We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 727: English reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here after travelling straight through from Vancouver, Canada to Oban. The hotel is in a good location and had everything we needed during the "recovery" phase. It is quiet and clean. Their breakfast was fine -- though the space was cramped. We both had their "famous baked eggs" (which were good but not exceptional. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will pass these comments onto our team. I'm sorry about the issue with our wifi, we do reboot it for our guests however we have since updated to a faster broadband. This issue is therefore no more! We hope if you return to Oban, you can enjoy...

Worcester
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

There are some good points to this hotel......the staff were friendly, it's in a central location and the beds are pretty comfy. However, there are many things that make this hotel a poor choice at the prices charged - only go if you can get a deal. The price is a real bug bear, having just arrived from another city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank max4004
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I had not appreciated it at the time of booking but this is a city centre 'micro' type hotel. It is best suited to a business man or woman visiting Oban for business with a clean shirt and socks and pants in the briefcase. It is not suited to a walker like me with a big heavy pack and lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you found our hotel to be unsuitable for you. We do offer larger rooms, perhaps it was a compact double room you were staying in as the room is very compact therefore I can understand your difficulty with lots of luggage. I'm glad you enjoyed the shower and our sister restaurants! I do...

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Basic accommodation - but almost everything worked - our door handle was hanging off its two screws, needing immediate attention - the wifi only worked in one corner of the room. No lift, uncomfortable concrete stairs so try to get a room as close to street level as possible. Good breakfast to start your day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grufflux
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will pass these comments onto our team. I apologise about the door handle, this was fixed as soon as brought to our attention. I do apologise you felt the stairs were uncomfortable. Thanks again.

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This is a very basic hotel...more like a hostel. Three floors but no lift. Only one room on the ground floor which acts as bar, reception and breakfast room. Decor in there was nice. Breakfast OK...usual cereal, yogurt, fruit and croissants. Not a big choice of cooked...mainly eggs. Staff friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jalogs
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I will pass these comments onto our team. Thanks again.

Reviewed 10 September 2016

So comfy, and the best porridge in the world .... Wish I knew their secret. Always a warm welcome and very helpful friendly staff. Clean and modern. If you don't need a lift, this is the best hotel in Oban.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty L
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I shall pass on your comments to our team, they will be delighted. Our porridge is made with milk, no hidden secrets! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again soon for another great visit!...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed for one night only and very pleased with the hotel, although we would probably book on the first floor next time as there is no lift, but otherwise all good. Basic accommodation but clean, friendly staff, great location and a fabulous breakfast, the baked eggs were superb and my fella loved the porridge! The fact that there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuAl0407
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I shall pass on your comments to our team, they will be delighted. We hope to see you again soon for another great visit! Thanks again.

Sydney
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I have to start by having a huge whinge about the wi-fi. In this day and age, everyone relies on it for onward bookings, connecting with home, train timetables etc. and it is hopeless at The Ranald. There is wi-fi on the ferry, in the restaurants, at the train station so it really isn't good enough not to have it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancophilesSydney
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve all aspects of the hotel. I'm sorry for the issue with our wifi, we understand its an important part about your stay however this was out of our control. We updated it on the Friday and were left until the Monday morning...

Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed for three nights recently after seeing some very positive reviews. The only thought that comes to mind is how this hotel is #2 in Oban? are the others really that bad? Cleanliness is something that every hotel should offer regardless of budget,type,location etc its a bare minimum for the guests and something completely overlooked at the hotel. For a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hungryforthetruth
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from guests whether good or bad as we are always looking for ways to improve. I'm sorry you found the hotel to be so disappointing! All rooms have the same decor, unfortunately this is how it was designed. We understand this may not be to everyones taste. All toilets have a...

Beith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Situated an easy 5 mins from the train station this hotel is located in a quiet road. We were greeted on arrival by a pleasant young girl. Our room was on the second floor and we passed a lot of laundry bags on our way up to our room. Our room was pleasant enough but at £125 a night was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Londonsiouxsie
Nicole C, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I shall pass on your comments to our team, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. I'm glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. However I do apologise for your breakfast being delayed. It can be quite chaotic given the small amount of space, especially when...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
400 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
422 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
879 reviews
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $120 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a smart modern boutique hotel, so don't expect the grandeur of the Ritz.”
 of 5 bubbles MaryfromEdinburgh, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Grand plus has a seating area.”
 of 5 bubbles kjsss, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't do it shop around”
 of 5 bubbles Scottyshe, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor room 315”
 of 5 bubbles AlastairL129, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not great views but grand double was brillant”
 of 5 bubbles kd2508, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5