We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Park Plaza Cardiff

Save
Share
Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$147
US$118
View deal
Booking.comUS$118
Expedia.comUS$118
Trip.comUS$118
TravelocityUS$118
eDreamsUS$118
HurbUS$147
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (519)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (277)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 20-06-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Park Plaza Cardiff
Updated 20-06-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of city centre closeby to Cardiff Castle and St Davids Shopping Centre. 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites. Free wifi is included for all residents throughout the hotel. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. All residents enjoy complimentary use of the Laguna Health & Spa which offers a full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, , steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
2809Reviews41Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,517
  • 894
  • 236
  • 97
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Leanne H wrote a review Jun. 19
1 contribution
Have just returned home after a lovely 2 days at this hotel celebrating my sons birthday, This was our first visit and will definitely be booking again everything was just perfect!! We booked a suite which was huge & immaculate & had everything you could possibly need! The pool area was great & the staff were fantastic & couldn’t do enough to accommodate you especially the staff in the Laguna bar thank you :) Well done park plaza we will hopefully see you again soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
ian m wrote a review Jun. 17
swansea44 contributions39 helpful votes
Lovely hotel. Nice room. Helpful staff, great facilities. What more can we ask.There's an NCP car park opposite, which is expensive - in line with Cardiff in general, although the Hotel has a discount arrangement with the car park, we parked elsewhere. Would love to stay here again, and probably will.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamen Hughes, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ian m, Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review on TripAdvisor following your birthday break at Park Plaza Cardiff. Happy Birthday again and we are delighted to hear you have had a lovely stay and appreciated what we offered. Indeed, you rightly pointed out about the advantages of our hotel being centrally situated in Cardiff City Centre, and parking is specially on demand on the busy weekends for the whole city. Although we do not have our own car park, the NCP on Greyfriars Road is located directly opposite the hotel and at this NCP we are able to offer a 25% discount if guests validate their parking ticket at our hotel reception. Alternatively, our guests are welcome to use the alternative options like yourself or pre-book on the NCP website which provides promotions occasionally, however no further discounts can be obtained at the hotel. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and please book directly on our hotel website to save 10% on all future stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Kamen Hughes Front Office Manager
Read more
Traveller1001Uk wrote a review Jun. 14
UK62 contributions28 helpful votes
The hotel is in a good location right in the city centre. We arrived and waited for five minutes in a short queue to reach the check in desk. Then it took 20 minutes for us to check in. We had booked directly with the hotel so it was frustrating having to wait so long watching the receptionist typing on their computer and no explanation was given. The room we had booked and paid for turned out not to be available and again that wasn’t really explained to us properly. The room we ended up with was reasonable. However there was an adjoining room next to ours separated by a locked door. That meant we could clearly hear a normal conversation in our room from our neighbours who luckily went to bed early! Overall we felt a bit let down by not getting the room type we paid for and after a long journey the long wait at reception very annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamen Hughes, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Traveller1001Uk, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and choosing to stay with us last month. Indeed you rightly pointed out the excellent location given our hotel is situated in the city centre within a short walking distance to Cardiff Castle, Queen Street and High Street / St. Mary Street where are full of energy and eateries, not to mention near all the shops that provides us a great variety for our shopping lists and Principality Stadium. We are however disappointed to learn about your Check-In experience back in May, when hotels in Wales could finally reopen to welcome the publics with some new hirings, to prepapre for the May bank holiday and school half term. On top of that, we have received many positive feedback on different review platforms regarding our friendly staff at the reception and restaurant, our clean spacious room, the dining and relaxing experience at our restaurant and health club. During May, we experienced some hiccups with our reservations system integration which was meant to optimize the overall performance in order to enhance our guests experience, however it did not turn out to what we expected. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that casued you, and that the room you were checked into did not meet your expectation after a long journey to the Welsh capital and the long wait for Check-In as mentioned. Thank you once again for your support to our hotel and posting a review on TripAdvisor to let us know of your experience. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to provide more details of your previous stay so that I can ensure you of an utmost experience when you return to Cardiff next time, and I hope we would be given another opportunity to serve you better. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Kamen Hughes Front Office Manager frontofficemanager@parkplazacardiff.com
Read more
Bluemoons1 wrote a review Jun. 13
Wales, United Kingdom58 contributions1 helpful vote
I am currently staying at this hotel. It is a solo visit, I have some important business in Cardiff area and it was convenient. I have endured a very stressful, difficult period so I also wanted to de-stress and relax a little. I rang in advance to request an early check-in because I had to meet someone in Cardiff at 1.30pm. This was because I had to travel a long distance and i had an appointment at 1.30pm. When I arrived, check in was slow and my room was not ready. I did not in-fact get to my room until gone 1.30pm which meant I was late for my appointment and very stressed. From my arrival to the appointment was then very rushed and by the time I'd finished, picked up a few snacks etc from the local grocery store, I was then late for my pre-booked beauty treatment and use of the Laguna spa. The treatment and the spa is what has made the stay special so far. The massage was Just sublime. I felt relaxed and at ease afterwards. The pool was the perfect temperature and the jacuzzi not too chlorinated. Perfect. I returned to my room and unpacked my belongings for a 4 day stay and finally had an opportunity to relax in privacy and to look at the room service menu and other information. The room service menu was very varied and the delights sounded delicious so I rang to order some food..... i was told that i needed to come to reception to pay a "deposit" before I could order room service!!!!! (I only wanted a few snacks, not the entire menu!!) By this time it was almost 9.00pm. I had a long, tiring day and I was relaxing in my night wear. I did not have the energy or inclination to change and go to.reception. Is the purpose of room service to be convenient when you are tired or feeling lazy?! The receptionist was less than helpful so I gave up!! I then went to the fridge to get some snacks and water only to find the fridge jammed shut. I called reception and an engineer came to remove a lock that should not have been on it. All in all extremely disappointing service. Not what you would expect from a luxury hotel. I think that these issues will make me re-consider re-booking here in the future. My relaxing visit has turned into one I'd rather not have had to deal with. I would use the spa again though. .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamen Hughes, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Bluemoons1, Thank you for taking the time to share your initial experience with us regarding your first day. We are very pleased to read that you had a relaxing time at Laguna Health & Spa out of your hectic schedule yesterday, however we regret to learn that you ran late for your appointment at 13:30pm, while our team did their very best to accommodate you an early Check-In at 13:28hrs, with special bedding arrangement at your request when we had a heavy departure on a Sunday morning with Check-In time at 15:00pm. Thank you for your positive feedback on our room service menu, and we are sorry again we were not able to provide the convenience at the time without an additional security deposit for the incidentals, and I will surely reflect your feedback for the flexibilities. We pride ourselves in striving for service excellence and accommodate our guests' requests at our best abilities, and we will always endeavour to meet guests requests. Unfortunately, we are disappointed to read that we did not quite meet your expectation at this time round. While you are in house for a few more days, please feel free to contact myself or our shift Duty Manager should you require any assistance, we would love to ensure you of an enjoyable time at any opportunity. Thank you once again for your feedback and we wish you a pleasant time in Cardiff. Kind regards, Kamen Hughes Front Office Manager
Read more
Rashid O wrote a review Jun. 10
1 contribution
I can honestly say the main reason I would not even look at any other hotel apart from Park Plaza when I’m in Cardiff is Kamen who works on the front desk, she was amazing throughout my first stay, and again the main reason I booked another night the following day, went above and beyond to accommodate for me and my 2 brothers in one room, pleasant, cheerful, really deserves some serious praise!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamen Hughes, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 1 week ago
Dear rashido922, Diolch! Thank you very much for the lovely review following your recent two consecutive nights at Park Plaza Cardiff. I am most chuffed to read about you would make Park Plaza Cardiff your designated hotel when you are in the Welsh's capital. Please feel free to book directly on our hotel website to enjoy a 10% discount for all future stays, should you return under an ad-hoc circumstance while I am not on duty, our teams will be delighted to be at your service again. Thank you very much once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Kamen Hughes Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park plaza cardiff hotel cardiff, cardiff park plaza
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouthern WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Park Plaza Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Escape Reality (0.3 km), Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.5 km), and The Dead Canary (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigmoose Coffee Company, Brodies Coffee Co, and Pasture Cardiff.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Park Plaza Cardiff located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Plaza Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Plaza Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Grey and Shipwreck Museum (7.5 km), Insole Court (3.5 km), and St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.1 km).