We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Horse and Hound Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
dunston
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute to stay on a Sunday night. Showed to our room by a very pleasant young lady called Holly. Our room though small was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom and shower were excellent. The evening meal was very disappointing my husband had hawian chicken which turned out to be chicken stuffed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathersdunston
Newcastle, UK
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

The Horse and Hound is a cracking little place. We stayed here in August 2016 for one night and couldn't fault the place - the staff and regulars were lovely, the rooms spotless and the breakfast superb. They had a singer on that night and the atmosphere was fantastic. At only £3.30 for a pint of Stowford Press I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angellea69
Livingston
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We bought a deal from Itison - called to book and left 3 voicemails over 3 days and was never called back however on 4th attempt we finally got a call back. As this was a pub we decided to leave early and drive down to get lunch in the bar before we checked in.. Arrived at about 12.30 and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Legallyblonde7478
Management response:

We note your comments and responded to Itison two weeks ago. There appears to be some confusion to you as to what we are, as you state in your headline comment "do not book this hotel " but then call us "a pub" later. We are a country inn that has en-suite letting rooms, a bar and a restaurant not...

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Called in today for Sunday lunch.Menu very poor,several starters but only 2 mains,roast dinner or fish and chips.Beef or pork meat choices,mashed,roast or new potatoes and cauliflower cheese.Only one choice of potatoe to be picked.I chose beef and my partner chose pork.On arrival we were shocked with it, 2 pieces of roast beef palm sized,one Yorkshire pudding (Aunt besies I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank john c
Management response:

hi thank you for your comments it is a shame you did not mention your concerns at the time although on investigation the other ten people eating at the same time as you were very happy, i take on board what you have to say the meat is locally sourced from a nearby butchers and is usually very well received...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Got a deal to stay here through Groupon which advised that to stay more than the two nights offered contact the hotel direct, This we did and spoke to the owner Katherine, So got four nights BB for £31 per night for two people, This makes it UNBEATABLE VALUE ! Firstly, on driving down from Glasgow via Peebles - an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sosaysBuccleuch
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Booked this through Itison the day we stayed. For the price we paid it was totally adequate. It is being refurbished slowly but our room was lovely and had been obviously reburbished recently. We had dinner and our steaks were cooked to perfection. The staff were very friendly and homely. Locals were also very chatty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PMS71
mrx1000
Reviewed 5 August 2016

I booked this hotel at short notice as I had business locally. I booked online and followed up with a call to say I would be arriving late. The owner answered and offered to make me a sandwich for my arrival which was a nice touch. I arrived just in time to have a locally brewed beer in the bar....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrx1000
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Husband and I stopped here on a one night stay. On our way to play golf at The Roxborghe. We were well looked after. Had a lovely meal. The Bonchester burger was excellent. Breakfast was very filling.Hotel had several guests. We were in room 9. Big comfy bed. We stayed on Monday night so no noise from bar. Only noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Nice place, however our night was Friday an it turned out to be a little noisy. Few the guess partying to the early hours. It's a good location we enjoyed our stay, as local were talkative an friendly. Car park is a little tight to park in as there's only 3 spaces at the side an being there's 9 rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alfred B
Management response:

Thank you for your comments we have a large car park at the side and another for 8 behind the inn i'm sorry no-one mentioned it to you regards kathryn

Birmingham, UK
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

As a single female business traveller, I often find booking hotels a bit of a minefield but this is a gem of a place I'd recommend without hesitation. After a long days journey north to Gateshead with an onward trip to Scotland, this was a perfectly placed stopover. Yes, the renovations are ongoing but that's not an issue as the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JackiGBirmingham_UK

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
8.2 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
26.4 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
132 reviews
8.8 km away
Elm House Hotel
Elm House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Hawick
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
807 reviews
9.0 km away
Wiltonburn Farm
Wiltonburn Farm
#4 of 8 in Hawick
18 reviews
21.3 km away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Horse and Hound Country Inn is a 300 year old Coaching Inn nestled in the heart of the Scottish Borders. Idea for all types of country pursuits as well as for walkers, cyclists and those just here to chill out and wander around the local Abbey towns. Our 9 en-suite bedrooms are decorated to a high standard with steam showers in some rooms. There is a spacious lounge bar and restaurant serving Traditional Scottish Pub Fayre using fresh local produce where available. The public bar with its roaring log fire is a great place to relax with a pint of real ale. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Horse and Hound Country Inn

Address: Bonchester Bridge, Hawick TD9 8JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Price Range: $100 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Horse and Hound Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Horse and Hound Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Horse And Hound Country Hotel Hawick
Country Inn Hawick
Hawick Country Inn
The Horse And Hound Country Inn Hawick, UK - Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Horse and Hound Country Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Horse and Hound Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we have had 2 different rooms. Both good. We take our dog, so worth asking for space for dog cage.”
 of 5 bubbles soobysue, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Small hotel with a few rooms only, no further comment”
 of 5 bubbles davidgeorgea, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“When going for your Breakfast, I hope your not in a Hurry !”
 of 5 bubbles johnnyblue558, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont bother !!”
 of 5 bubbles Legallyblonde7478, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with WIFI if you need it”
 of 5 bubbles mrx1000, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay