We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Save
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
10 Sep 2017
“Not recommended due to Rude and unwelcoming hostess”
23 Jul 2017
“Passing through”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
25
16
6
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
25
16
6
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We arrived after a long day of travel and not seeing the bell at reception called out a few times. No answer so we proceeded to our room, door was open so we dropped some things and went back to the car for our luggage....More

1  Thank LJeMD
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 13 September 2017

What can I say apart from I would not be the only guest house owner who would be shocked[in Oban anyway] to find guests had already walked in to their home.yes home,with out 1st meeting the proprieter and intoducing themselves. I did ask you to...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Very happy with our clean accommodation, very friendly host who does go out of her way to make you feel welcome. Plenty parking and close to shopping /town. Would recommend to anyone traveling through Scotland.

Thank marymcclounnan
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 July 2017

Hello Mary, thanks for your lovely review, see you again,soon I hope, Ishbell

Reviewed 18 September 2016

Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

2  Thank 563jenny
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 27 October 2016

Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

5  Thank Billy P
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can...More

6  Thank D2341
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne C
15 May 2015|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Very accessible"
Read review
"All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
Read review
"Handy for ferry terminale"
Read review
"only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing