We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 746: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The service was terrible, the room was not cleaned properly, the staff was not helpful at all, breakfast was included what a waste of time that was there was no vegetarian option apart from chips and potato wedges which isn't really ideal for breakfast and they had no beans, who runs out of them in a restaurant, i spoke to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Munchk
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Munchk, I am sorry if your room was not properly cleaned and will take this up with the Housekeeper. We are a very busy hotel and unfortunately on accassions we do run out of some items, the breakfast chef had not informed the duty manager that he required more food.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I need to preface this by saying that due to a late booking and two big events in Aberdeen this was about the only choice available to the corporate booking agency we use and consequently the room rate was £172 which colours my view. At £50 per night I would have rated a 2 as the bed was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonStravaiger
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear LondonStravaiger, our prices vary on occupancy levels and we often have rooms from £39.00 if you book in advance. We do offer a limited menu after 9.00pm and if there were issues in your room we could have changes it or attended to them if we were aware.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2013

coach tour ,5 days very cheap deal thanks travelstyle and hotel,,, great stay once again we had super time some older people do nothing but bloody moan ,nothing ever right for them ,most are ok ,how that manager puts up with them i honestly don,t know ,one lady had 4 plates at once on sevice shelf full of every thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobthebet
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear bobthebet, thank you for your comments and I am glad you had a great stay with us. Unfortunately due to the buffet some guests do take more than they require and do empty the buffet faster than normal, especially when we have large groups in who all insist on trying to get their food at the same time. We...

Glasgow
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are just back after a weekend at the Britannia hotel while our room was okay the problem of the dinning room needs to be sorted out the manager Brian Cox does not see any problem with the dinning room ,the food is awful in edible cold soup and food never replenished for second sitting . We took meals back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion M
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Marion M, I am sorry that there were issues with your group food and these have now all been resolved. Obviously David Cox should not have been arguing with you and you should not have had any reason to complain to him.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was booked in this hotel by Holiday Extras it included Car Parking for the duration I was away to say the place was filthy is an understatement we paid in advance for a two course meal each, as we reached the restaurant the only other poor soul was just leaving, when he wished us luck should have been an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda968
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Amanda968, I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Easy to find, on the A96 towards Inverness just out of Aberdeen. The hotel although it looks dated, honestly, "IT IS", It could do with a serious face lift. The rooms are of adequate size, but the sleep quality is something to be desired. People noise carries, I was woken at midnight and 3am by people walking up and down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Simon C, I am sorry that your matress is uncomfortable and if you report this to reception they can either change your room or have the bed changed. Unfortunatley we do not sleep in all the beds and need feedback to know of any issues like this and where they are.

Reviewed 1 June 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for one night on business but made one vital mistake, I didn’t read the reviews on trip advisor before staying here. All the terrible reviews on trip advisor for this Hotel are accurate. Staff are uninterested and don’t care, Hotel is very dated and in serious need of maintenance and serious refurbishment, the rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srd701
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear srd701, I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay but if you had these issues we could have done something if we had known.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Last weekend was my 2nd stay and I will be back. I was on business and visit Aberdeen every month. Due to working for my dad while im away the cheaper the better for us. We generally pay £28 for a family room (Friday to Saturday). Yes it doesn't look marvellous from the outside and when you go in, its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear Rachel R, thank you for your comments and I am glad you found the hotel good value for money and had a good stay.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We are here as part of a coach trip and it is very disappointing! The hotel looks terrible from the outside and not much better when you enter. Our room is ok big enough for us but the bathroom could do with a facelift and a good clean. The food is just terrible, poorly presented, lack of choice, at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janjanevans
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear janjanevans, I am sorry that you did not like the exterior or indeed the interior of the hotel. The restaurant is a buffet and as such people do go and get their own items, this can lead to queues if people are not prepared to wait. There is a charge for the use of the leisure facilities and this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My company booked me into this hotel and as a regular traveller to Aberdeen i knew of its reputation. Needless to say it unfortunately lived up to this poor reputation. I was told i had to have a smoking room as there was nothing else. When i walked into the room the smell was so overpowering i felt ill. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grac85
GMAberdeen, General Manager at Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen, responded to this review

Dear grac85, I am sorry that all we had available when you arrived were smoking rooms. They are normally filled pretty quickly as there is a small limited amount and are generally in demand, however when we are full we really have no option but to use them if not already used.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
2.5 km away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 64 in Aberdeen
501 reviews
6.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
Jurys Inn Aberdeen Airport
#11 of 64 in Aberdeen
443 reviews
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen

Address: Malcolm Road | Bucksburn, Aberdeen AB21 9LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $62 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Buckie, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel - Aberdeen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No decent views 1st floor for easy access to restaurant”
christinecarroll55, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't go!”
Davy_Craig, 21 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floors and rooms away from A96”
Gwagg, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Top floor seems to the best away from the main rd”
mickbeer69, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“4th or 5th floors may offer better outlook”
reiders, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5