We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Share
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (117)
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (32)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Housekeeping
Free Parking
Pool
3.5 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
454
254
94
30
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
454
254
94
30
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baked eggs no lift metro hotel compact room grand room modern hotel great wee hotel third floor ferry terminal central location smoked salmon powerful shower haggis breakfast room stayed for one night comfortable bed car park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Having read other reviews I was looking forward to my stay at The Ranald very much. On arrival the whole street was under road works. There was no parking, nowhere to pull over to get your luggage out. The nearest car park was a good...More

Thank ChristineHove
Response from Carla M, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to leave The Ranald Hotel a review. We take all feedback on board whether it is positive or negative as there is always room for improvement. With regards to the parking, we understand this can be an issue although...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Apparently this is a "metro hotel". I've never heard of it but I think it means "no parking and not enough space to swing a cat". The room is clean, bathroom fine, shower nice but so small. I struggled to open my suitcase. The only...More

Thank Mhairi B
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give such an honest review of your recent stay with us here at The Ranald Hotel. We're delighted to see you enjoyed your breakfast and found are staff to be friendly. Many thanks, The Ranald Hotel team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel using an It Is On voucher but would 100% pay full price to come back. The hotel is located in a central spot of Oban near to the waterfront, pubs and restaurants. The hotel has no designated parking but there is...More

Thank Lauren D
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and would come back and stay with us again. I hope to see you in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can’t fault The Ranald after our weekend stay. The rooms were great and very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful going out of their way to accommodate our needs with a wheelchair user at the time of booking and during our stay....More

Thank Pauline0606
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind and honest review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here at The Ranald Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having staying at the Ranald last week on a great value for money deal; I have no complaints about the hotel, check in was fine. We were aware of lack of parking and no lift, so for us it was not an issue. The room...More

Thank mogs3103
Response from Carla M, Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for leaving us such an honest review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the hard work that goes into the day to day running of the hotel. I will take your points onboard and pass them on to the owner...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was More born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$72 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
17
Price range
US$72 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Location
United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Photos
Traveller (123)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (32)
Pool & Beach (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Royal Hotel
1,162 reviews
.08 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
381 reviews
.14 km away
Columba Hotel
1,212 reviews
.36 km away
Regent Hotel
1,137 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 103 nearby restaurants
Etive Restaurant
94 reviews
.01 km away
Baab
106 reviews
.15 km away
The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
3,045 reviews
.24 km away
George Street Fish Restaurant & Chip Shop
875 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 77 nearby attractions
Oban Distillery
2,478 reviews
.34 km away
Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
689 reviews
.33 km away
Oban VisitScotland iCentre
179 reviews
.06 km away
McCaig's Tower
2,423 reviews
.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
March 18, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Carla M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
November 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
May 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Facing the Cliff that the Hotel backs onto."
RichardD836
Oct. 2, 2018
Read review
"Ground floor if you have mobility issues."
robertlang2
Sep. 1, 2018
Read review
"At front on first floor."
AMHGreenock_Scotland
Apr. 28, 2018
Read review
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
699carolo
Mar. 23, 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing