We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dundee Backpackers Hostel

{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Trendy
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
224Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
78Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Dundee Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
32
30
8
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
30
8
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews reading room games room shared bathroom no lift stone stairs caird hall city centre location is excellent railway station a great stay good size internet towels facilities fridge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
71 - 75 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This hostel was a bit harder to find than it's sister hostel in Edinburgh due to the fact that they don't have a sign hanging out of the front. It reminded me of a fun house as in that it consisted of three different buildings...More

Date of stay: April 2011
Thank tptraveler11
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed here for two nights, and the staff were great. Some of the other guests, however, were inconsiderate, loud, and I think even smoking inside. One of the nights, a group were running up and down the stairs laughing, screaming, and practically throwing suitcases...More

Date of stay: September 2010
1  Thank Globetrotter_5678
Reviewed July 24, 2010

I know Dundee very well having lived there for three years while at university. My boyfriend and I stayed at the hostel for two nights during a weekend visit for an old friends birthday. I have stayed in plenty of hostels before but my boyfriend...More

Date of stay: February 2009
2  Thank travelbug194
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We traveled with a group of students to visit the University of Dundee and had booked an entire section of the 2nd floor (an 8-bedroom dorm, 2 double en suites and 2 double standard rooms). Everyone enjoyed the stay: the place has character, is clean,...More

Date of stay: October 2009
Thank heiranig
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed at the Hostel for 3 nights and was relatively happy with the accomodation. Check in was okay (only issue was the card machine was broken, hence had to find cash machine and pay by cash). I stayed in the double room with onsuite, which...More

Date of stay: October 2009
1  Thank 511,915
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
artyhannah
July 22, 2017|
Answer
Response from Daniel W | Reviewed this property |
I used my provisional, basically some form of picture ID with a PASS logo should be fine
0
Votes
Room Tips
"take a room on the backside of the house"
ruediblaettler
Sep. 17, 2017
Read review
"Be aware that stairs are difficult if you have heavy luggage."
elainejjones
Aug. 20, 2017
Read review
"The games room is a good place to stay"
RickHarris0n
Feb. 21, 2017
Read review
"Rooms to the rear are quite as the front is noisy at nighttime."
gear_idj
Jan. 8, 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandDundee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing