We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Show Prices
#20 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 811: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We were attending the Brewdog AGM at Aberdeen Arena and needed overnight accommodation so choose the Mecure Caledonian hotel and what a good choice it was. A lovely room overlooking the square comfortable bed good bathroom and a full Scottish breakfast for only £10. What's not to like we will certainly be booking this hotel for next years AGM.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudyjul
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rudyjul Thank you for spending the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted to hear you had a great stay on your recent AGM. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Hopefully before your AGM next year! Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Nothing could be faulted. Location is excellent for all central attractions and transport hubs. Rooms modern comfortable very well equipped. Breakfast very good. The restaurant was great in the evening. The price represented remarkable value. All staff very positive helpful polite. Deserves five stars. I stayed overnight twice a few days apart and it was great both times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philb07
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philb07 Thank you for providing feedback following your recent visit at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you had an excellent stay during both your recent visits with us. I am sure you have already signed up to our Le-Club loyalty scheme which you can enjoy some great benefits with us and across the Accor group. I am...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Very central. Easy walk from the station and shops and restaurants. Some rooms very small, but smart and well-cared-for. The bar has a good relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff who are keen to be helpful. On my next visit, I shall request this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J J
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J J Thank you for providing feedback following your recent visit at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am glad you found our team and hotel welcoming. Our team thrive of feedback and I am sure they will be as delighted as myself to read your review. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best Regards...

brigg
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Great location, reasonably priced but both nights guests in the neighbouring rooms were extremely noisy between 2&3am. So much so we could hear them inside their rooms as well as all the corridor banging and shouting. Complained after night 1, rang down to reception night 2. Was told at checkout the start were surprised as they didn't look the type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank becky2812
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear becky2812 Thank you for providing feedback following your recent visit. It is disappointing to hear you did not have a pleasant experience with us and please accept my sincere apologies in how this was managed on check out. It is clearly unacceptable and something that we will ensure does not impact anyone else staying with us. Once we read...

Moray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

As someone who's not bothered about a view at whatever hotel I'm staying at (which is just as well) the room I stayed in, for the price, was great. I was there for one night in a single room, limited parking (but free) and if you ask they may even allow you to leave your car there for an hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan G Thank you for spending time to review your experience following you recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you had an excellent stay and our standard rooms as you have explained offer great value for money. Also if you are staying on a regular basis it would be beneficial to sign up to our...

Lerwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in the Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Room was on 4th floor access by lift and a few stairs. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Bed was big (think it was king size) and comfortable. Safe, robes, iron, hair dryer, safe and tea / coffee making facilities all included. The ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRog
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TravellingRog Thank you for spending time to review your experience following you recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend away with us. Our deluxe rooms do offer a little more luxury for a leisure stay and I am glad everything was to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you again soon....

Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This hotel is easy to find and has a great little car park out the back. The reception is welcoming and the staff are professional. I had booked a single room, and it was exactly that. Perfectly comfortable with all the amenities I would require. Not a huge amount of space to do any work, but there is the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard C Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and I will be sure to feedback this to the team, especially those in the Bistro. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Good hotel with a fantastic location for a city centre experience.Would use again. Breakfast was adequate and reasonably tasty. Plenty of lively nightlife nearby , all within walking distance , maybe not if wearing high heels.:

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian M Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay. Minus the heals perhaps! Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2016

A very central location. The room we stayed in (Balmoral room) very spacious. Everything was in good working order. Strange bathroom floor plan, booked as an accessible room, but the hand basin is virtually over the toilet. The room very clean with all amenities. The staff helpful and attentive. A car park off the street is a big bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnClarke_13
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnClarke_13 Thank you for spending the time to review The Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen following your recent trip. I am glad you enjoyed you time with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best Regards Jane Bourque General Manager

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Just home from a break in Aberdeeen. Arrived Friday 25th and we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise. Room was very spacious, overlooking Union Street Gardens. Comfortable bed and all the usual bits. Ate in the hotel 2 nights. Food was good apart from the steak on Saturday night but this problem was dealt with promptly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJ1968
bourqueMrs, General Manager at Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsJ1968 Thank you for spending the time to review your recent stay with Mercure Caledonian Aberdeen. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your upgrade. Our team here love the opportunity to upgrade guests were we are able and find this adds to everyone's experience guest and team. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near...

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (139)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
1,770 reviews
6.2 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
911 reviews
0.7 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 63 in Aberdeen
700 reviews
2.0 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#17 of 63 in Aberdeen
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel, is perfectly placed for exploring handsome, vibrant Aberdeen, known to the world as the Granite City. Located in the centre of Aberdeen, overlooking Union Terrace Gardens and five-minute walk from the railway station, The Caledonian Hotel is a grand example of the city's distinctive Victorian architecture. It's close to many local attractions, and an excellent base for touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel

Address: 10-14 Union Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1WE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledonian, Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
The Hotel Aberdeen
Caledonian Thistle
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Chicago, Illinois, USA
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front on level 4 the views of the town are great”
 of 5 bubbles N4568DXjohnb, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles kirsteenl2013, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front of the hotel are bigger and have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles mull71, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor (103) which was handy as there is only one, rather busy, lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 839hamishm, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We were on the front street, levek 3 and it was quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mairii_12, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5