We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Times Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swansea
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Times Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Never will me and my friends stay here AGAIN. The place is infested with BED BUGS. Woke up and they were everywhere. The breakfast was disgusting, one plate of grease, the tea was a colour of grey I never want to see again. The owner was not helpful when we brought up the bed bug situation, in fact she shouted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eve1502
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to here you found your stay unpleasant and made to feel that your complaint was not taken seriously when in fact it certainly was. This sort of problem can occur in any hotel and i can assure you every thing was strictly adhered to to rectify the problem as was shown when the environmental health came to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 of my mates and had a fantastic time. Came down for a night out to see one of my friends who moved to Swansea and was surprised at how good the night life was. The Owners of the guest house were really nice and friendly, the rooms with sea view were fantastic along with the breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank john d
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to write us a positive review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again if your ever in the area. Many thanks

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not brilliant but good enough for £40 a night for 2 including breakfast. Excellent location and night life. Rooms are basic but not as bad as some reviews on here and i would come back. Very friendly and accommodating and breakfast was tasty and filling.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david a
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your comments. Hope to see you soon.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Have posted pictures of the state of the do called en suite,which in my booked should be a step up from standard. I wouldn't even rate this as average. Sorry rotten hole that hasn't been cleaned in months. Shower cuts out of someone else runs water in the hotel. Dust from floor to ceiling. Went to check out early and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joshua W
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

I am looking into this review because there is something not right with these comments and pictures. They booked in for 2 nights and asked if we take gay couples because they have had trouble in the past we said of course we do we gave them everything they asked for and were curtious throughout. One of them came downstairs...

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Absolutely shocked, paid the same price as tudor court and had such a bad experience, tudor is by far ten times better! Bad service walking in, dirty beds, sinks, floors, bath, toilet, floors, glasses, dust everywhere a bad smell, 3 beds crammed into a tiny box room, creepy feel about the place, everything is far too cheap tacky and outdated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannahthomas16
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectation but if it was as bad as you say it was why didn't you tell us and we would have done everything to resolve the problem. You booked in early afternoon and we were very polite and even joking with you when you booked in so i don't know...

Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I would never stay there again they would after pay me to stay there again it was no warm welcome at all they say the bar is open you go there and its not open all the time im staying there the pictures on the internet is no where near the true state of the place the photos of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Neil W
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

The bar is open at 5.30 it was earlier and he came with a friend and it was his friend who asked if the bar was open and was told only guests are allowed in the bar. If it was after 5.30pm we would have opened the bar for him. Om arrival he asked how much a twin was but...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This Guesthouse is probably the most unwelcoming guesthouse I have ever step foot in. The rooms filthy and disgusting so are the attitudes of the staff! When I asked for a refund because I just couldn’t bring myself to stay because it’s in such a state I was bombarded with verbal abuse and threatening behaviour!!! I was called names and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Louford12
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

I am not going to make any excuses about this review apart from giving you the facts as they happened. Everything was fine until a back room key was given and unfortunately there is no view and yes there is a pigeon problem but that goes with all the guest houses down here so when the ones who had the...

Cardiff, Land of the Dragon
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed at The Times Hotel recently after finding it was marginally cheaper than the B&B I usually stay in when I'm in the area. It's based centrally on Oystermouth Road which is lined with other B&B's, and is in a great location for accessing both town and the Mumbles. The owners seemed friendly and helpful throughout our stay, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sweetmisery1984
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

I have taken your review on board and would like to apologise if you found it not to your standard but if you had told us whilst you were here we would have done everything in our power to make your stay more pleasant. We supply towels and soap at reception which is clearly stated along with irons and hair...

england
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed with my work collegue because i was working in the area and found the place suited our needs perfectly. Breakfast started at 6.45 but we had to be at work by 7 am so the owners let us have breakfast earlier at 6.15 to give us chance to have breakfast and get to work which was very helpful, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomtom5
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again if ever your back in the area. Best wishes and thanks.

Pontnewydd, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This Bed and breakfast is by far the worst place I have ever stayed costing 60 pounds for a 3 single bed room which was the size of my garden shed the milk and sugar was out of date and the plate it was left on was stinking, the bed covers were dirty, the carpet and lyno flooring was all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke B
phillip t, Owner at The Times Hotel, responded to this review

The person who wrote this is seriously out of order the room was stinking but only after they left the place. They were noisy, up and down the stairs all night but seeing as it was new years night we said nothing. Booking out time is10.30 but we let them stay until 12 giving them a knock at 11.30 to...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
0.9 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swansea
867 reviews
1.0 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#12 of 25 in Swansea
643 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Alexander
The Alexander
#11 of 25 in Swansea
191 reviews
0.7 km away
The White House
The White House
#10 of 25 in Swansea
151 reviews
1.4 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 25 in Swansea
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a friendly budget guest house opposite Swansea bay. All our prices include full English breakfast or if you want something lighter or are a vegetarian just ask and we will try and satisfy your needs. Some rooms En-Suite. Rooms are small but cosy and contractors are very welcome along with group bookings. We are near all local amenities with The City shopping centre, Swansea University, Singleton hospital, The Marina and the Quadrant bus station all within walking distance. No curfew you get your own set of keys to come and go as you please. Night porter on duty. Open all year except Christmas day and Boxing day. We try to keep our prices the same all year round. Unlike most Hotels we do not put our prices up for Bank Holidays etc. Digital freeview televisions and tea/coffee facilities in all rooms. Towels and soap along with hair driers and irons available free to use at reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Times Hotel

Address: 384 Oystermouth Road, Swansea SA1 3UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Price Range: $24 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Times Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay in room 10, full of bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles Eve1502, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I have noticed this has been a topic on here before... and the only positive comments seem to have the same themes for defence throughout. It's clearly the hotel staff trying to anonymously gain a shred of dignity. Maybe if you spent a little more time cleaning the hotel and working on your customer service skills you'd have more positive honest genuine feedback. I have stayed in a few hotels on Oyster Mouth and I have always left satisfied with both the service and the cleanliness of the hotels. As for the line “The Times is one of the few hotels that take in stag and hen do’s”. This is a complete lie. I have stayed in the Archers Hotel and they will take in big groups. The surrounding hotels knock spots off Times and they are all roughly the same price. After I left I went a spoke to a few of the surrounding hotels to see if I was the only person who had this sort of experience with them because if I was I wouldn’t have written a this sort of review. Not surprising that I am not. According to the surrounding business and a few of the local people they seem to make it a regular thing to be abusive to their customers and welcome them with and attitude that stinks more than the rooms!!!! I am a customer service manager and no matter how a customer has spoken to you should never act the way you and your husband act. You are trying to run a business that will leave a lasting positive impression on your customers for goodness sake!! You should treat any guesthouse, hotel or B&B as if it was your home, I would be absolutely mortified if someone walked into my house and it was in the state your hotel is in even more so if I had the attitude you have. The both of you are disgrace and should really consider getting some customer service training and hiring a TEAM of professional cleaners. If less time is spent retaliating to these reviews in a negative abusive way and more is spend listening and making improvements because lets be honest all these people can’t be wrong, you’re attitude might improve along with the standard of your hotel. Maybe you ought to try that?? To some up. This guesthouse is dirty, filthy, disgusting and smelly to be complexly honest it’s a health hazard. The customer service is non-existent, attitude is threatening and the atmosphere is extremely unsettling. I wouldn’t subject my worst enemy to stay the night here. For you’re for the safety of your health DO NOT STAY AT THIS GUESTHOUSE.”
 of 5 bubbles Louford12, 20 May 2013 | Read review
“Fantastic view from room 10 !!”
 of 5 bubbles JulieW656, 4 Dec 2011 | Read review
“If your life depends on it and you absolutely have to stay here, choose a sea view room. Its bigger and brighter and has a view.”
 of 5 bubbles rachtippo, 17 Sep 2011 | Read review
“ask for room 4 or 10 for excellent sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles suzziegee, 20 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5