We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Hotels

Show Prices
#20 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Hotels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

601 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 583: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Norwood Hall. It is a beautiful hotel. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. They display extremely high levels of customer service and professionalism. The attention to detail is outstanding. The rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast has lots of choice. Room service is excellent. Everything about this hotel is brilliant. Return visit? Yes Yes thats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dubslad
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Great to read such a positive review. I will make sure all the relevant members of my team are aware of your comments. We are delighted that you really enjoyed your three night break and look forward to welcoming you back to Norwood Hall Hotel. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We have just celebrated our daughter Dani's and son inlaw Mark's wedding at Norwood Hall and we had a fantastic time.From the moment we went to look at Norwood as a potential venue,Jill was great.She guided us through the wedding pros and cons which she was so knowledgeable about and always made the process feel so easy. The night before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

I was very pleased to read your very postive comments following your daughters Wedding Reception. We know there is a lot of time spent on the planning and organizing before the big day and it is very satisfying for myself and the team to see the day go according to plan. I have insured that both Alan, my Banqueting Manager...

Tullibody
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Hotel is beautiful ,staff are really helpful nothing too much bother for them .stayed her for DBB dinner . The room we stayed in was outstanding . Food was great , good choice on menu for dinner .Breakfast had a good choice available , continental style buffet also a cooked breakfast available too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esther R
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Delighted to receive your positive comments following your stay with us. We hope that you will be returing again soon. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath General Manager

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Norwood hall hotel, the staff were very friendly at check in. The room was clean and very spacious. We had an evening meal which was lovely and a very nice breakfast on the morning All the staff were very polite and friendly Would recommend to family's of couples

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lyndsey W
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Great to receive your feedback following your short stay with us. We will pass this on to all the team at our regular meetings. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath General Manager

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This is a spectacularly beautiful hotel in a parkland setting close to the centre of Aberdeen. The bedroom was beautifully furnished with lots of space, A large bed and a wonderful bathroom. What a shame the restaurant service so let it down. 2 hours to eat a table d'hote 3 course meal is far too long.Why did it take so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stewrat222
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments with regards to our food quality and service. We normally receive positive reviews with regards to this and I am sorry that there was a drop in our normal high standards. As a team we have discussed your feedback and will be...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Ideally located if you need to attend events at Robert Gordon University. Good rooms in an inspiring atmosphere. Food is a touch expensive. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Nice walks around the hotel grounds make it perfect for a relaxing break just outside the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitor931
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Great to receive your positive review following your short stay with us. We hope that when you are next in the area that you will be staying with us here at Norwood Hall. Kind Regards, Martin McIlrath General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

First of all I want to say that Norwood Hall is a beautiful location, the house itself is stunning. However.... We attended a wedding. Which again was lovely, and we really enjoyed ourselves. I feel the hotel let the wedding guests down. DRINKS prices were completely ridiculous. Small glass of wine £7, southern comfort and come £7, pint of fosters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kosconli
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review following your attendance at a Wedding here recently here at Norwood Hall. I was pleased to note your kind comments with regards to our location and decor of the hotel. I have passed on your good feedback with regards to the Wedding meal and noted your comment about the tablet. I am sorry that...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Lovely Hotel , we had room 328 at the back sooo quite and a very large room due to a wee upgrade from the Hotel Manager as WE had booked the wrong deal on the internet , had dinner in the main Restaurant on 1st night , menu good but not extensive , we were the only couple in for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Avryl M
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Great to see that you enjoyed your two night stay and we do appreciate your complimentary comments with regards to my Bar staff member who looked after you on your second night. I note your comment with regards to charges and assure you training is ongoing with regards to this with all members of my Reception team. Kind Regards, Martin...

Callander, Scotland
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I really don't like writing negative reviews but wanted to comment on my experience at Norwood Hall hotel. I had booked through hotels.com and paid upfront but when I came to check my expenses a month later I noticed that the hotel had also charged me a room rate. Hotels.com contacted Norwood on my behalf and I was assured that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foolishclown
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I am sorry that you experienced incorrect charges with your room service and also an accommodation charge when you had paid through hotels.com This is a training issue with my new Reception staff and i have asked my Reception manager to take this on board. We deal with so many...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Took the missus here for her birthday on the dinner, bed and breakfast option. The dinner - from the table d' hote menu - was pretty faultless, with special mention to the starters: the ham hough terrine was particularly delicious. For mains, I had the fish and chips - lovely, though I'm not convinced it was haddock as stated -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petepunk
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review following your stay with us for your wifes Birthday. I was very pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and found our accommodation and dinner to your pleasing. I have noted your comment with regards to no fridge in your bedroom and I will pass this on for futher consideration. I have also...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (131)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.9 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.3 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.7 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#18 of 62 in Aberdeen
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.7 km away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
2.7 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#14 of 62 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $107 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Hotels staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Hotels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“could not find a fault with any of our rooms”
 of 5 bubbles N4568DXjohnb, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No disabled parking areas”
 of 5 bubbles brucefarquhar2016, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the upgraded king size rooms are lovely but a bit of a trek, had to get 2 seperate lifts to get to my room.”
 of 5 bubbles HJS492, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have a lovely view of the front gardens”
 of 5 bubbles wendyian, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not to far away from city centre”
 of 5 bubbles N6538VQjohnf, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay