We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Columba Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

978 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 909: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Double bed was very small and quite hard. Everything was clean. Ensuite a bit weird with a big window opposite the toilet looking out onto the carpark and harbour with no privacy glass or anything so had to pull the blind down every time I needed the loo. Think the bedroom window was single glazed as sounded like something from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Late rooms.com booking gave us a double room with breakfast for £45. Location couldn't be more central. Friendly welcome from receptionist and room was decent. If you were staying any length of time then might be worth adding for seafront view. We viewed street at rear but no issues. Excellent buffet breakfast, helpful staff. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauls_smith2
Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 2 nights in August 2016 passing through Oban. One the upside: - location is great with everything in walking distance. - Room was comfortabel and we had a nice view (we had a corner room near the top) Downside: - service - arrived an hour before check in. Was not possible yet (not a problem) but we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Esploratore
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay in the Columba Hotel in Oban. The hotel is nicely situated next to the Esplanade. The rooms have high ceilings and are beautifully decorated. We had a great view of McCaig's tower situated on the hill above Oban. Breakfast is served as a buffet with a great selection of foods. We would definitely recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L S
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had a good time. I'm glad that you enjoyed our food and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I hope you can stay again soon, and I hope you have a great New Year. Kind regards Darrell Williams

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Do not stay here. It's a simple as that - the accomodation is ok - the bed is jot the best and two very old and thin pillows. Don't ask for the Manager - we had an issue after we were given a room where they knew the hot water didn't work and when we questioned the Manager was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LADI070
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any difficulties that you experienced at the hotel Thanks Darrell Williams

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Its a nice and confortable hotel.. Unfortunatelly we got a very bad recepcionist.. she might have been tired or whatever when we got in.. but.. the rooms are ok.. and the bed really confortable. The guy working in the morning time was very polite and friendly .. so.. it kind of left us with a good feeling at the end.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolita C
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and i will look into the (bad reception). I do hope that you can come and stay again soon. Kind regards Darrell Williams

Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly Staff clean room and in the centre of the town you can't ask for any more the staff are very good at there jobs and nothing was a problem they have a nice bar and the prices are good the breakfast was very good it was self service so you can pick what you want to eat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brianboy58
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and i will share your comments with the rest of the team. I do hope that you can come and stay again soon. Kind regards Darrell Williams

Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second visit to this fine hotel.Took a "Hogmanay" 3 night stay.Excellent.3 suggestions to improve guest experience.1,Make availability of "restaurant" more clear.We used the "Rio Bar" but the restaurant may have been nice.2.Offer clarity in use and hours of the reception bar.3.We did not know whether a key was required for re-entry in the wee sma' hours-as it happens there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your Suggestions , will take them on board , Our Hogmanay Break in oban is very popular so I would encourage you to book soon and hope to see you before then Best wishes Darrell Williams

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is a strange mix of the refurbished and old. I really liked the old fashioned lift but it is very heavy and would be difficult to operate it you were frail (and therefore more likely to be using a lift) we had room 306 and I wouldn't be rushing back. The bed is knackered and sags in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debseelou
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you had several positive experiences in the hotel, especially the food and the service from our staff. I'm very disappointed that there were some lapses and that we did not meet your expectations. which i will look in to I'm very grateful for your comments and...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff. Very good location. Clean room. Only very old elevator. If someone is bad close the door, you can not use the elevator. Door does not open automatically. Good breakfast. and Nice interior.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berdeen1
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a good stay and i will share your comments with the rest of the team. see you again soon in oban Kind regards Darrell Williams

270 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (260)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Other (99)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,598 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.3 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
846 reviews
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
392 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 12 in Oban
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $74 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some brilliant views of Oban Bay & Harbour.”
 of 5 bubbles douglasa781, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“good view and good location”
 of 5 bubbles Berdeen1, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the harbour”
 of 5 bubbles kimcats, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Tedjoiner, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Seaview rooms a must,but be careful you don't always get what they show you on your booking,”
 of 5 bubbles largyc, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay