We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Derry

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Travelodge Derry
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Derry
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 21 December 2014

OK - The staff were really great! But the place, the room, oh dear....so basic, like a hostel. Are they scared things will get stolen? Not even a hair dryer in the room, I requested one, turned it on, it spat a flame at me before burning out....yikes! The place was well worn. No curtains, just the main drape, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Global Caroline Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are deeply disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay with ourselves. I can assure you work is going on in the establishment with regards to refurbishments. Your comments will now be passed on to management for further disscussion, we hope that...

Reviewed 8 December 2014

Keeping this short, I stayed here with my partner for one night to do some shopping in the city and for £69 I was quite disappointed. When we found our room (Room - 100+10+3, not to give anything away, and please someone tell me if this was the same for them) the room opposite that was like a construction site....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMK1992
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Reception Team at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear DMK 1992, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We are deeply disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay, and we are sorry you did not highlight these issues to a team member, so that we may have endeavoured to rectify them immediately. Your comments will be now passed to management for...

Castlebar, Mayo, Ireland
Reviewed 24 November 2014

WE stayed in the Travel Lodge Derry on the 7th november, we had a really lovely time, the staff were lovely and friendly and made us feel very welcome. the rooms were spotless, bathrooms lovely and clean, the beds were clean and fresh, everything about the hotel was good. The location of the hotel is great for shopping, right in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernie K
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Travelodge Team Member at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Bernie K, Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review, Were really delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will ensure you comments are passed back to our team here. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warmest Regards, Travelodge team Member.

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 19 November 2014

This Travelodge is situated right in the centre of Derry town, within very easy walking distance of the walled city, retail outlets and pubs. My room was spacious, and clean and tidy when I arrived. I initially booked for 4 nights but extended this to a week. Room service was prompt and respectful. I had all that I required -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahame80
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Hi grahame80 Thank-you for taking the time to post such positive feedback. The staff here at Travelodge Derry are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope you will be returning to our hotel very soon.

Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2014

This place is a dump avoid it at all costs the worst £48 pounds l ever spent and the place is dirty and depressing. Everything about this place is terrible wouldn't stay in it for nothing if l was given the opportunity this isn't a 3 star lucky to be a 1 star.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhoj12
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2014

I booked this hotel out of convenience to the city hotel where I was attending an awards dinner and conference. The staff were helpful and friendly. In fact, my check in was prepared following speaking to the reception on the phone when I was asking for parking recommendation. My booking was originally made through booking.com which showed parking facilities but...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Manager at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Johnathan B, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us on this occassion. We are sorry you did not raise these issues with a member of staff during your stay, so that we may have endeavoured to rectify them immediately. Work is ongoing at...

Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

we were pleased to be told about the no smoking policy, however, upon entry to the squalid hole we were to stay in for the night, we discovered cigarette burns on the single glazed window which overlooked a highly populated nightclub! Not only the room stank of stale cigarette smoke like an elderly care home, but the bathroom was a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria Y
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Team Member at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Victoria Y, I'm Truly sorry you found your experience here to be what seems to be a unpleasent visit. I will ensure your Review is highlighed to The Travelodge General Manager . Kindest Regards, Team Travelodge.

north yorkshire
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights . I had read that it was on a busy road so had asked for a quiet room which we had. Staff were very helpful. Great location for sightseeing and Wetherspoons next door was great value. I was able to leave my suitcase after I checked out as my flight was later.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Limana68
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Team Member at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Limana68, Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review. We are really glad to heard you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Derry. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest Regards Travelodge Team.

Quimper, France
Reviewed 19 October 2014

arrived on a wednesday afternoon after a nice drive. I was greeted by a manager coaching a new employee who obviously needed to learn the in-house system. Quite a process apparently. I was given my room quickly, explained about the breakfast option which I declined (based on reviews I decided it was not in my best interest). The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misteurjo
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Team Memeber at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Misteurjo, Thanks for your feedback. We will ensure all your comments are passed back to our Team Leader but over all your experience appear to be alot better than you had expected which is good to heard. We look forward to welcoming you in the future were hopefully you take the oppurnity to few some of our refurbished rooms...

Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Could do with a bit of refurbishment but ok for a one night stay, and close to all amenities in the city. Cracked sink in room needs new windows to stop the noise from outside as there is a pub nearby. Friendly helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fawkirk1
TRAVELODGEMANAGEMENT, Receptionist at Travelodge Derry, responded to this review

Dear Fawkirk1, Thank you for taking time to review travelodge Derry. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our head office, Works are on going in relation to our refurbishment and all feedback will actioned upon. Many Thanks,

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
1,930 reviews
0.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
3.1 km away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
458 reviews
2.9 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
496 reviews
1.8 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Derry Travelodge hotel is centrally located in the heart of the Maiden City. Our hotel is situated on Strand Road which is popular for nightlife, restaurants, shopping and minutes walk from Derry City’s many attractions. Travelodge Derry hotel has a rich and varied cultural heritage and the City Walls are home to a number of museums, galleries and theatres, as well as thriving musical and literary scenes. Step back in time and relive the city’s past on an inner-city guided walking, bus or taxi tour, where you’ll discover a wealth of history. Please Note: Possible noise due to City Centre location. Please contact the hotel directly for car parking options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Derry

Address: 22-24 Strand Road, Derry BT48 7AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Price Range: $80 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Derry 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Travelodge Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Derry Hotel Derry
Travel Lodge Derry
Derry Travelodge
Derry Travel Lodge
Travelodge Derry Northern Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Derry staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Derry staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles jukeBelfast, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ok for a quick visit”
 of 5 bubbles jennyj524, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Lift to all floors”
 of 5 bubbles lthrbecks2015, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
“For the best rooms, choose a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NiallMacCaughey, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for rooms looking "in" rather than over the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Luv2TravelFarNWide, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5