We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Booking.comUS$44*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$44*
Great Deal
US$53*
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Aberdeen Youth Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Aberdeen Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, great staff attitude - thank you Lars.SYHA hostels set good standards. Would recommend adding some lockers in the dorms and some upgrades on the showers and toilets.Looking forward to see the new renovated part.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheRamblingOne
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi TheRamblingOne Many thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us, Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan.

Reviewed 21 April 2017

The place is under renovation so the bathrooms with showers are limited to the 4th floor. The rooms are good with cards to get in so you can get a key for each person. The bathrooms in the 4th floor are brand new for the guys at least. Wifi setup is not as trivial as connecting to a network with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Miguel C Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.As you point out we are currently undergoing a renovation which will look stunning once completed. Its good to see overall you had a good stay and we will look at the points you have raised to see where we can improve...

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

I've been here for one night. One of my roommates was a 40-50 years old man always high on drugs. The room smelled of his marijuana and he kept coming in and out of the room all night long, turning on the lights and taking drugs. Terrifying experience. THIS IS NOT A YOUTH HOSTEL, this is an hostel for misfit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alberto C
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Good Morning Alberto C, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.We take your comments very seriously and would appreciate if you could contact me directly so I can gain further information on your experience.We are currently under going a major refurbishment At Aberdeen YH and this will only add to the...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

We just stayed here for one night and it was great for us. We had been staying in B&Bs for a while and when we got there we asked about the laundry. The lady was a great help, showed us how to run everything and when I forgot a sock she made sure to give it back to me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Grace M Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a good time and will pass on your kind words to the staff .We are constantly looking at ways of improving our service and have noted your comments regarding the wifi which we will discuss with the...

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Let me just say this. I stayed in a room with 8 bed dorm and only 2 plugs for all the dorm. The breakfast was quite poor and the toast were from frozen bread, how I know it because the sides of my toast were still wet...ya a toast. I wont stay here again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank duarteoliveira95
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.We are contionously looking at ways to improve our service and value your feedback. We will look into the points you have raised and discuss them with the team. Regards Dan

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

It's quite a small place however it has all the facilities you need, from a full kitchen and dining area to bathrooms with showers, laundry facilities, internet and computers and even a quiet room filled with books and board games. I've stayed there twice, each time staying as long as a week and each time being pleasantly greeted and assisted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tandkucuk
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi tandkucuk, Thanks for taking the time to review our Aberdeen hostel following your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good experience again and we hope to welcome you back soon,I will pass on your kind words to the team Regards Dan

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Aberdeen SYHA is in a nice district with mostly financial/service firm located in surround. Bus X17 and 11 both link it with city centre. I share a clean room with 3 other ladies, though the room is a bit cold. All facilities are in good condition, but there might be insects in the loo. Kitchen is quite clean, and that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelanieZhang
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi MelanieZhang Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel,Im pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Beautiful area, beautiful building, in desperate need of renovation. Generally smell of drains throughout. Clientele is primarily fat, alcoholic, old men looking for work/claiming benefits and snoring/farting the night away. Kitchen is well equipped and clean. Try Ibis hotel in centre of town £50 most nights. Enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank p S
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi p S, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, As with all accommodation providers we do get a variety of guests staying with us who are travelling around our beautiful country. We will investigate the points you have raised. Regards Dan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here never having been in a youth hotel ever! I was very impressed. The rooms were lovely and clean, I stayed in more than one room as I'd amended my booking and the same room hadn't been available for my first night, but no problem there. The guys stored my bags until the room was ready then helped...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SJC1964
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi SJC1964 Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Its great to see you had a wonderful time and I will pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff there. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Very well run, clean youth hostel, very competitive prices. 5 minutes from the City centre, can really recommend this. Some free parking available, lovely wide street in a residential area where buildings are all made of granite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Margaret K Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great ot see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 km away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
738 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
1.1 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
955 reviews
1.0 km away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#21 of 64 in Aberdeen
291 reviews
0.6 km away
Atholl Hotel
Atholl Hotel
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our great value hostel is set in a historic building packed full of character, and has good facilities including family rooms. Aberdeen is a beautiful city, with easy access to the countryside, fishing, golf and pony trekking. City based attractions include cinema, concerts and the arts. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4ZT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $34 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberdeen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Run, run and keep running”
893olafp, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Single room was great for solo traceller”
JudiC_adel, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the best rooms are the ones at the building front, where wifi sometimes works.”
Morag_Sea, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“You will do lots of walking up flights of stairs for the women's dorms.”
TartanCat57, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“None, dont do it”
hugdavliv, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$44* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$53
PricelineUS$48
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates