The Scholar

The Scholar

Traveller (390)
Deluxe Twin Room
Room & Suite (144)
The Scholar
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#58 of 162 hotels in Edinburgh
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Scholar Hotel, formerly Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro, is a newly refurbished hotel located in the beautiful grounds of the Pollock Estate, just a few minutes’ walk from Arthurs Seat, Holyrood Park and the Meadows and within walking distance of all of the city’s world famous landmarks. The local Southside neighbourhood buzzes with small restaurants, bars and an eclectic mix of independent shops. All bedrooms are luxurious and feature large beds, Elite mattresses and quality linen to ensure the best possible night’s sleep. All rooms also include a TV with a whole host of channels, award winning Novus tea and cafetiere coffee and a desk with ample work space. Our large bathrooms include rainfall showers, Arran Aromatics toiletries and fluffy towels. The hotel’s contemporary restaurant, bar and garden dining area proudly serve the highest quality breakfast, lunch and dinner, focusing on using locally sourced Scottish ingredients, allowing you to sample Edinburgh’s excellent food and drink scene without needing to leave the hotel. We also offer free Wifi throughout the hotel and free onsite parking, including a large number of electric car charging points. Our friendly staff go above and beyond to make this the perfect place for to stay all types of travelers. The Scholar is a part of The University of Edinburgh Hospitality & Events Collection - the surplus made from your bookings with us is always reinvested in the University of Edinburgh.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid public parking nearby
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

18 Holyrood Park Road Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 76 out of 100
76
Turnhouse Airport
11.9 km
See all flights
Dundee Airport
58.1 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,126 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Scholar hotel emerges as a tranquil oasis in Edinburgh, celebrated for its prime yet serene location that's a stone's throw from local attractions and welcoming to four-legged companions. Many guests laud the hotel's staff for their outstanding service, which pairs well with the clean, comfortable rooms adorned with tasteful decor. The value of the hotel is acknowledged by travelers who appreciate the complimentary parking and well-priced dining options. Amenities like an extensive breakfast spread and pet-friendly policies also receive high marks, although some guests suggest that there's room for improvement in terms of noise insulation and decor variety.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,126Review12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 432
  • 420
  • 179
  • 64
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martin166 wrote a review Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom29 contributions55 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just had a fantastic 2 night stay in this hotel. Couldn't fault it. Comfortable, clean rooms with good wardrobe space and in good location. Breakfast and staff also impressive. Would definitely go back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gavin Maclennan, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Jun 11, 2023
Hello, Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to share your positive feedback and review following your recent stay with us here at The Scholar. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your review as feedback from our guests allows us to constantly review our service and facilities and make enhancements as necessary. I really hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Scholar or one of our other hotels based here in Edinburgh. We wish you an enjoyable summer. Kind regards and best wishes, Gavin J MacLennan General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scotgrl3 wrote a review May 2020
Chatham, Canada647 contributions145 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this hotel as it had available parking onsite and was pretty central. Staff were very helpful and went the extra mile for us including helping us to access laundry facilities at the University as we were on an extended trip in Europe. The Bistro restaurant had good food and we thought was reasonably priced. We had breakfast each morning and also dinner on 2 of the 4 nights that we stayed. The rooms on upper floors had elevator access and were very quiet. We were in the newer building where reception & Bistro located. Seemed like a converted student residence. Our room was not huge and had a bit of an unusual shape like it was 2 small rooms combined. The shower & bathroom was a bit like a cruise ship bathroom in size - but worked out well. We would definitely recommend this as a great place overall to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at The Scholar
Responded May 5, 2020
Dear scotgrl3, Thank you for reviewing Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro following your stay . I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in particular our service, your restaurant experience and room facilities. Hopefully I will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Wanderlust wrote a review Jan 2020
Pirna, Germany52 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My second visit to this hotel. On the university campus and seems to be run by uni too. Rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds. Curtains are made with high quality fabric and have blackout lining. Slept well as room was quietly located in Mansion part of hotel. High standard of cleanliness all round. Had 2 course evening meal which was tasty, well presented and reasonably priced. Buffet style breakfast as well as cooked breakfast to order is available. Will return again on my next visit to Edinburgh.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RobertKitzinger, Manager at The Scholar
Responded Jan 14, 2020
Dear Anrip405, Thank you for taking the time to review Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro following your stay. I am delighted to read of your satisfaction and your positive comments regarding our bedrooms; cleanliness and Bistro experience. Your feedback has been shared with the team to ensure we continue to exceed our standards and we look forward to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben V wrote a review Aug 2021
Caldicot, United Kingdom30 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely stay my Fiance and I had at this hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room with a massive bed and beautiful bathroom! I loved the little touches like the fancy coffee in the room. The room is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in however the toilet is a little low to the floor for my liking and there were some coffee/tea marks on the wallpaper which we only noticed after trying to read what the writing was on the paper but this didn't really bother us.

I managed to get 10% off on hotels.com so I feel that the value for Edinburgh was great. The free parking was a big bonus as a lot of hotels in the city don't offer this.

This was my Fiance and I first time in Edinburgh and in Scotland in fact. After a 380 mile drive I arrived two hours before check in however this wasn't a problem. We walked most days in to the centre itself however to the old town it is quite a walk. On our last day we started using Ubers which will pick you up about 300m from the hotel entrance.

We ate breakfast everyday and feel the price is just right for £11 each for what is offered. Shannon served us most mornings and she was brilliant. In general all of the staff were very friendly they would stop what they're doing to have a chat with you which was lovely. Id be more than happy to use this hotel again the next time I'm in Edinburgh and will be recommending it to friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Arrive early to get a parking space near the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Sep 7, 2021
Dear vaughan1995, Thank you for taking the time to review Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro following your stay. I am delighted to read about your experience and that you had such a fantastic time. Your feedback has been shared to ensure we continue to delight our guests and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, my team's service and hearing that you might return. I am looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ESS94 wrote a review Aug 2020
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom132 contributions47 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed for one night as a stop off, the building is very run down from the outside and the inside is dated too. Our room was clean, but no air con. There was lots of room to walk in our room and the bathroom was clean. However, the other couple in our party complained about their room due to several hairs in the bedroom, and the toilet still had paper from previous users. The help wasn't particularly forthcoming, they were shown another room that too had hairs, so they sticked with what they had, the answer was "well the cleaners make mistakes". It also wasn't particular near the centre either, it took us a good 30 minutes to walk to grassmarket for dinner (we are fit 20 somethings). If you are looking for something to visit the centre, or stay in for more than one night I would look elsewhere. It is close to Holyrood and Arthurs Seat from what I could tell.

I have to say though the breakfast was lovely and great value for money, with hot and cold items included and covid regs followed diligently.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Aug 18, 2020
Dear EllenaF94, Thank you very much for reviewing Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro and please accept my apologises for the issues encountered during your stay. Your comments have been investigated and addressed with my team to ensure we continue to keep our standards high. I appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast which we are delighted to receive and hopefully you will stay with us again in the future. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DebCEssex wrote a review Sep 2020
Essex194 contributions112 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As we arrived I was a little unsure of the hotel as it looked a bit " travelodge " not that theres anything wrong with a travelodge but it just wasn't what I was expecting. However once inside it was a different matter
The room was very large, immaculate and seemed freshly decorated. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the bathroom was well kitted out with a large walk in shower. The room had everything you needed and the hospitality tray included a cafetier fresh coffee and speciality tea bags. The lounge is comfortable and you can get a drink there. The breakfast was substantial, freshly cooked and tasty. The hotel is across the road from a gastro pub where we had a lovely evening meal, and there is a bus stop for easy access to the city.
This is a great place to stay in Edinburgh very reasonably priced and we will definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear DebCEssex, Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and comments following your stay at Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro. I am very pleased to hear about your enjoyment during your time with us in particular our bedrooms; facilities and breakfast. I have shared your feedback with my team to ensure we continue to delight our guests and we all hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger Head of Hotel Operations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guy L wrote a review Sep 2020
Alnwick, United Kingdom10 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is within the Halls of loop Residence in Edinburgh. Don't be put off if the satnav takes you to a barriered entrance with a guard, yes you are in the right place. Plenty of parking around so no worries there. Staff were welcoming and answered all questions especially about the current restrictions caused by COVID givig you a nice safe feeling. I'm pretty sure I got a special deal but the room was very spacious, clean and warm. Bathroom had a walk in shower with gels etc. Large flat screen TV, large selection of teas and coffees, hair dryer, iron and board with plenty of storage for clothes for longer stays. Meals in the Bistro (at extra cost) were reasonably priced and were very tasty. Breakfast was included in the deal (normally £14.99) and had a wide selection of juices, cereals and cooked locally produced goods. An excellent hotel and even if I have to pay more I'll be back on my next visit to Edinburgh. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Dear Guy L, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and you had such a great time. Great to hear you found our hospitality, cleanliness and catering arrangement top class and hopefully you will stay with us again next time you are in Edinburgh. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jillw328 wrote a review Aug 2020
Tadley, United Kingdom66 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This 3 star hotel was great for our 2 night stay. We walked to town each day which was an easy 35 minute walk. The rooms are clean & comfortable with friendly staff. The breakfast was tasty & not drowning in oil which was refreshing for a bacon, egg etc breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Dear jillw328, Thank you very much for your feedback and review following your stay. I am pleased to read of your satisfaction during your time with us and look forward to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hungry_Trave11er wrote a review Jun 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom84 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was easily the best we’ve stayed in throughout Scotland which made for a nice end to the trip. Unfortunately the breakfast was dead slow as they only had one chef catering to a huge number of hungry guests as well as an event. This poor organisation took a chunk out of our final day in Edinburgh, but they kindly took breakfast off the bill to compensate. These things happen and I’d give them another go. It was only a 25 minute walk from the centre and if it’s raining you can go and park the car for free in the pay and display spots in the centre of town after 6 or 6:30.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book your meal in Edinburgh well in advance as tables fill up quick. I highly recommend Passorn...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Aug 13, 2021
Dear Hungry_Traveller, Thank you very much for taking the time to review Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us in particular our bedroom. Thank you for your understanding regarding the breakfast service which we have taken on board to ensure we continue to improve and hopefully we might hit a 5 star review on your next visit. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tricia B wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Salisbury Green Hotel and Bistro
Thank you very much for the lovely food and drinks you supplied for my mother’s wake
on Tuesday.
The Bistro was a perfect socially distancing venue, lots of sanitising station, the staff were great, friendly, attentive and gave us the time we needed to celebrate my mother’s life.
The food was delicious too.
Will definitely visit the bistro in happier times.
Tricia Bagheri 25/08/20
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Only hired the Bistro for my mothers wake
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robert Kitzinger, General Manager at The Scholar
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Dear triciab875, Thank you very much for your review and feedback. I am pleased we were able to assist you in those difficult times. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Best wishes, Robert Kitzinger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Gavin MacLennan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Hello, all rooms are the same type and we offer either twin or double, please request at booking stage.
doxie8w8 asked a question Mar 2020
Newark, Delaware57 contributions11 helpful votes
Is there a nearby bus stop into town? If so how often do they run? Thank you...
Answer from kathies974
Moncton, Canada27 contributions35 helpful votes
Yes , directly across the street from the parking area on Dalkeith Rd
Helen O asked a question Sep 2019
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom78 contributions7 helpful votes
Is there free parking at the hotel.
Answer from Andrew M
Loughborough, United Kingdom57 contributions42 helpful votes
Yes, there is free parking but, as the hotel is on the University grounds and also because the hotel is popular, spaces are very scarce. We managed to find spaces that were about 3-5 minutes walk. The reception asked us for the car registration, which they then passed on to security to ensure that we were not booked for parking illegally.
Tootsall asked a question Jun 2019
Lethbridge, Canada106 contributions18 helpful votes
Can anyone advise if this hotel has laundry facilities or if such is available close by?
Answer from Gavin MacLennan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Hi, we have launderette facilities on campus (5 minutes walk). The team on site will be able to help you when you arrive. Robert
lam1985 asked a question Apr 2019
Falkirk, United Kingdom13 contributions11 helpful votes
Does this hotel cater gluten free for breakfast?
Answer from Gavin MacLennan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Hi, Yes there is a variety of gluten free options
Kover O wrote a tip May 2024
Bucharest, Romania4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to eat somewhere else"
Read full review
Ursula R wrote a tip May 2024
Bethesda, Maryland11 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early!!"
Read full review
chris987141 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You can catch any bus that stops at the Commonwealth Pool and then it's a 2 minute walk to the hotel. "
Read full review
Kate E wrote a tip Feb 2024
Carlisle, United Kingdom53 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take advantage of free onsite parking to ditch your car and take the bus or cab "
Read full review
Frequent travellever wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please book the breakfast, lovely food and service."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Edinburgh area.
PRICE RANGE
C$323 - C$510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
masson house hotel edinburgh
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Salisbury Green Hotel & Bistro
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandEdinburgh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Scholar - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Scholar
Which popular attractions are close to The Scholar?
Nearby attractions include Edinburgh Combat Challenge (0.5 km), St Anthony's Chapel (0.2 km), and Royal Commonwealth Pool (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Scholar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Scholar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Scholar?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Scholar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Voujon, Ristorante Isola, and Verdo BBQ Restaurant.
Does The Scholar offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Scholar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Real Mary King's Close (1.7 km), Palace of Holyroodhouse (1.6 km), and Gladstone's Land (1.8 km).
All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in EdinburghHotels near The Scholar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars