We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    2017-12-03 2017-12-04
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ObanSee available hotels in Oban
    Glencoe House
    363 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Glencoe Village
    38.5 km
     
    Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
    549 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Strontian
    32.3 km
     
    RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
    166 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Ballachulish
    35.4 km
     
    Airds Hotel & Restaurant
    530 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
    16.7 km
     
    The Pierhouse Hotel
    638 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
    16.5 km
     
    Manor House Hotel
    447 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Oban
    0.9 km
     
    Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
    489 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Benderloch
    14.4 km
     
    Holly Tree Hotel
    905 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Kentallen
    32.8 km
     
    Overview
    • Excellent41%
    • Very good24%
    • Average13%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible10%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (14 reviews)
    “a great stay” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pets Allowed
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (66)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 56 reviews

    Reviewed 10 September 2017

    We arrived after a long day of travel and not seeing the bell at reception called out a few times. No answer so we proceeded to our room, door was open so we dropped some things and went back to the car for our luggage....More

    Thank LJeMD
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 13 September 2017

    What can I say apart from I would not be the only guest house owner who would be shocked[in Oban anyway] to find guests had already walked in to their home.yes home,with out 1st meeting the proprieter and intoducing themselves. I did ask you to...More

    Reviewed 23 July 2017

    Very happy with our clean accommodation, very friendly host who does go out of her way to make you feel welcome. Plenty parking and close to shopping /town. Would recommend to anyone traveling through Scotland.

    Thank marymcclounnan
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 July 2017

    Hello Mary, thanks for your lovely review, see you again,soon I hope, Ishbell

    Reviewed 18 September 2016

    Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

    2  Thank 563jenny
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 27 October 2016

    Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

    Reviewed 5 August 2016

    Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

    5  Thank Billy P
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

    Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

    Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

    Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can...More

    6  Thank D2341
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

    Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable...More

    Glencoe House
    363 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Glencoe Village
    38.5 km
     
    Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
    549 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Strontian
    32.3 km
     
    RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
    166 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Ballachulish
    35.4 km
     
    Airds Hotel & Restaurant
    530 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
    16.7 km
     
    The Pierhouse Hotel
    638 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Port Appin
    16.5 km
     
    Manor House Hotel
    447 reviews
    #1 of 13 hotels in Oban
    0.9 km
     
    Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
    489 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Benderloch
    14.4 km
     
    Holly Tree Hotel
    905 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Kentallen
    32.8 km
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Argyll and Bute >
    • Oban
    • Also Known As
    • Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland
    Nearby
    Sponsored by:
    Nearby Restaurants
    Oban Seafood Hut
    1,507 reviews
    .65 km away
    The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
    2,630 reviews
    .62 km away
    George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
    732 reviews
    .62 km away
    The Lorne Bar
    477 reviews
    .52 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
    551 reviews
    .64 km away
    McCaig's Tower
    2,097 reviews
    .86 km away
    Oban War & Peace Museum
    649 reviews
    .92 km away
    Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel
    433 reviews
    .28 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Anne C
    15 May 2015|
    Answer
    Response from | Property representative |
    Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Very accessible"
    Read review
    "All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
    Read review
    "Handy for ferry terminale"
    Read review
    "only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing