We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albany Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Albany Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Start your review of Albany Guest House
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here and felt very awkward Rooms are large but cold. The owner seemed only interested in money and not customer service. Room was very clean. But after a rude welcome wished we stayed elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justkeepswimming55
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Such a shame you didn't tell me that there was a problem with the heating in your room because I would have either sorted the problem or moved you to a different room. When you book a room with us I always say to guests that we are cash only for payment, payable on arrival....

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Had a great wellcome from Chris and Steve the owners. Along with lovely spacious confortable rooms with an excellent breakfast in the morning. The place is also easily accessible just off the M4 so is ideal for people wishing to visit/ work in Newport or Cardiff. Thank you for a lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and comments. We are enjoying having you to stay. Steve and Christine

Reviewed 15 July 2016

Just spent another excellent weekend in South Wales and as usual we chose the Albany as our base. Steve and Christine are always very welcoming and make you feel at home. The room was spotless, on the first floor and facing the front which wasn't a problem as the double glazing does an excellent job. Breakfast times had been extended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you to stay. We look forward to seeing you next year. Thank you for a lovely review

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Christine & Steve have always made are speedway weekend that much more enjoyable they have always gone that extra mile in making sure my wife & i are completely satisfied with our room and there breakfasts are always hot & plentiful we have stayed in other B&Bs but this one is a class above the others and this year was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keithhford
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. It is always a pleasure to have you and Dawn to stay. We look forward to seeing you next year. Steve & Christine

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I cant count how many times I have stayed at the Albany Guest house however it includes a honey moon and an anniversary and work.Christine and Steve are two of the nicest people I have ever met nothing is too much trouble for them they have become our friends in Wales . The Guest house is always spotless it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickied00
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always an absolute pleasure having you to stay.

chester
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I was visiting the Celtic Manor Hotel for a conference, but wasn't keen on paying the room prices, so I consulted TA for the best B&B's in the area. The Albany was ten minutes down the road so an obvious choice; booking in was easy through the website and I had a call from the Landlady to confirm the booking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt_le_cock
Christine B, Owner at Albany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015

I phoned The Albany following extensive/exhaustive research for a comfortable, clean place to stay in Newport on Sunday evening. I was greeted on the phone by Christine, proprietor, who, on meeting her was as lovely as the voice on the phone! Her welcome made the difference to me at the end of an exhausting journey from Cambridge and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marianne H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2014

I stayed at the Albany B&B whilst competing in the LVRC National Track Championships at Newport Velodrome over the weekend. Steve and Chris made me very welcome. The B&B was spotless and had everything you needed including a shower, sink, tv and kettle. The B&B is just 5 mins from the Velodrome by car and 10 mins on foot. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony O
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Christine and partner made me very welcome. Serving breakfast earlier as we had business meetings both days. So helpful! The room was clean and nicely furnished and the en suite shower room although small worked great; a marvellous shower. The cooked breakfast was delish. Highly recommend :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_41f
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Overnight stay with dog - both of us felt very welcome and enjoyed our stay. Dog very welcome and treated as a guest :) Would definitely recommend as a place to stay with a dog. Owners very friendly and great breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bq12014

8 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
538 reviews
2.6 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
2.4 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#16 of 19 in Newport
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Labuan Guest House
Labuan Guest House
#3 of 34 in Newport
133 reviews
3.2 km away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanwern
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family run guest house close to motorway links and the city centre. All rooms have showers, some are fully en suite. We have a small car park at the rear. We have wi fi internet access. We welcome pets by arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albany Guest House

Address: 409 Chepstow Road, Newport NP19 8HL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Albany Guest House Newport, UK - Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Albany Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we always stay in the annex @ the back and always slept well”
 of 5 bubbles keithhford, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If your a light sleeper ask for a room towards the rear of the building as it's on a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles matt_le_cock, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“I suspect that all rooms are excellent value here!”
 of 5 bubbles 7MarianneH, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the house should be quieter (mainroad)”
 of 5 bubbles bear123456, 5 Sep 2012 | Read review
4 of 4