We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
224Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
78Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
32
30
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
30
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room games room shared bathroom no lift stone stairs caird hall city centre location is excellent railway station a great stay good size internet towels facilities fridge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 77 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in an 8 bed dormitory. The building has an interesting history and is a veritable Warren in an old tenement. There is a well equipped kitchen with plenty of fridge storage space, a large ‘games room’ which has a snooker table...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank cantiumrex
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed in room 14 single ensuite up in the gods. Three flights stone stairs but well worth it, clean, warm, spacious and quirky. Sheets and towel provided, excellent sleep and really pleasant receptionist Just beware the bed is very high and not easy to get...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Samnorth
Reviewed August 25, 2018

If you are tight on budget and saving for travels then this is a great choice. Located quite central so inevitably at nights it can be quite noisy outside but for a short period it was fine. Grounds were clean overall and staff polite and...More

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank anacpap
Reviewed March 12, 2018

I stayed in one of the private rooms with a shared bathroom for one night. The hostel is in some lovely old buildings which have been recently renovated, and there are some great public areas such as the Reading Room. My room was reasonably comfortable,...More

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank dawlee
Reviewed September 17, 2017

Great location, close to the train and bus station. Unfortunately due to the location it was very noisy, Saturday night you could hear the drunks screaming in the High Street up to 4am. The windows are as if there were none. Next night there was...More

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank ruediblaettler
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
artyhannah
July 22, 2017|
Answer
Response from Daniel W | Reviewed this property |
I used my provisional, basically some form of picture ID with a PASS logo should be fine
0
Votes
Room Tips
"take a room on the backside of the house"
ruediblaettler
Sep. 17, 2017
Read review
"Be aware that stairs are difficult if you have heavy luggage."
elainejjones
Aug. 20, 2017
Read review
"The games room is a good place to stay"
RickHarris0n
Feb. 21, 2017
Read review
"Rooms to the rear are quite as the front is noisy at nighttime."
gear_idj
Jan. 8, 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing