We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 587: English reviews
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2015

One night mid-week stay. Plenty of free parking outside the hotel (on the High Street). Reception was very welcoming, with the common parts looking very smart and well-maintained. We stayed in one of the rooms off the courtyard (as opposed to the main building); this was very clean, with large bathroom and comfortable beds. Room was hot, but soon remedied... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Your business is very important to me and I value your feedback. By telling me what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

After seeing the tiny room and cot sized bed I swiftly turned on me feet and drove home ..... What a disappointment after a long hard day was so looking forward to falling into a comfy bed ..... Like the ones posted on the website !!! Avoid if possible !

Helpful?
Thank Annemariemcginn
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me. However this review somewhat baffles me and I feel it very unfair to leave such a review considering you booked a single room. I do not see how you can fault us for something that you yourself booked.... More 

Stafford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Built in 1750 by John Adam for the Earl of Hopetoun, this is a splendid building on Moffat's very attractive, broad main street.Our room was large, comfortable, spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the gardens to the rear.It was very well appointed with more than ample storage space.We ate twice in the bar and were impressed with the food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Your business is very important to me and I value your feedback. By telling me what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015

booked in this hotel as we were at a wedding the next day , Central to the Main Street ,parking on site ,the rooms were lovely ,oldy world furniture in bedrooms ,clean ,tv in rooms and shower ,we were in the main hotel and my only complaint was the front door banged really loud when opened ,we arrived late so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tw1968
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Your business is very important to me and I value your feedback. By telling me what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2015

we have used this hotel 3 times now and every visit has been extremely satisfactory the disabled access room is well laid out in an annex only needing a ramp to gain wheelchair access to the hotel, just a bit disconcerting after dark Breakfast excellent Restaurant good we plan to go back many more times

Helpful?
Thank andy m
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Regards Ian Wilson General Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Superb friendly staff. Nice comfortable rooms. Great food. Reasonable prices. We loved breakfast;););) great place if u want discover Scottish Borders. To Edinburgh is only 50 mins drive. Only one thing is taking place down : after 9 is almost not possible to find place serving food.

Helpful?
Thank Greg H
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

My wife and I were in the Moffat area and stopped by the Moffat House Hotel for a relaxing drink. As we both appreciate a nice beer and were excited to see a banner outside the hotel advertising Broughton Ales which are brewed a mere 20 miles away. We headed inside and processed to the bar to see what was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottish_MandL
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,287 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2015

There was a friendly young barmaid here, but she would have to have been something pretty special to be able to inject a modicum of life or atmosphere into this sad bar. Occasionally you will come across a hotel that manages to create a bar that has the cosy feel of a pub. This is not the case here and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank johnhouston2
Winchester
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Had a great time in the self catering family cottage (with breakfast included). Superb facilities including a games room and a lovely breakfast. We were discussing when we would be able to return whilst still in the cottage. Great location too.

Helpful?
Thank HoobyWinchester
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We pulled on the motorway to take a rest en route to The Cairngorms. We were so taken by the this delightful town and surrounding area that we stayed the night. This hotel has ample parking adjacent to the main entrance. The staff were friendly and helpful even offering a discount off the rack rate. Our room was surprisingly large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moffat
0.2 km away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Annandale Arms Hotel
Annandale Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Moffat
317 reviews
0.1 km away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#3 of 4 in Moffat
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
243 reviews
12.9 km away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
0.4 km away
Hartfell House & The Limetree Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel UK - Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sunderland
5 months ago
Lonescot
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Think main house is best”
  • Bedroom 20
 of 5 bubbles spencerallen, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No lift so consider asking for a lower floor if unable to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Medaman121212, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get rooms on the garden side as there is some traffic noise at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Chasyj, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a family room at the front of the hotel on the second floor. Room for two adults and two children.”
 of 5 bubbles Jono0303, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the ground floor rooms if possible!”
 of 5 bubbles santalucia26, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay