We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Peebles Hydro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peebles Hydro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,832 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peebles Hydro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,817: English reviews
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This has to be the worse hotel i have stayed in. Food was terrible. Rooms badly need refurbished as old and dated.supervisor Angus in the restaurant was unhelpful. Some of the staff were clueless and waited 50 mins on starter which was then served to the table next to us so a further 10 minutes. Hake fish being served totally...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank fabbydabi
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

So sorry to hear of your disappointment fabbydabi. You haven't made it clear from your feedback if you had spoken with a member of management at the time, as I'm sure they would have been only too happy to assit and try to rectify things for you.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Currently undergoing refurbishment of rooms so can be a little bit noisy in the mornings with workmen hammering away. Most rooms at front of hotel have lovely views over the Tweed Valley, but these are slightly more expensive. Swimming pool and spa excellent. The hotel organises activities for kids such as cycling, tennis, forest walks etc. Also, there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank crocksontour
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback crocksontour. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and what The Hydro and Peebles has to offer. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our over night stay, although room slightly on the small side it was clean and comfortable. The rest of the hotel is beautifully furnished. Ate in the restaurant and food was delicious but slightly pricey. You can use the leisure facilities which look brilliant. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elaine W
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback Elaine W. The entire team are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. Hopefully next time round you will be able to enjoy our pool and leisure facilities.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Very poor! Feature room nothing special, just faces the front of the hotel. Food at breakfast was not very warm. Although staff very pleasant did not carry out requests. General cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank maryrose29
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review maryrose29. Sorry that you seem so disappointed by your visit we shall take your comments on board.

Kilmarnock
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night at the hydro as part of itison deal. Great value. Great welcome and staff were so attentive could not fault them. Food in the restaurant was excellent can't wait to return. Room was not one of the recently refurbished ones but was clean and the bed was excellent. Views were magnificent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chips2255
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us your feedback Chips2255. It's great to know that you had such an enjoyable stay. We are so lucky that during this time of transition we are able to offer these great deals and we do hope you will visit us again sometime soon.

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

It was so dry it was a biscuit the coffee was fine nothing to rave about in fact it was dull could do with a lick of paint. Cheering up a bit the staff were all lovely though the view was marvellousness

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline b
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Caroline b. It's not clear if you had brought this to the team attention as they would have happily changed yoru scone for you had they been aware how you felt at the time.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Just returned home from what should have been our first night of two to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Whilst the reseptionist was very pleasant and strawberries/card were nice touches it nowhere near compensated for what the dismal 'feature room' had to offer - to avoid disappoinment do not book rooms 55/56. The rooms are dated/tired and depressing - the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Susan H
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Susan H so sorry to hear that your problems with your room couldn't be resolved. At busy times we have to allocate all of our available rooms, and we are sorry that on this occasion we didn't have one of our refeubished rooms available.

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The best thing about PH is the kids club which our children loved. Lots of activities indoors/outdoors and staff are fab. My kids do not normally like kids clubs but love this place. Otherwise the room (236) was depressing and not as clean as it should be. More attention needs spent on kids menu (sweet potato and chilli soup! When...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lisa O
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Lisa O. It's fantastic to learn that your children had such a great time but not so great to read of our short comings in other areas. We always find guest feedback so useful and we will act accordingly. We do hope to see you again soon for some more Hydro fun.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The hotel was having a great location with stunning view. Gardens were beautiful and there was a big chess set that was fun to play. The room was a little old looking and the radiator had to be fixed twice. However, the staff were really helpful and dealt with our problem efficiently. There was a huge bed in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ninnunipsu
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your thoughts with us Ninnunipsu. It was great to hear you had enjoyed your stay over but sorry to have fallen short in some areas. The team are working very hard to update the Hydro and many of the areas you have mentioned are ear marked for the future.

Aviemore, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at the Hydro... our first visit here. The hotel is very old and it looks like works are under way to reburbish it. We had a feature bedroom on 1st floor. The room was very spacious. Two large leather sofas coffee table and large good quality tv a large wardrobe and dressing table. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kelty1
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Kelty1, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall. So sorry to learn that there were aspects of your stay where you felt we could improve and we will of course take this all on board.

503 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (493)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (257)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.9 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
0.6 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
391 reviews
7.2 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
723 reviews
0.7 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
210 reviews
1.0 km away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $117 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peebles Hydro staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Peebles Hydro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a front facing room - views are amazing”
aprila133, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room as some of the rooms have still to be done”
207evelynf, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front facing is best.”
janicehanvidge, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rm 208 has great views and, being at the end of the building, receives little noise from other guests.”
iaint757, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view to the front of the hotel.”
AnneCuney, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5