We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

Save
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
1 week ago
“Faultless visit”
10 Sep 2017
“Not recommended due to Rude and unwelcoming hostess”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
26
16
6
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
26
16
6
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing was too much for Ishbell. She provided an extra bed for a surprise 5yr old visitor and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable. Despite there being no breakfast, the room offered numerous snacks, fresh fruit,...More

Thank Neil M
Response from Isabella S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for this vey kind and thoughtful review Neil. Im delighted you all enjoyed your stay with me,both families are just great. New dates for Oban live will be announced to us on Friday so will message you asap, kind regards to you all Ishbell

Reviewed September 10, 2017

We arrived after a long day of travel and not seeing the bell at reception called out a few times. No answer so we proceeded to our room, door was open so we dropped some things and went back to the car for our luggage....More

2  Thank LJeMD
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded September 13, 2017

What can I say apart from I would not be the only guest house owner who would be shocked[in Oban anyway] to find guests had already walked in to their home.yes home,with out 1st meeting the proprieter and intoducing themselves. I did ask you to...More

Reviewed July 23, 2017

Very happy with our clean accommodation, very friendly host who does go out of her way to make you feel welcome. Plenty parking and close to shopping /town. Would recommend to anyone traveling through Scotland.

Thank marymcclounnan
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded July 23, 2017

Hello Mary, thanks for your lovely review, see you again,soon I hope, Ishbell

Reviewed September 18, 2016

Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

2  Thank 563jenny
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded October 27, 2016

Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

Reviewed August 5, 2016

Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

6  Thank Billy P
Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded September 23, 2016

Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oban
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$98 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$98 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne C
May 15, 2015|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Very accessible"
Read review
"All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
Read review
"Handy for ferry terminale"
Read review
"only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing