We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Cardiff Central

Save
Share
Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
Room & Suite (31)
Bathroom (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 20-07-11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Travelodge Cardiff Central
Updated 20-07-11 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Cardiff, Travelodge Cardiff Central is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its budget friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Travelodge Cardiff Central makes it easy to enjoy the best of Cardiff.

Rooms at Travelodge Cardiff Central offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with wifi.

Close to some of Cardiff's most popular landmarks, such as Motorpoint Arena Cardiff (0.4 km) and Swalec Stadium (1.4 km), Travelodge Cardiff Central is a great destination for tourists.

Cardiff has plenty of French restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Bully's Restaurant, Twenty Nine Park Place, and Bistrot Pierre, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you are interested in exploring Cardiff, check out an art museum, such as Butetown History & Arts Centre.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Travelodge Cardiff Central is sure to make your visit to Cardiff one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
1,218Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 411
  • 279
  • 194
  • 137
  • 197
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
charliesim0ne wrote a review Apr. 6
Cardiff, United Kingdom1 contribution
I had a view of a loud business site, the room was boiling and i couldn't even open the window due to the noise. Tool staff 3 days to give me an extra towel I had asked for as they just kept forgetting. Wifi is not worth the money as it doesn't even work. Lamps didn't work either and room was small
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from The Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Cardiff Central
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for submitting your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. We hope to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you wish to contact us directly to leave more feedback please get in touch with our Customer Services team via our website. Thank you again for your comments. - Zack from The Social Media Team
Read more
Dreamer53870938642 wrote a review Mar. 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Cardiff a lovely city , Stayed at this hotel for business.. Location brilliant close to train station... well done to travelodge for keeping us all safe .Thank you Wendy for the lovely morning chat and checking me out .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Johny wrote a review Mar. 2021
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom1 contribution
A work business stop here at Cardiff Central , hotel nice and clean bed was comfortable,reception smells fresh and clean . Staff exceptional customer service by Wendy .. nothing to much and went out of her way to advice and help me as much as she could on a situation I had that was resolved in no time ... I will be back
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Cardiff Central
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed this stay with us. Please rest assured that the hotel's management team do check up on reviews of their hotels so your comments have been passed on. Once again we'd like to thank you for leaving this lovely review and we do hope that you stay with us again!
Read more
Rah157 wrote a review Mar. 2021
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
I had to make a quick business trip to Cardiff and booked to stay here, what a great hotel this is. Got an email before my stay explaining the Covid procedure in Wales and advising me to bring proof of why I was staying which I did. Glad to see this company following the Covid guidelines correctly. Was checked in by Tyra the assistant manager who gave me a lovely big room with a nice view and it was really quiet. Perfect for me to get some work done. The hotel was clean and tidy and happy to see Covid measures in place to keep the guests safe. Will chose to stop here again when I’m back for work.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from The Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Cardiff Central
Responded Mar. 9, 2021
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with your stay with us, and would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback and rate your stay with five stars. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the future. - Lauren from the Social Media Team
Read more
Tamzin_Bush wrote a review Dec. 2020
Llanelli, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid £50 for one night stay for two people. Wouldn’t pay more. Hotel is very shabby looking, the reception door leading into the stairwell has a hole in it like it’s been kicked in and the lift was broken after ‘someone ripped the buttons off’ which was a nuisance as I am disabled with mobility issues. The receptionist put us on the first floor but still was 4 flights of stairs. The lady on reception was really nice though. There was no soap in the dispenser which was very bad during a pandemic. Luckily I had a bar of soap in my bag so I couldn’t bother going to ask for more. The bed was clean and comfy and the room was overall clean and aired out well. The lamp shade was broken as if it had been punched in. I wouldn’t pay more than £50 to stay. Three homeless men loitered outside all night asking if they could stay with us as they had nowhere else to go... great if you don’t mind having just having a kip somewhere for cheap. I have stayed in nicer travelodges
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from James From the Social Media Team, General Manager at Travelodge Cardiff Central
Responded Dec. 9, 2020
Thank you for submitting your review. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment following your recent stay with us. We hope to ensure all of our guests have a comfortable stay, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this on this occasion. If you wish to contact us directly so that we can discuss your experience further, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website. All customer feedback is valuable to us, so thank you again for your comments.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge cardiff central hotel cardiff, travel lodge cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Cardiff Central
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.4 km), Escape Reality (0.5 km), and The Dead Canary (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fresh the Baguette Bar, Cafe Citta, and Lezzet Turkish Kitchen.
Is Travelodge Cardiff Central located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.7 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.8 km), and Mansion House (1.1 km).
Is Travelodge Cardiff Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.