanks for your review, and I am glad we were able to assist you and your mum. It sounds like you had a super time at the tea rooms. Take care & best regards Richard Platts General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn cardiff city centre hotel cardiff, cardiff holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Nearby attractions include The Bootlegger (0.2 km), Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.3 km), and Escape Reality (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Citta, Nata & Co Bakery Clifton, and Lezzet Turkish Kitchen.
Is Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.1 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.5 km), and Mansion House (1.1 km).