We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peebles Hydro

Hotels.comUS$82*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,838 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peebles Hydro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,823: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I stayed at the Peebles Hydro while attending a nearby motorsport event. On this occasion I was out from early morning until late evening and I did not have an opportunity to check out the many activities which were available but I have previously stayed at the Crieff Hydro which is a 'sister' hotel and I enjoyed the activities which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhotoRon
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback PhotoRon. The entire team are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. We shall feed your comments back to the team and hope that we can welcome you back again sometime in the near future.

Great Hatfield
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Had a three night break which meant we enjoyed great breakfasts and evening meals and the facilities which were on hand. The swimming pool is really good. The room was very clean and tidy with good facilities. The staff were excellent throughout and all were very pleasant to talk to. We also enjoyed the Spa facilities of which we took...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JontyB843
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review JontyB843. I was delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you at The Hydro again soon.

tyne and wear
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Overall our stay was good but could have been great. I had emailed the hotel asking if I could pay for some birthday treats for my Mam and numerous emails went back and fourth. We arrived at the hotel at around 12.15 however I knew we wouldn't be able to check in so I asked the receptionist if I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank strudledoodle
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to leave us your feedback strudledoodle. Great to hear of the positive points of your stay but not so good hearing about the issues you had. I do hope that you did get the treats you had arranged and I will be discussing this with the team.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Visited for two nights on a voucher, our room was spacious but average with a really ugly view. Visited the pool sauna etc. which was excellent ,then later attended for dinner, dining room , a simple thing like a table cover might make all the difference, appeared more like school dinners....the food itself was very good shame about the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rosiecat1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Rosiecat1 and sorry to hear of your disappointment. Everyday table cloths have been removed to help to comply with waste management legislation and are still used for special occasions. Sadly we can sometimes run out of certain things so it was unfortunate you weren't able to have a certain dessert.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

My hustband and I visited Peebles Hydro on the 18th September for a night to celebrate our anniversary and it was the most awful experience. Walking to our room the corridors were in great need of repair and painting so we thought our room wouldn't be much better and we were right. Our room was disgusting, so dated, walls need...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ashleigh M
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review Ashleigh M and so sorry to hear that your stay was so disappointing. It's not clear if you had brought you dining concerns to the attention of our Management, as they could have very quickly resolved this for you.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Room not ready for book in. given alternative. Bed was clean but that was only plus. Toilet water brown and WC badly stained. Shower very old and dated. No bath robes as advised in confirmation. Went to spa where ladies changing room floor was disgusting and covered in long dark hair. Went to room at night and checked room service...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank maymccluskey
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review maymccluskey. We understand that since posting this review you've been in touch with us directly and had your issues resolved. The team will continue to refurbish the Hydro and hope you will see improvements when you next visit.

Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I visited the hydro with a friend after buying an offer on itison. On arrival we where ignored by all 3 receptionist and had to approach 1 and ask where the spa was and was directed to the lift and told to go down. Thankfully this is were the bad service ended as the spa team where excellent and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley S
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks Ashley S for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your treatments so much, but not so good to learn that you weren't welcomed to the Hydro as you should have been. I will be sure to let the Management team know about this straight away.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum and baby girl, we requested a newly renovated room which we got, it was lovely and spacious. Staff friendly, there is a lot of work going on which means noise from about 8-4 which didn't particularly bother us as we got a good deal. The thing that we felt let this place down was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank R19901986
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback R19901986. We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the whole, but appreciate that our new look dining room may not be to everyone's taste. I'll be sure to pass on your comments about the food to our F&B team, and hope this won't deter you from visiting again.

Durham
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Having booked a one night break for me and my husband , I looked at some of the reviews and wondered if I had made a mistake as the reviews were very varied. I have to say we were pleasantly surprised. We understand the hotel is being refurbished over a period of time and at the moment certain parts of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oscarnharvet
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great feedback oscarnharvet. The team are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the area. Our work will continue across the hotel and we do hope you will return sometime in the near future to see some more of what we're doing with the Hydro.

Ingbrirchworth, UK
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This was our third stop on our little road trip. Booked this on line, looking at the photo's etc, thought it would be nice to stay. Found the place okay, on hill, with parking in front or down the sides(off load your luggage if parking down the side/bottom, there is a bit of a tow up the hill. Checked in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kevin o
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback kevin o. Sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with many aspects of your stay. Our team are currently working hard to update and upgrade the Hydro, and I'm sorry that we were unable to allocate you one of our refurbished bedrooms for this stay. We hope you will decide to return sometime in the...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (497)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (258)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.9 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.6 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
391 reviews
7.2 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
0.7 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
211 reviews
1.0 km away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $118 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peebles Hydro staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Peebles Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the refurbished rooms at the front of the hotel are much better.”
davidennis2016, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying £10 extra to guarantee refurbished room”
331annec, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the front as the views are stunning.”
Annie764, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a front facing room - views are amazing”
aprila133, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room as some of the rooms have still to be done”
207evelynf, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUS$107
Booking.comUS$102
Orbitz.comUS$82
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates