We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Swansea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Swansea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 654: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Swansea
 Click to rate
Stroud
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Another visit to this hotel and once again a very pleasant stay with colleagues, the service from the staff is second to none and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is situated on a stretch with numerous shopping outlets and businesses scattered around so if you're after a view you will be disappointed that said it is a practical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bally A
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Bally A, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay here at the wonderful Mercure Swansea hotel. It was great to hear that you found the service from our team to be second to none, and the food to be good quality with plenty of choice. We are replacing all the dated furniture in...

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Mercure is basic, clean, simple, friendly and well-run. The hotel welcomes children and is dog friendly. We stayed there overnight one weekend. Unfortunately we made a mistake in the booking (on booking.com) but both the hotel and booking.com were very helpful in getting our mistake resolved and fortunately there was a room available so we changed our reservation with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACelticTraveller
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Celtic Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review further to your recent stay, and the team and I are delighted to get a full five green circles out of five. we look forward to welcoming you back to sunny west wales on your next visit. Best regards Ian H Jones

Llandrinio, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an ideal hotel for touring around South Wales. We have stayed on many occasions in the past. The staff are all very helpful and pleasant. The food is excelllent. It is well positioned for touring round the area which is lovely .Especially the Mumbles.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ireneprice21
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Irene, Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay, and i9t was great to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel, and the surrounding area. Best regards Ian H Jones General Manager

County Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here while we were attending the rugby in Cardiff . The hotel itself was very nice and clean. Our room was quite big and had everything we needed. The staff could not have been anymore friendly .It's about 10-15 mins in a cab to the train station and this cost £9 . Due to its location I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina_Barry
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Christina, Thanks for your kind review. Our Housekeeping staff start at 10 at the weekend, and are supposed to start with vacated rooms so not sure what happened here. Its certainly not odd to want to crack on with cleaning rooms before 12 though as we have 120 rooms, and when full, and with check in time of 2...

Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room and hotel tired and in need of major refurb, dirty mouldy windows and smelly room.cracked paintwork and very 1970's. Staff very pleasant and friendly. food ok. bar prices very expensive for a 3 star hotel.would not stay there again until refurbishment. very dissappointed.shame on Mercure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dassia1989
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Dassai, Thank you for your review, and I was sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. Thankfully the vast majority of our guests do not agree with your downbeat assessment of the hotel, as evidenced by the average score of 4 out of five from the previous ten reviews. We are about to begin a...

Copplestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is tired in décor but clean and comfortable. We had to wait 45 mins for our food as it was cooked fresh, when it finally arrived it was lovely so I felt I could forgive the wait. The reception staff are spot on.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 250carolef
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Carol, Thank you for your kind review, and great to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass your kind words on to our reception team, and my apologies for the wait on food, however good it was in the end 45 mins is a bit too long a wait, and certainly not the norm. Best regards...

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is good if you like a bit of peace and quiet away from Swansea, the staff are really friendly especially the really welcoming cleaners! The breakfast is really tasty and has failed not to impress. The swimming pool and gym is a really nice touch and makes the stay at the hotel so much more enjoyable. Nice sized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis E
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Lewis E, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay, and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. I shall of course also pass on your kind words to the team, especially the cleaners who do a sterling job, but rarely get a mention from our...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Decent hotel and good value. Hotel staff are really friendly and helpful. The location was ideal for what I was in the city to do, cllose enough to the facilities I needed and far enough to nice and quiet. I was lucky enough to get an upgrade and the room and the comfortable bed made the visit even more enjoyable.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear David, ] Thanks for your kind review, and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards Ian H Jones

wales
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Family room very good size. Double bed pull out single and double sofa bed. Very brown decor. Good standard for price we payed. Breakfast was good. Nice selection of cooked, cereal, fresh fruit and pastries. Pool was small but good for a play with the children. Over all for price we paid I was very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liccledevil
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Liccledevil, Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay, and great to hear that overall you were very impressed. Best regards Ian H-Jones

wales
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I frequent this wonderfull hotel regularly and the simple reason we have done this over many years is the fantastic and warm welcome we receive from all the team from Ian the G.M. TO Karen manager and all the restaurant supervisors Simon Tom Tasha Sam,and bar staff Luke tasha Dave chris Andrea kelly Wendy etc,Gareth and Jay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillybeanWales
Ian H, General Manager at Mercure Swansea, responded to this review

Dear Chillybean Wales, Thank you for your latest kind review, and the many name checks for good service, including my good self. It is always a pleasure to see you, and to receive a warm friendly greeting from Chilli who seems to get on with most people as long as they're not in a suit ! Regards Ian H-Jones

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swansea hotels
5.0 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Swansea Marriott Hotel
#4 of 24 in Swansea
923 reviews
4.3 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
877 reviews
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#7 of 24 in Swansea
708 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Hotel Swansea
Village Hotel Swansea
#3 of 24 in Swansea
1,351 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Swansea North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel (Licensed) with 50+ letting rooms in city location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Children, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Swansea

Address: Phoenix Way, Swansea SA7 9EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea
Price Range: $100 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Swansea 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Swansea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Swansea Hotel Swansea
Ramada Swansea
Swansea Ramada
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swansea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Swansea staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Newport, United Kingdom
Newbury
over a year ago
7 days ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Swansea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are about the same in size and quality.”
  • Room 109 ground floor
 of 5 bubbles ballya2014, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room which faces the lake and not the car park, you can then open your window”
 of 5 bubbles 243lewise, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have recently bee refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles tris_tris, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms I stayed in had no A/C which maybe a problem in the summer as the windows do not open.”
 of 5 bubbles Alan1606, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the garden for quiet nights”
 of 5 bubbles RHGH, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5