The Parkgate Hotel

The Parkgate Hotel

Traveller (726)
Superior Queen
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#7 of 67 hotels in Cardiff
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to Cardiff’s finest new luxury hotel.​ Echoing all the elegance and glamour of its historic setting, this chic new spot to meet, eat and relax is part of​ the exclusive Celtic Collection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate: Luxury Hotel Deals & Offers

Location

Westgate Street, Cardiff CF10 1DA Wales
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cardiff-Wales Airport
14.7 km
See all flights
Bristol Airport
34.4 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,142 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Parkgate Hotel's refined atmosphere and spotless rooms gain appreciation from guests, though opinions on the decor's warmth vary. While most find the service commendable for its professionalism, a few have experienced slower service. The hotel's prime location is widely acknowledged, despite minor parking and local cleanliness issues. Comfortable beds and modern amenities are highlights in the rooms, even as some guests report issues with size and noise. The amenities, including a luxurious spa, are well-liked, albeit with additional costs that some feel diminish the overall value.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Sophisticated
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Opulent

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,142Review6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 758
  • 157
  • 122
  • 55
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MAW W wrote a review Feb 2024
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Yet another failure to spend an eagerly awaited stay in this highly recommended quality hotel in Cardiff to enable a hospital visit. You couldn’t make up the latest reason for failing to negotiate a simple public transport trip from Carmarthen to Cardiff, how difficult could it possibly be? Anyway, if it isn’t regular routine train strikes it is the discovery of a tragic fatality somewhere on the train line!! Enough of my woes, this is a review of the Parkgate Hotel in which we have yet to spend a night. But if the exceptional front desk help from the duty manager Alex is anything to go by then we are sure our eventual visit will have been worth it.. We’ll done Alex and thank you from Alison and Martyn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Feb 5, 2024
Dear Alison & Martyn, Thank you for your 5* review. We are thrilled to learn of Alex's helpful and accommodating service. Alex is an asset to the hotel and will be rewarded for his attentive service. We do look forward to welcoming you to the Parkgate Hotel soon. Kindest regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith J wrote a review Mar 2022
Llanelli, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I recently stayed one night at the Parkgate. Having received the overnight stay as a Christmas present from our children we decided to make full use of the hotel's facilities. Car parking was easy at the Westgate NCP £11 for 24hours through the hotel. We checked in early as we had booked the spa for 2.30pm to our surprise our room was ready, the front of desk were helpful and courteous,our room was clean and well presented however no slippers in the room to wear to the spa, a phone call to reception and they were promptly provided.
We had pre booked the use of the spa, and at the most we were four couples using it at any time. Steam room,sauna and pool were good and clean, however this is not a large pool for swimming in. As it was mid week we paid a reduced rate of £25 per person on top of the room rate for the use of the spa.
Prior to our evening meal we had cocktails in the bar which were excellent and the price was what we would expect to pay at a hotel.
Evening meal was in the "Sorting Room" which again was excellent as was the service from the staff.
There are two issues that I have with the hotel that could easily be resolved,the water pressure of our shower was not the best (room 122) and secondly when we arrived at our room, there were empty glasses and bottles after housekeeping had cleaned other rooms in the passsageways. These were still there when we went out for dinner and when we returned - not a good impression. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Mar 5, 2022
Dear Keith, Thankyou for your detailed review of your stay highlighting both your positive experiences and areas for improvement. I assure you that we use all feedback to work with the teams to improve the service we offer and allow us to work on our continuity of service. I have raised your feedback to the maintenance team and head housekeeper. Overall we are pleased you enjoyed the thermal suite, the room was clean and comfortable and parking was a breeze. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Explorers wrote a review Dec 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m just about to check out from the Beautiful Parkgate suite (Room 336) after 1 of the most relaxing stays I’ve had in a long time. I can’t relate to the other reviews here as my experience seems to be worlds away.
Very helpful staff on reception for the minimal input I needed, spa staff were very friendly and informative, and the rest of my stay was undisturbed- exactly how I like it.

Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and tables are spaced out well.

The suite itself was beautiful. Hairdryer, toiletries and robes provided, including bamboo toothbrushes and Elemis bath products. Double sink and mirrors in the bathroom, as well as a separate toilet in the hallway for visitors/other family members. The soaker bath is amazing!
It has a huge sofa bed, a dining table with 6 chairs and the biggest, comfiest bed I’ve ever slept in. The Christmas tree was also a nice touch.

It was much needed after the past year or so, and has been thoroughly enjoyed.
Well worth the money and I am looking to book again soon depending on new restrictions.

Parked at the NCP on west gate street, and with the hotels discount it was reasonable for the area at £12 per night (cheaper than the Celtic manor carpark in Newport!)

Overall it’s been a 5* stay. The hotel is new and beautiful and I would stay here with family, friends or as a couple again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2021
Dear Jodie266, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay here at The Parkgate Hotel Cardiff. We are very pleased the Parkgate Suite lived up to your expectations. It is so lovely to read your feedback regarding the team. We are very pleased you find the receptionists and Spa staff very accommodating and your kind words will be passed onto the whole team. Your right we have a good negotiated rate at NCP car parks, in Cardiff if you use the NCP APP and our discount code. We are glad you found this easy to use and affordably priced. Thanks again for you 5* review we can't wait to Welcome you back soon. Warm Regards, Ryan Parry Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoannaAndCaitlin wrote a review Feb 2022
Swansea, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There are lovely aspects to the hotel. The furnishings are lovely. The reception check in area is too small. For some reason the space is encroached by a mini champagne bar which was shut. I think the designers thought it would add luxury to the reception but frankly it looked like it was trying too hard.I had booked the cheapest room (£170 B & B) which was very small with a grim view ( room 403). The bedding was nice quality and it was very quiet in room ( no street or corridor noise)
When we went down for cocktails at 7 pm the bar was rammed. It was a shame that there wasn’t a bar just for guests. The cwrt bar had a paper sign taped on bar saying this bar is closed throughout our stay - given it’s meant to be a 5 star hotel I would have expected a staffed bar with staff creating cocktails etc to give it some oomph.
I was looking forward to breakfast as we stayed at Celtic Manor few weeks previously and the breakfast was fab at steak on 6. The breakfast at Parkgate was disappointing . We were shown to table and then given a cup of tea - poured in a heavy China mug. To get refills you had to ask and the wait staff were rushed off feet so that was a chore.
I much prefer an individual pot of tea. The breakfast is buffet style and you have to DIY on the toast front which is a pain. Good quality bacon and sausages but tinned mushrooms! There was a tiny plate of ham and cheese and the fruit salad was horrible. Sadly it all felt very cheap.
It’s an ok hotel just not special.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Feb 22, 2022
Dear JoannaAndCaitlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Parkgate Hotel. There has been elements of the renovation product we take note of and look at ways of improving, including the Foyer and reception area. Your feedback is noted. Our pricing is competitive for a city center location and was reasonably cheaper compared to our competitors. I have shared your feedback regarding the bar and breakfast with the food and beverage manager to review. We are 4* Luxury hotel that strives for 5* standards. We open certain areas at certain times to suit the occupancy levels of the hotel. We always allow our residents to use the Cwrt lounge bar and to order drinks in the evening at the main bar. We are very technologic at the hotel and you can even order drinks via the APP and we offer table service. We hope to welcome you back in near future. Kind regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dayne S wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a two night stay here with my wife and was unfortunately left disappointed overall.

Considering the hotel is part of the Celtic collection we had quite high hopes but those were dashed even before visiting, and our experience didn't improve through the whole stay.

Before booking we had emailed to ask about what facilities would be available to the £100/night rooms. We did not, and still have not recieved a reply to this email..

Upon arrival we called the hotel to enquire about motorcycle parking and were soon told that the staff member had "No idea, but we could use the NCP carpark for £11/day".

After parking next to the castle we later discovered motorcycle parking within 100m of the hotel and relocated our bike later that evening.

We entered the hotel and were greeted by a fantastically decorated lobby and a pleasant member of staff who charged an additional £50 incase we took anything from the room and checked us in.

It was at this point we enquired about the available facilities and learned that we would need to pay an additional £50 to use the pool.

We initially opted to think about it and at least looked forward to taking a bath in one of the lovely baths we'd seen in much of the hotel's promotional material, but we were let down to find that our (nicely decorated) room was very small and only had a shower.

With the pool and bath being huge features that had lead to us choosing the Parkgate over other better priced options, my wife left our room to ask the front desk if we would be able to have a room with a bath. But we were let down to find out they were only available in the even more expensive rooms.

Once we got settled in our room a loud droning sound was very apparent which persisted all evening and night (perhaps ventilation or ducting as we were near the outside of the building nearest the stadium). This droning made getting to sleep very difficult leading to us not sleeping until around 3am when tiredness managed to overtake the distracting sound.

The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, but we appreciated the room's air conditioning.

We spent the next day in Cardiff and visiting the hospital which was the main reason for the visit, before returning late to the hotel.

Despite our tiredness from a busy day we still struggled to get any shuteye until the early hours due to the persisting drone.

We woke up early and left at around 10 as we didn't particularly want to wait around for the 11o'clock checkout.

Considering the size of the room, comfort of the bed, included facilities and quality of the sleep we managed; we were both left feeling any Premier Inn or Travel Lodge might have been a better choice. (For less than half the price!!)

I'm sure for those who choose to pay the additional for the facilities etc that the staff are very friendly and welcoming, however we didn't get to sample anything other than a hello and goodbye when checking in and out.

Many of our family members have frequented the Celtic Manor and we couldn't advise against trying the Parkgate enough after our visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the building nearest the Stadium are loud with the sound of venting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded May 27, 2022
Dear DayneJStone, I'm very sorry to read about the issues that you encountered during your stay at the Parkgate Hotel. Our management team take onboard all guest feedback and I thank you for highlighting these areas which will be taken to discussion with our management team to look at improvements that could be made from the review you have made. If you would like to discuss your feedback further please send your contact details to us at parkgatehotelenquiries@celtic-collection.com who will ensure that the appropriate manager gets in touch as soon as possible. Kind regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah L wrote a review Nov 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Paid £254 for a one night, midweek dinner, bed & breakfast stay for 2 with £30 each towards dinner.

A special treat for us as a couple.

Staff overall were very accommodating, pleasant and helpful.

Booked a junior deluxe suite and stated that my partner had mobility issues so we needed a room without steps. Upon arrival the receptionist said that we’d been booked into an accessible room which we later found out was a lower grade. Can understand why the hotel did this, think it came from a helpful place, but would have preferred them to explain the difference between this and what we’d boles to check this was ok first. We’d booked a suite for a luxury stay.

There was a difference in cost between the two rooms which only became apparent when we asked the next day. Difference wasn’t automatically applied. Hotel has since agreed to a refund, quite rightly, why would we pay for a superior room we didn’t stay in?

Room was clean and mostly adequate but felt it was very basic and certainly didn’t have the promised luxurious and exclusive feel which the hotel advertises. Room lacked personality (not even a print on the wall) and was honestly no better than a premier inn.

Elemis toiletries provided but no body/hand cream, shower gel, shampoo & conditioner only. Sink low, perfect for a wheelchair user, but was more difficult than a standard sink for my partner. Accessible generally means ‘wheelchair suitable’ but not everyone with mobility problems has the same needs. Again, a call from the hotel to discuss our needs before changing the room would have helped.

Lamp next to sofa was missing the bulb (didn’t report as didn’t use that area of room). Pillows feather and of poor quality, we both found them uncomfortable. Bed was very large and comfy.

Kettle and tea making tray in the wardrobe which has no socket so we had to move to use - not sure how accessible this is to a wheelchair user. Only one ‘standard’ black teabag provided (loads of fruit tea) and long life, rather than fresh milk. Kettle had something horrible splashed down the side of it. No coffee machine, as advertised in the description of the room we booked.

Restaurant and bar area were stylish and had nice ambience but was a little too dark which made reading menus difficult. I’ve submitted a separate review for the restaurant but the general gist was that the food was very nice but extremely expensive. No carbs/veg with main meal meaning you have to order side dishes. Two course meal for two people with one alcoholic drink (plus two soft) was just over £100.

Additional fee to use the thermal suite which I feel is outrageous, hotel guests should be able to use all of the hotels facilities at no extra cost.

All in all, adequate but disappointing, certainly not what I’d expect for a £300 DB&B midweek stay. Basic and lacks luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2022
Dear 04094RZhannahl, Thank you for your review and feedback. Please accept my deepest apologies that we did not reach out to you before your stay to let you know that we had allocated a different room type. This has been discussed further with the team and your feedback regarding the accessible facilities so that we can look at improving this and our guest experience. Please do contact us before your next stay and we can ensure additional supply of toiletries and amenities for your room and to discuss your needs. I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the Sorting Room but I am pleased to let you know that following feedback we have introduced more menus and a set choice for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of restoring your confidence on a future occasion. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L B A wrote a review Jul 2022
United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve been looking forward to trying the Park Gate for some time, knowing that it’s come from the same group who own Celtic Manor.

Making a book was a rather unusual process. It’s always my preference to book with hotels directly. After all, it adds certainly for me as a customer and also prevents the hotel having to pay commission to the third party seller. However, I was surprised to be told by the reservations team that they could match rates or even offer breakfast at the same rate, and they recommended that I booked with booking.com. Very unusual in this day and age where businesses are offering low price guarantees and additional perks for booking directly.

