We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glenavon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Glenavon
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016

1. Decide 10.30AM Thursday to go to Oban and spend the night as it was a glorious day. Looked online with “booking.com” which has always been reliable in the past and booked Glanavon as it had two beds and available (now know why). 2. We had to pick up the keys from the Palace Hotel but there was no instructions... More 

Helpful?
Thank j0h0n
glenavonoban, Family Member at Glenavon, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Glenavon is a family home that offers room only accommodation. We do not provide or advertise cooked breakfasts at Glenavon! We try and provide clear information on what we provide so that guests are will informed before arrival. At roughly £25 per person during peak time we find it strange... More 

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2015

had a last minute appointment for work in Oban. A place I love. found what looked like a bed and breakfast, ( it pays to read all the relevant details.) In fact this was a house owned by the Palace Hotel. Guilty in the fact that I never read all the details when I printed my receipt off. so Arrived... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davyw92
glenavonoban, Manager at Glenavon, responded to this review

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. Glenavon is a family home that is still lived in by the family that built it and offers room only accommodation during the summer in three bedrooms. Continental breakfasts are offered at Glenavon as an alternative guests may have a cooked breakfast at The Palace Hotel. It is clearly stated... More 

Travellers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

no-one at the B&B to liaise with on arrival or departure! Rooms cleanish and musty smelling! one bathroom to share between 3 bedrooms is really disappointing. One (1!!) hand towel left in room for 3 people (it was me and my 2 kids)- we all had to share it for our showers! Breakfast not included unless you pay £7.50 per... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Aremar2309
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glenavon is a family home not a B&B and there are contact numbers for assistance should no one be about. We no longer provide towels with our rooms (except a hand towel) although we have Egyptian cotton towels available for hire should you hot have your own with you. We... More 

Tayside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I don't like submitting a poor review of a family-run business. To the Palace Hotel to collect the keys. It smelt stale. A guest (or so I take him to be) in the bar called the owner. We then had real problems identifying the (unlit) house. I was very reluctant to leave my car on the road...it would have been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkeye4472
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review however there are several points I would like to raise. The price of £80 is for 3 people (2 adults and a child) in the room unfortunately no other rooms were available that night during the bank holiday weekend. The tv includes a standard sky box and has bbc london... More 

Malaga, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Having stayed at the hotel for two nights we found the owner to be very friendly and helpful with local information.The room we occupied was comfortable and clean with a large TV and tea making facilites .We enjoyed the privacy of having our breakfast in our room and both agreed good value.The shared bathroom appears to have has been refurbished... More 

Helpful?
Thank April006
Troon, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Myself and my partner arrived in Oban and desided that as it was a major highland event that weekend that we would stay so we booked a last minute room at this B&B when we first entered the room there was an overwhelming smell of air freshener and i commented to my partner saying that this smelt like it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank huneyxxx
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

Glenavon is not a bed and breakfast but a family home. A small number of rooms are available for visitors however these rooms are provided without breakfast. Self service continental style breakfast is available at cost price and was available for all guests that had booked it. There were several of us staying upstairs in the house who could have... More 

Inverness
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Glenavon could be a really nice b&b with a bit of tlc and attention to detail both of which its currently lacking. Myself and my friend had two rooms booked so this review will cover both of them. My room was the bigger double room - it was a good size and clean. However it seemed a bit disorganised... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
glenavonoban, Family at Glenavon, responded to this review

Glenavon has been home to three generations of the same family since being built by my grandfather John Donn approximately half a century ago. The wires leading from the television are to provide a choice between terrestrial tv, freesat and freesat HD. Coax, scart and HD cable. The bedside light was likely to have been unplugged for the vacuum cleaner... More 

2 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#83 of 99 in Oban
216 reviews
0.1 km away
Briarbank Guest House
0.9 km away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#22 of 99 in Oban
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Barndromin Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#42 of 99 in Oban
84 reviews
0.6 km away
McCaig's Return Hotel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family home with private rooms and shared bathroom. Helping to support charitable causes. Sorry cooked breakfast not available. Close to town centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenavon

Address: Quarry Road, Oban PA34 4DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $134 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Glenavon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenavon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't go not worth the price charged”
 of 5 bubbles davyw92, 22 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Hawkeye4472, 5 May 2013 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay