We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

George & Abbotsford Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
George & Abbotsford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 385: English reviews
Start your review of George & Abbotsford Hotel
 Click to rate
Blyth
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went again to this hotel with a coach trip. Three nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. The coach organization was brilliant. The hotel was poor. The breakfast was okay but you could only have one of each. I.e.. one egg etc. The main meals were not up to standard. We were on a table of seven great people. The pound...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnRobson1
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to G&A for an overnight for our Silver wedding. Staff were amazing , nothing a bother to them. The Food was lovely, highly recommend the G&A choc pot for dessert, yummy. Room was lovely, bed comfy and spotlessly clean, plenty towels. Excellent. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daisymay146
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff and management of the George & Abbotsford Hotel are first class. Nothing was too much trouble for them - always willing to help - in fact - made you feel special - important to them. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious - had everything we needed. The breakfast and evening meal were excellent with something to meet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank millieb802
Hawick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended by family to this venue but were met with inefficiently, excuses and disappointment.the answering machine failed to take our booking, there was only one waiter on, three items were off the menu, we went on a group on coupon and were told there was a price restriction, I ended up with scampi and chips. Really disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
andria g, Guest Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you was not happy yes you booked on our answer machine and we unfortunately did not get your booking. Food all ours is cooked to order and when we have run out its becouse we have sold out . Fish comes in every day we said we only had 2 left and one of the chicken dishes we had...

Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here last week for a three night break,i was here on a bus trip never been before but found this Hotel very nice. Excellent welcome from owner of hotel came on bus to welcome us all. Very friendly staff and very helpful, nothing was to much for them brilliant!! Food was good ,great choice something for everyone,we also had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorothy G
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Andria and Stuart at the G&A are absolutely fantastic as a coach driver that has stayed in many a hotel on behalf of David Urquhart travel (DUT) this one really is a cut above the rest, from the warm welcome from Andria herself and Stuart along with the manager John helping with unloading suitcases and making sure passengers get checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dougal26
Scottish Borders
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Bought a Groupon for £18.95 for 2 courses for 2. You choose from the normal menu and are allowed £4.95 for starter and £11.95 for main, anything over this you pay the difference. We had pate and prawn/smoked salmon cocktail to start and then beer battered fish with chips and peas. All were delicious and plentiful. You also get a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dickmans
Leics
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

My friend & I totally loved our 3 day New Year break with Newmarket holidays. Andrea, Stuart & all the staff worked their socks off to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The food was absolutely delicious & plentiful. The entertainment ( George) was so good that he sang a 2nd night. We had the wonderful pipers, drummers & fireworks on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happy2wanderLeics
Rhode-Saint-Genese, Belgium
Reviewed 2 January 2017

we were charged £10 per night (tot £30 for 3 nights stay) for our small dog instead of the 10£ per stay declared on the Groupon voucher. Considering the Groupon offer, we had a good price for the room, breakfast and dinner. It's just unfortunate that we were charged more than we were supposed to pay for the dog.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elenadallora
andria g, Guest Relations Manager at George & Abbotsford Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you was not happy our policy is for dogs £10per night .

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Just came back from here,the bus company were excellent, as for the hotel, that's a different story the good points, the hotel was extremely clean,some of the staff were very rode,you were only allowed 1 price of bacon.egg.sausage and 1 price of fried bread and a few bean or tomato,and we must not forget the crusty bun which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Maureensellars

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melrose
1.5 km away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
0.1 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
235 reviews
0.1 km away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#4 of 7 in Melrose
133 reviews
4.9 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
835 reviews
0.0 km away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run hotel we took over the hotel in Dec 12; we are under refurbishment at the moment to bring this good old B listed hotel back to its former glory. We have 32 en suite rooms. The rooms are warm, clean and we can offer a warm welcome. We have a lovely bear garden in the middle of the hotel. Families and dogs welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about George & Abbotsford Hotel

Address: High Street, Melrose TD6 9PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Melrose
Price Range: $131 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — George & Abbotsford Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your George & Abbotsford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George & Abbotsford Hotel Melrose, UK - Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George & Abbotsford Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from George & Abbotsford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have difficulty walking, ask for a room near the front.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnRobson1, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can pay for luxury but we were more than happy with budget.”
 of 5 bubbles daisymay146, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the bridal suite”
 of 5 bubbles drummogo, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 is a lovely Room”
 of 5 bubbles Donald1970, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe go for the £20 upgrade?”
 of 5 bubbles beverleyb2014, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5