The hotel itself has been sympathetically restored in all areas. I booked a deluxe king room which is arguably the same as their superior queen, except for the larger bed. The bathroom toiletries (Elemis) and bath robes were nice touches. The shower was an impressive size but had poor pressure on both days. The bed was extremely comfy and bed linens / towels were high quality. Best night sleep I’ve had for a while.

Breakfast and bar service was also very good. Good quality items and a good selection to choose from. I would recommend booking breakfast as part of your booking.

My only minor comment is that the hotel really pushed its digital service. E.g. using QR codes or it’s app for things like checking in / out, making bookings etc. Whilst this is convenient for some in this post-COVID world, it really does take the shine off the overall service to the hotel. Interactions with staff are more limited and you don’t feel like you’re getting that hospitable experience that you might be used to. For example, trying to use the reception desk on occasions during the stay resulted in long waits due or phone calls to reception / restaurant were never answered from the room.

Sadly we didn’t get to try the spa. It’s £25 in the weekday for guests or £35 at the weekend. The spa area is quite small consisting of an infinity pool, sauna and steam room and heated pool beds. Possibly not quite worth the expense (coming from someone who has used spas in many premium hotels), but would be lovely if for a special occasion.

I look forward to another stay soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Jul 21, 2022
Dear Iba1828, Thank you for taking the time to comment and provide feedback on your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Parkgate and your review is especially important to us as a business and we do use it to help provide an improved service to future guests, as well as improving communications between the team. I am really very sorry to read your comments regarding service and any inconvenience caused to you at the time. We really do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Guest Services The Parkgate Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie T wrote a review Dec 2022
Pontypool, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed with my mum this weekend for a Christmas break and the stay was beautiful from start to finish.

We first enjoyed a deep tissue massage at the Spa, and WAW! My Therapist was only very petite but she gave me an amazingly firm massage which left me feeling a range of movement in my neck that I haven't experienced in forever! My mum has back problems and she commented how free and at ease her back felt following the massage. The chill out room was also particularly nice to "come back down to earth" following the massage. The thermal suite looked beautiful and I will definitely be trying it on my next visit.

We stayed in a junior deluxe suite and it was very large with lovely details. The bed was very comfortable! When going to make a cup of tea we noticed that there were no tea bags, one quick call to front desk and the tea bags were at the door before the kettle had boiled. Lovely hot water in the bath and elemis products really put the cherry on the top of the room.

Breakfast the next day was - as per everything else - brilliant. Great choice from cereal, to pastries, to a full Welsh breakfast. Everything was fresh and hot and delicious.

There is, unfortunately, one aspect which stopped this trip from being perfect. And that is the size of the spa/room gowns. I have a fuller figure and in most walks of life nowadays this isn’t an issue. But still – even in hotels of this stature – we cannot offer a gown to fit someone slightly above average. Thankfully, I planned ahead and brought my own gown. But had I not, I would have been forced to walk to and from the treatment rooms entirely exposed in my swimwear. Which I’m sure anyone can agree would have been utterly humiliating. Can we PLEASE step away from the “one size fits all” ☹
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 236 had a view out into cardiff over the queens vaults. Little to no noise!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Dec 20, 2022
Dear Natalie T, Thank for such a lovely review. It's great to read the therapist and spa team looked after you and your mam so well. I will pass your kind words to the spa team. I will share your recommendations for spa gowns with the management team to see if we can improve the service and product we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Ryan Guest services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dr James M N Duffy wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Exceptional stay.
From the moment I stepped into the reception area, I was impressed by the warm welcome and attention to detail, including a large, recently restored lobby that retained the original features and now includes spectacular floral displays.
The reception team, led by Ran, are professional and welcoming. They were able to anticipate my needs and worked hard to ensure that every aspect of my stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
The suite I stayed in was spectacular. A truly unique space with 180-degree views of the city, including the rugby stadium, castle, and mountains. The attention to detail and the level of care provided by the hard-working housekeeping team, led by Debbie, were exceptional. It was a delightful surprise to receive a welcome note and bottle of champagne from Debbie, Ryan, and the housekeeping team. The suite was consistently clean and personalised to my preferences, including pillow types, towels, and toiletries. The evening turn-down was a wonderful way to relax during the evening. Evidently, the housekeeping team takes great pride in their work. Their dedication did not go unnoticed.
The spa at the hotel is unique. A modest charge ensures a limited number of guests, ensuring a tranquil environment. The views, particularly at sunset, are spectacular. The treatment rooms, steam temple, and hydrotherapy pool are of the highest quality. The atmosphere of the spa is peaceful and serene, providing the perfect environment for relaxation and rejuvenation.
Breakfast is high quality, with a good range of hot and cold food. The presentation of the food to the service delivered is a wonderful way to start your day.
The bar has been placed within a spectacular space, within a large restored room. There is live music on Fridays and Saturdays. I would often pop down for an apéritif, digestive, or cocktail before a night out.
Defiantly the best hotel in Cardiff!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay in a suite Book the spa upon arrival Go to the cocktail bar on a Friday and Saturday to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lianne Coakley, Other at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Apr 18, 2023
Good afternoon JamesMNDuffy, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely detailed review of your recent stay with us here at The Parkgate Hotel, Cardiff. The team will be overjoyed to read your comments, especially Ryan and Debbie. We do pride ourselves on our excellent customer service in all departments. Our intentions are always to give our guests remarkable stays that are remembered for all the right reasons. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects and facilities that the Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to drink, dine or stay with us a again in the future. Kind regards, Lianne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave C wrote a review Jul 2022
Frome, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed here overnight to go to the Millennium Theatre.
It is very well located, nicely decorated, the beds extremely comfortable and the shower was great.

Our main problem with our visit was that it was not made clear how to pay get discounted parking rates and access to the spa was also an additional cost, not included.

Firstly, the parking, there is a notice on the front desk that you need to download a app, and add a special saver code to get a discounted rate. This should have been made known before we arrived as we had already parked in the recommended parking location and therefore, were being charged the full rate. There is no way of stopping outside of the hotel as it is a busy road with bus lanes, so only being informed upon reaching the front desk was a bit ridiculous.

Secondly, there is not communication that the spa is not included as part of your booking. To use on the weekend would have costed an additional £70 for two of us. That is not totally unreasonable itself, however, we also were not informed you had to book a 90 minute slot in the spa, slots of which were mostly full at our time of arrival which was early mind. The website indicates you must book for treatments but we were very disappointed that we could not first of all access the spa considering the high rate of a room any way. But also, that even if we wanted to pay extra, the slots were already booked up.

Lastly, breakfast was also an additional cost which is £23 per person on weekends. Bare in mind you are in a city centre where if not included in your room rate, is incredibly expensive as an add on.

Overall a lovely hotel to stay at, but if you are expecting to get a lot of bang for your buck here, you will be disappointed. We would go back but only on the basis of a package deal
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ryan Parry, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear Davey, Thank you for your review and taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am disappointed to hear that there were a few areas that failed to meet your expectations and we would like to offer you our deepest apologies. Information regarding our available facilities including parking and the spa are available via the Celtic Collection app, via the website and your booking confirmation email and I am really very sorry once again if this was not communicated to you before your stay. Please do feel free to reach out to us directly regarding our reservation rates that are inclusive of breakfast and we would be happy to help.  I do hope that you will return to the Parkgate hotel in the future. Kind regards Guest Services The Parkgate Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Peter John B
Parma, Italy309 contributions112 helpful votes
Yes 👍
Mrs Edwards asked a question May 2022
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
If you book the thermal suite, are there other people in the pool?
Answer from Elizabeth A
Ringwood, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, we paid and there were 8 other people there the same time as us!
Answer from Maesteg6
7 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes it's 35 pounds. And breakfast is extra aswel. 26 pounds per person.
Answer from Saziye Kemal
London, United Kingdom87 contributions15 helpful votes
No! It is £25 per person for 90 minutes. The staff are so stuck up. Poor customer service.
SmithR99 asked a question Nov 2021
Swansea, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
Was wondering where the nearest secure parking would be to this hotel?
Answer from DawnMarieSmith1972
Porthcawl, United Kingdom92 contributions56 helpful votes
West gate street NCP download the app for cheaper parking it’s £11 but get the app ready for when you enter and scan the barcode
NickyB1867 wrote a tip Jun 22
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom83 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park in the NCP opposite"
Read full review
tjdm83 wrote a tip Jun 22
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom41 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is at a premium in the capital"
Read full review
Fiona H wrote a tip Jun 22
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"you need to pay extra for the pool"
Read full review
Ali wrote a tip Jun 11
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Softer pillows and duvets! "
Read full review
Jade H wrote a tip Jun 1
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the restaurant and try the cocktails - incredible! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
C$168 - C$281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Parkgate Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Parkgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.2 km), Escape Reality Cardiff (0.3 km), and The Bootlegger (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parkgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciliegino Restaurant, Fresh the Baguette Bar, and The Real Italian Pizza Co.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, locker rooms available in the fitness centre, and a pool with a view during their stay.
Is The Parkgate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Parkgate Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.5 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.7 km), and Mansion House (1.0 km).
All Cardiff HotelsCardiff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CardiffHotels near The Parkgate Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars