We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
108 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DX Wales
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (9)
Bathroom (19)

About

#65 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

ML Lodge is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Cardiff, offering a budget friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Cardiff's most popular landmarks, such as Motorpoint Arena Cardiff (0.5 km) and Swalec Stadium (1.1 km), ML Lodge is a great destination for tourists.

Rooms at ML Lodge offer a flat screen TV and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. If you are driving to ML Lodge, parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Cardiff's popular crab restaurants such as Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Cardiff, The Potted Pig, and The Clink Restaurant, all a short distance from ML Lodge.

Should time allow, Cardiff Castle, Principality Stadium, and National Museum Cardiff are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Cardiff!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Room features
Desk
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Polish
178Reviews0Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 34
  • 49
  • 30
  • 50
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Susie G wrote a review Mar. 2020
3 contributions
What a dump! Steep 5 flights of stairs to get to the room which was dated and damp smelling. Even the key was bodged up with sellotape. View was like a scene from a war zone. Only positive was it’s location. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge
Responded Mar. 6, 2020
I am very sorry that you have really disliked your stay. We are located right in the middle of the city which is great. However I agree the apartments opposite us need a good paint but I feel it is a bit harsh to blame us for them. It is not a photo of the hotel. The sellotape on the key ring is securely holding the front door fob and we feel this is the safest option. Kind regards, Chris
Read more
spike8744 wrote a review Nov. 2019
Cardiff, United Kingdom96 contributions77 helpful votes
We were in Cardiff for a concert and decided to stop the night so booked into somewhere not too far from the venue. We found the ML Lodge only to find you had to book in somewhere else. We finally got our key and Fob for a £20 deposit. We were room 6 ok not to bad we thought. No lift and 77 stairs later we got to our room. (Cell no 6) window was rattling and no chairs to sit on so it was in and out. Only stay here if your a heavy sleeper as there were still people coming in from a night out at 05:30am. In the morning there was enough brew kit for 2 cups of Tea or Coffee. We showered and left.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Only stay the one night and get a low room number it’s 1 to 10.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback. I hope you will consider us again in the future if you find the price to be good value. Kind regards, Chris
Read more
anthony g wrote a review Oct. 2019
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
A nice hotel with clean rooms and a comfortable bed! Was right at the top of the hotel and you can imagine my legs after the Cardiff half marathon when I had to navigate all the stairs! The second night a shop alarm went off at 4 am and didn’t go off til 9 am! All in a apart from this and the stairs it was good!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
Thank you so much for such great feedback. I hope we get to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris
Read more
biz_e26 wrote a review Oct. 2019
Cirencester, United Kingdom103 contributions61 helpful votes
You need places like ML Lodge - smack bang in the city centre but with only the essential amenities to justify a bargain basement price. If you want somewhere as cheap as chips to take you off the street for the night, then consider this place. I had a huge room all to myself (I booked a single but got a triple). The bed was pretty comfy and the shower was lovely and hot, with great water pressure. Everything was spotlessly clean. Yes, there are some stairs (funnily enough it's a multi-storey building!) but if you're otherwise able-bodied they shouldn't be a problem (if they are, take a long hard look at your fitness levels). But there are some huge negatives. The furniture is shabby, and there's a certain arrogance about leaving heavily scuffed paintwork and worn-through carpets everywhere. The TV was miniscule and I couldn't find the wifi network to connect to. The windows are single glazed so you will hear everything that goes on outside if your room faces the front. The front door is opened by a fob, but people then didn't bother to close the door behind them, which made me rather nervous. Breakfast is served over the road at the Sandringham. The waiting staff over there were lovely, but the food was pretty mediocre. All in all, it was bearable, but if I'd been staying with someone and hadn't minded a late-night walk, I'd have chosen the Travelodge or Ibis a little further from the centre - same price but better quality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Room 4 is on the second floor and overlooks the main street
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
Thank you very much for your feedback. I hope you may consider returning in the future. Kind regards, Chris
Read more
Lisa wrote a review Sep. 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was absolutely disgusted when I arrived at this place. Went away to Cardiff for the speedway had no idea where I was staying. As soon as I knew you had to collect keys from somewhere else, I knew this wasn’t a bed and breakfast or hotel. 77 steps to my room with all luggage. Which you literally had to drag up. Cleaner or not sure if we worked watched me struggle and of offered to help. This was very hard and strenuous to do. Carpets ripped as you went up the stairs, paintwork dirty and scuffed. Windows appalling wood some black and rotten. After the dreadful stairs hauling up luggage I was very disappointed, do not stay in room 6, you have no scenery apart from brick walls, when you can get the window to open it’s black and rotten on ledges. The bathroom had a shower their was a box near the floor which adjusted some heating linked to shower, this was held up by a pushed pedal bin underneath it. I was unaware moved the bin and then the shower cut out, pushed it back and the shower worked. Just because the speedway was on the £225 charged for 2 nights, with no breakfast available, this was a total rip off, this was more like a hostel room with the view out of the window which felt I was in a prison cell. You certainly would not want a fire in there and you definitely would not stay here if you have children, older of have any physical lower limb ailments. What should of been a lovely weekend break for the speedway was a total let down and disappointment which was down to the accommodation that I stayed in. Which led to a very unhappy and tense weekend. Would not stay here again ever total dump.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just don’t stay there
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Simon6567, Manager at ML Lodge
Responded Nov. 5, 2019
I am very sorry to read about your disappointing stay and I shall certainly be looking at the issues raised. Kind regards, Chris
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
millennium hotel cardiff
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Millennium Lodge
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ML Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to ML Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.2 km), The Bootlegger (0.2 km), and Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ML Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and dry cleaning.
What food & drink options are available at ML Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at ML Lodge?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ML Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigmoose Coffee Company, Fresh the Baguette Bar, and Pasture Cardiff.
Is ML Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ML Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to ML Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Grey and Shipwreck Museum (8.0 km), Insole Court (3.5 km), and St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.8 km).