We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-08-06 2017-08-07
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sgeir Mhaol Guest House

    Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    2017-08-06 2017-08-07
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in ObanSee available hotels in Oban
    Glenview Guest House
    62 reviews
    #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Corran House
    411 reviews
    #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,746 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Sandvilla Guest House
    169 reviews
    #15 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Overview
    • Excellent40%
    • Very good25%
    • Average14%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pets Allowed
    All hotel details
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
    Glenview Guest House
    62 reviews
    #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Corran House
    411 reviews
    #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,746 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Sandvilla Guest House
    169 reviews
    #15 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (64)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 54 reviews

    Reviewed 18 September 2016

    Ishbell was very welcoming and pleasant. Room only which is great value and the room was comfortable and very clean. Ample tea, coffee, toiletries, breakfast bars and fruit. Ishbell very accommodating with a small problem which arose. I would go back if passing through Oban...More

    2  Thank 563jenny
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 27 October 2016

    Thankyou so much for your kind review,it makes it so worth while when guests enjoy their stay with me at Sgeir Mhaol.Hoping you enjoyed your week on Iona and the weather was kind to you and your friends. Again many thanks, kindest regards, Ishbell

    Reviewed 5 August 2016

    Sgeir mhaol is relatively clean n tidy but beware the so called landlady ishbell is friendly when taking your money but when a problem occurs even how minor the problem is she completely flies off the handle and is extremely rude and arrogant she does...More

    5  Thank Billy P
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

    Thankyou for your review on Sgeirmhaol. Thankyou that you found sgeirmhaol 'relatively clean !!!!! and tidy,if the room was not up to your standards why didnt you come and tell this instead of all on tripadvisor !!! I did take your money pressuming you were...More

    Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

    Stayed here for one night recently. While the room was clean and comfortable I found the guest house owner to be extremely rude and unprofessional. This made for an uncomfortable stay. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many guest houses in Scotland. I can...More

    6  Thank D2341
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

    Thankyou for review on SgeirMhaol. Thankyou for stating that your room was clean and comfortable as ALL rooms are at Sgeirmhaol. You had a problem with the lock on your door as in that the spring had broken,however as much as I am very capable...More

    Reviewed 3 July 2016

    First of all I want to emphasize, that this is my first Tripadvisor review and I usually don’t do reviews. But after our experience in the Sgeir Mhaol Guest House I felt I need to do it to prevent others having the same one. I...More

    5  Thank Bernd S
    Response from Ishbell S, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 23 September 2016

    Firstly may I say I NEVER ask guests in to my home or would ever ask them to view correspondance between us. The customer is always right even when wrong ! Secondly..I omitted to e-mail you to inform you that due to ill health I...More

    Reviewed 1 June 2016

    I had a great stay at the Sgeir Mhaol, Ishbell (the owner) was friendly and very accommodating! As I was on placement, I stayed for 5 weeks and experienced continual high standards. My room was furnished very well with plenty of fresh towels, tea and...More

    Thank Sylvia135
    Response from 742eeshee55, Owner at Sgeir Mhaol Guest HouseResponded 2 June 2016

    Sylvia, thankyou so much for your lovely review.It was lovely having you here for 5 weeks,that went past quickly didnt it.Hope everything goes well for you and may see you back here soon, Ishbell

    Glenview Guest House
    62 reviews
    #48 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Corran House
    411 reviews
    #16 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    Oban Bay Hotel
    1,746 reviews
    #7 of 13 hotels in Oban
     
    Sandvilla Guest House
    169 reviews
    #15 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    Details
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Argyll and Bute >
    • Oban
    • Also Known As
    • Sgeir Mhaol Guest House Oban, Scotland
    Nearby
    The Ranald Hotel
    805 reviews
    .68 km away
     
    The Perle Oban Hotel
    70 reviews
    .79 km away
     
    Columba Hotel
    1,046 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Rowantree Hotel
    328 reviews
    1.02 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Oban Seafood Hut
    1,340 reviews
    .81 km away
    The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
    2,393 reviews
    .79 km away
    George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
    660 reviews
    .82 km away
    The Lorne Bar
    434 reviews
    .73 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
    475 reviews
    .79 km away
    McCaig's Tower
    1,946 reviews
    1.08 km away
    Oban War & Peace Museum
    602 reviews
    1.11 km away
    Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel
    392 reviews
    .44 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Anne C
    15 May 2015|
    Answer
    Response from | Property representative |
    Hi yes we have wifi in our rooms
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "All ground floor. Not a luxury B and B, room only, but very good value. Welcoming, very clean and comfortable."
    Read review
    "Handy for ferry terminale"
    Read review
    "only stayed the night couldn't fault anything"
    Read review
    "Room 4 (A Double bed,) for me was quiet enough for a good nights sleep,! Exellent wi fi"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing