We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Dumfries

HolidayInn.comUS$86*
View Deal
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dumfries
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,018 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Dumfries
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,002: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked this hotel in an excellent park location. Old and new building. Our room (224) was as far from reception as it was possible to walk and was very pleasant , well furnished, and with fine garden view. However the room even with window open was VERY warm, and the Air Con was clearly broken. We lost sleep for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank f2s
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review

Hi f2s, Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn Dumfries for your lodging needs, we're glad to have hosted your stay. On behalf of the team, I'd like to apologize for missing the opportunity to provide you with a more stellar experience as you were let down by your assigned room's temperature due to the air conditioning unit and its upkeep...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here previously and were very pleased with the service, room and location. Pleased to say that once again we had a grteat welcome at Rception and were upgraded to an Executive Room which was a good size, clean, good facilities and not too far from Reception. The hotel has a lift which makes it easier especially with luggage. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abogail
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a while ago, but the male receptionist was unhelpful in finding us a room as the hotel was over booked. Eventually a room was found but others were sent to another hotel in Dumfries. This is not what you expect of Holiday Inn. The staff in the dining room were great. Very helpful and frinedly and the chap...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank donnison44
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

comfy sleep, lovely setting but not the easiest to get too. We were there on a work trip - 20+ of us. Evening meal was nice but they were a bit slow taking the order - in fact waitress came to take the order before we had been given menus! Unfortunately the night we were there the boiler broke down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Affordable luxury 1 mile from Dumfries town centre . Large rooms , quiet location and a forward thinking restaurant team who adapt menus to cater for the discerning vegan, if like me on short notice. Gluten free, no problem here too, don't be shy just ask them and they cater without any fuss. That's the key here . So go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john051972
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our arrival exposed us to a loud supercilious male receptionist, barking instructions glued to his computer screen lacking any eye contact, great…. Round 2, he swapped our preferred room and half-heartedly offered a free bottle of wine if we booked for dinner…. Immediately! For the remainder of our stay he never recovered from a broken heart, informed we’d eat out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thefooddood
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review

Hi thefooddood, Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It is good to know that you found our property clean. I am also glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast options provided. On the other hand, I am sorry for the service letdown from our front desk staff. Rest assured that...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The stay generally was pleasant, however when i arrived the hotel was severely understaffed it was around 530pm i got to my room, there was dirty towels on the floor, the bed was unmade and the smell of mens strong scent was very strong and did not leave the room for two days. The rooms eventually got cleaned. However i...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DeborahJHarrison
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review

Dear DeborahJHarrison, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory check-in experience you had, and for not living up to your expectations regarding our internet connection and the condition of the room you were given. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they...

Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights and could not have been more pleased. The history of the place was fascinating...get the waitress to tell you about it. The restaurant was convenient and served delicious food. The staff was friendly . Definitely would stay again. It was located on the outskirts of town, but a lovely area and we found it easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Eskdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second stay at this hotel on the beautiful Crichton Estate in Dumfries. Staff are smiley and welcoming. Rooms are modern and airy. Dining and bar are in the older historic part of the building. We had an enjoyable dinner in the restaurant and also enjoyed breakfast. The walks around the estate including the rock garden and church...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smithybrow
Prestwick
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed on 29th and 30th April for our anniversary and it was a lovely break. Have been 3 times before so knew what to expect and were not disappointed. Ate in the hotel on the 30th April and was not disappointed it was beautiful and that was our anniversary. To top it we were given a large glass of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancymcneill2

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
12/06/2017 13/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2.1 km away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
2.3 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.0 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
635 reviews
22.0 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Price Range: $105 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dumfries staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dumfries staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the ground floor”
orrc1601, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for executive only £10.00 more”
elaine362016, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“There is some rooms with scaffolding outside but I doubt this will last long.”
Tigers4, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Best to get Air Con, and away from banging fire escape doors.”
f2s, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the gardens are quiet and have a good view. Executive Rooms are worth the extra.”
Abogail, 14 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$87
PricelineUS$86
Booking.comUS$86
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates