We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel

Show Prices
#6 of 31 Hotels in Dundee
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 422: English reviews
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

My daughter and I spend a lovely chilled weeken here the hotel and all staff were extremely helpful and polite . Breakfast was buffet style with fantastic choices dinner menu had something for everyone . There are lots of shopping nearby . Looking forward to visiting Woodland Hotel again soon .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Stayed here for just one night in the bridal suite which had a lovely four poster bed. Room was clean. Breakfast was great. Would definetly stay here again. Although bar was quite expensive. Staff were all friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We visited this old haunt one Sunday for High Tea and, not having been there for a couple of years, didn't know how it woul be. Very surprised. It is in good hands with Best Western and still quite the place to be for good food served by efficient and friendly staff. Oh, and fine value for money, as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus E
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

The Woodlands Hotel has been around for years. I remember playing in the grounds when I was young. Belonged to Betts back then. The rooms are adequate but beds not particularly comfortable. The bar area is quite pleasant to sit and catch up with friends. Restaurants waitresses are very pleasant and polite although the food is quite average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Glasgow, Scotland,UK
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Elgin, Illinois
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

I came here for a 2 night stay with my mum (her treat for me) The receptionist at check in was pleasant and helpful but unfortunately it went down hill fast from there. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom although it looked like it had been recently decorated, left a lot to be desired. Bath plug did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie1806
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly please accept our sincere apologise for not providing the experience you should of had. I can assure you that we take all feedback very seriously and try to rectify any issues as quickly as possible and i will be making sure our maintenance look at the room you were in as soon as possible. However the issue of courteous...

Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Our party of nineteen golfers stayed for a short tour of the local courses. We were given our own dining room which worked brilliantly. Food was relatively basic but of good quality and served with a smile even when we regularly mixed our orders up. Good rooms and amenities with very friendly & helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mproctor02
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being the best for you. We do hope you will stay with us again in the future but we cannot guarantee better weather!

Reviewed 26 April 2016

We arrived on the 23 April 2016, on arrival evenvthough they were very busy with a wedding reception they made time for and we were made to feel very welcolm. The room we had been allocated was up some stairs which for us being elderly wasn't somethjng that we could handle, immediatly we were changed to another room. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am glad that we were able to offer you a suitable room and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Boston, uk
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed for 3 nights, dirty cups in room on arrival, never changed. Small bar, few tables where 2 were reserved, so no-where to sit. Breakfast however was very good, reception staff very helpful, it is a pity the other bits let it down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
NikkiRobertson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the dirty crockery in your room. This is not the level of service we usually achieve and I will be bringing this up with Housekeeping to ensure that this does not happen again.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dundee hotels
7.0 km away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
13.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
1.9 km away
The Hotel Broughty Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Jolly's Hotel
Jolly's Hotel
#10 of 31 in Dundee
310 reviews
12.8 km away
Premier Inn Dundee West Hotel
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Invercarse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel is a warm and welcoming 3* accommodation surrounded by mature wooded gardens. Suitable for business or leisure, the jhotel is conveniently located close to Dundee city centre and a short walk to the bustling seaside town of Broughty Ferry. For those interested in Golf, The Woodlands is only 20 miles from the famous 'Old Course' in St. Andrews, and only 6 miles from the Championship Carnoustie Golf Links. If Golf is not your thing, you'll discover that Dundee is a modern and vibrant city which offers excellent shopping, eating and cultural experiences. Just a few miles takes you into the beautiful Angus Glens and most spectacular countryside. The Leisure Club boasts a fully equipped gym, pool, sauna, steam & jacuzzi. After working out in the gym or doing some lengths in the pool, why not indulge in a holistic therapy and book yourself an appointment in the Good InTensions treatment room which offers a range of rejuvenating therapies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel

Address: Woodlands Hotel 13 Panmure Terrace, Dundee DD5 2QL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dundee
Dundee Best Western
BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel Dundee, Scotland, UK
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dundee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
#14 Family Hotel in Dundee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bebington, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Woodlands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room was 224 which had lift access.”
 of 5 bubbles bryanComrie, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Thea99, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Was told by reception to book direct as we might have got a better room and saved some money - we booked through easybreaks”
 of 5 bubbles DoreenC66, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room in the new wing its lovely”
 of 5 bubbles robbier237, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 133 unless you are on your own.”
 of 5 bubbles V2912MCericr, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay