We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
#8 of 12 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

858 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 802: English reviews
dublin
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Stayed there for a weekend - never again. Hotel tired and old looking. Breakfast is a mess. Bar is tatty and dirty. Book a Superior Sea view room - the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Extremely rude reception staff - was barked at by the lady on check-in when I asked about the parking. Avoid!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jjmack
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am deeply disappointed to read your recent review of the Royal Hotel, and would like to apologise that you felt so let down by your experience. and to enable to discuss your stay further then please contact me direct on royalobanmanager@strathmorehotels.com with your name, room number and when you stayed .

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

There is no hiding that this Hotel is in need of investment but a warmer welcome by staff you couldn't better. The prices are low reflecting the tired decor and Oban like many a Scottish Seaside Town has seen better days but I sense regeneration in the town and hopefully the Royal will follow in due course as its ideally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay at the Royal, it is not our intention to have unhappy customers. I was sorry you were let down at breakfast, this is an aspect of the hotel where we receive many compliments. . We are indeed in the process of both modernising certain aspects of the Hotel – our...

East Kilbride, Glasgow
Reviewed 1 March 2016

We stayed here for our anniversary on a deal - £69 for dinner, bed, breakfast, tea/coffee & biscuits and a glass of prosecco. First impressions - friendly staff and we were very lucky apparently to get in the car park! The entrance is welcoming with the bar to the left, reception slightly further up on the left. The winding impressive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LYNS_10
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Royal Hotel. I was happy to read that in spite of a couple minor issues you were impressed by the quality of the food at the Royal and that the team were very helpful and friendly. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future....

Fife, Scotland
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We had been given a bed, breakfast and evening meal Groupon as a gift so booked the Saturday night with it and then I rang the hotel direct and booked and paid for the Friday night. The hotel carpark is not sign posted but we arrived at around 1930h so were able to park in the loading bay directly outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dangerousbryman
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that the food at the Royal did not live up to your expectations, and would like to offer you my sincere apologies. I shall raise the issues you experienced with the relevant departments, but feel compelled to ask why you did not complain about the food and/or service at the time rather than going away dissatisfied and...

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We had a Groupon deal for dinner bed and breakfast. The reception staff were friendly and informative, the room was lovely and we had tea and prosecco on arrival with what was supposed to be shortbread but was in fact a horrible little caramel biscuit. The whole stay was spoiled by dinner. The menu consisted of pub grub.....macaroni cheese, beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline s
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to comment on of your recent stay at the Royal. I am so sorry to read you were disappointed with your stay, it is not our intention to have unhappy customers. I was sorry you were let down at Dinner and .I wish we had the opportunity to resolve the issues you encountered during your...

fife
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Advertised as a 4 star hotel this it certainly is not. Very noisey and not very helpful staff. On arrival we were told you can park round the back of the hotel if your lucky to get a space. There was room for 9 cars if you're lucky or we were told you can park free about a 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caelyn
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate that you have felt the need to air your thoughts on-line and not communicate with the hotel or management direct and to enable us to establish which room you were in to be able to rectify the comments please feel free to contact me direct on royalobanmanager@strathmorehotels.com with your name, room number and booking reference number. I will...

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We waited ages to have our order taken. Then we waited half an hour for our food! Ridiculous! No apology or anything. Not happy customers! Won't be coming back in a hurry! Will not be recommending to anyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliem1704
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comment but to enable me to establish which restaurant you were in I would be happy for you to contact me direct either by telephone (01631 563021) or by email royalobanmanager@strathmorehotels.com when I will be happy to discuss thus further. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kinross Scotland
Reviewed 28 February 2016

My partner and I spent two nights here as a result of being given a gift voucher by a relative. Good points first, the staff are very helpful and friendly and hard working. Now for the rest! Immediately on entering the small reception area, it was clear that this was a hotel that had been neglected for a very long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter202
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I am disappointed to read your recent review of the Royal Hotel, and would like to apologise that you felt so let down by your experience. We are in the midst of making gradual improvements throughout the Hotel,however on a positive not I was happy to read that you were impressed by the quality of the rooms and that the...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

This hotel is situated in the heart of Oban within 5 minutes walk from the bus station, railway station and the ferries! Double rooms are pretty small, but nicely decorated in a tartan theme and stifingly hot (I, fortunately, discovered that the window opened and kept it that way for the duration of my stay)! There is a flat screen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Royal Hotel, and will share all of your kind remarks with the staff, and feel certain that they would join me in saying that we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal on your next visit to the area.

Scotland
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Here with a group on a two night deal. Friendly staff, very central location, reasonable food. A downside was the squeaky floors - I was pleased whoever was in the room above didn't get up in the middle of the night. Also the housekeeping wasn't up to standard, carpet not hoovered properly, water glass left half full at the side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DUNFCPE
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave to your comments I’m sorry that some aspects of your stay was not up to standard us and hope that this did not effect your overall trip too much .I wish I had the opportunity to resolve the issues you encountered during your stay as this is not the guest experience we...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,627 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.1 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
989 reviews
0.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 12 in Oban
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $104 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
5 months ago
7 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“"Rooms at back small and noisey,not a very nice outlook."”
 of 5 bubbles maureencrighton01, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms located at front of hotel can be noisy due to motor vehicle and pedestrian traffic during all hours of the night so choose carefully.”
  • Clean and tidy.
 of 5 bubbles DitchAustralia, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 309 has great views of the harbour, well best view in the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles glenno248, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps room away from main road may be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles PaisleyBuddy16, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor rooms provide partial sea views”
 of 5 bubbles jimfGlasgow, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5