We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

TripAdvisorUS$173*
View Deal
#71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$192*
US$173*
Great Deal
US$176*
US$176*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

994 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 919: English reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Had a great time staying at the Hotel du Vin for a few days during the Fringe festival. A wonderful location, very handy for a lot of the Fringe venues. The bedroom was good - not huge, but a reasonable size. Comfortable bed, and good quality bedding. I especially liked the bathroom - the monsoon shower was fabulous, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M_Stoneway
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear M_Stoneway Thank you for your overall postive review following your stay during the August fringe festival. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope we might see you back at HdV in the future. Kind Regards Gillian

Renfrewshire
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Lovely Hotel Boutique Style Staff very pleasant and well groomed comfortable and tastefully decorated we were immediately up from outside bar area and could hear very little noise brakfast food was lovely expensive menu but extensive and no hidden supplements

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morag G
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Morag G Thanks for your wonderful review of Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to hear you had such a great time whilst staying with us and enjoyed every aspect of your visit from arrival to departure. We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel du Vin. Kind Regards Gillian

United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

A very comfortable welcoming hotel close to the center of Edinburgh. Staff all friendly and efficient. A great breakfast the next morning only issue is parking is difficult and not adjacent to the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jakelrice
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jakelrice Thanks for the review following your review in August. Overall I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the central location of the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have on site parking, but I'm glad you took advantage of the discount we offer at the local NCP car park. Many thanks again for your review....

London
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I went there on a great deal while visiting the Fringe Festival. The hotel is perfect, the staff are pleasant and polite, the restaurants and bars are to a high standard and the room was so comfortable. Highlight was the bathroom with amazing power shower and free standing bathtub, perfect way to unwind at the end of a long day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan_Clarkson
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Dan_Clarkson Thanks for your fantastic review following your stay during the Fringe Festival in Edinburgh. It seems that we managed to be your relaxing oasis despite the city being so busy and I am glad that you were able to escape within our hotel. Hopefully you will not wait until the next Festival before you escape back to Hotel...

Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewed 21 August 2015

From the minute we walked in the door of this beautiful hotel, we were greeted with exceptional service. All the staff went out of their way to help us with luggage, returning our rental car, directions, etc. They provided maps and suggestions of some "don't miss" sites within the city. The location is perfect for easy walking to many of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice L
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Janice L Thank you for your kind review and comments following your stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh in August. It's wonderful to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and the team gave you the warm welcome we like to give all our guests. Customer service is of paramount importance to me therefore it is always...

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Fantastic location for the Fringe, staff very good and friendly. Room a disappointment - booked a large room on the top floor - very dark, poorly laid out and eaves mean it is smaller than it appears. To describe the balcony as such almost breaches the trade description act. Would stay again for the fringe in a lower floor room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timberdudley
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear timberdudley Thank you for your review following your visit in August. I am glad that you found the location to be good for the Fringe festival as we are certainly within short walking distance to the majority of the venues, however, disappointed to hear that you did not like the room you had been allocated. As a converted building...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Very pleasant receptionist Lukas welcomed us. Hotel is rather dark but could be described as atmospheric. Room was nice but snug even for two small adults. Liked the Miller Harris toiletries, good wifi and tv. Thought buffet breakfast range was limited given the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo c
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear jo c Thanks for your comments following your recent stay at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh. I am delighted to hear that you had such a warm welcome from Lukasz and overall enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your constructive comments regarding the breakfast and room size. I do hope you may consider returning to HdV in the future. Kind Regards...

Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Very centric hotel, with a lovely scottish decoration full of wood, also wooden floors. The rooms are súper cozy and not small, and decorated also with the tartanes and scottish wools in cushions, duvets, etc. The bathroom is specially beautiful, all in black and white, with brown, very elegante, with nice toiletries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoySarette
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear SoySarette Thanks for such a positive review regarding your stay in October with us. It's great to hear that you loved the hotel and the Scottish theme throughout the public areas and bedrooms. Hopefully we will see you on future visits to Scotland. Kind Regards Gillian

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Visiting Edinburgh with a friend who likes nice hotels we chose to have a quick snack/glass of wine before a show. I had been to HDV before for lunch and was looking forward to going back. On the plus side Nice tables, smart staff, great location my friend ordered a beetroot salad with some fries on the side. The salad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Ron H Thank you for constructive feedback following your visit to Hotel du Vin Edinburgh throughout August. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy you snack in the courtyard and it did not meet the usual high standards delivered at Hotel du Vin. Please trust that I have taken your feedback on board and would hope you will...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Second stay at this hotel. I booked a superior room Dominio de Valdepusa this time but it wasn't. Very low eaves made it impossible to get in and out of bed without stooping and the wardrobe area was much the same. If you are offered this room do not accept it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
Gillian M, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy D Thank you for your feedback following your second stay in Edinburgh. I am disappointed that following this visit you will not return. As a converted building the design of each room is individual and differs in shape and size. Of course if a room is not suitable for a guest then we will always do our upmost...

635 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (388)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Dom Perignon Master Suite (82)
Viewed
La Grande Dame Suite (65)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (165)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,538 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,409 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Price Range: $230 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms are on the street side so can be a bit noisy”
jclewis80, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The attic suite showed the essence of Edinburgh.”
LM477, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this overpriced slop”
ih716, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room.”
J5938HNedm, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade your room if available, bathroom so much bigger with a bath in the main room too”
damedolan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$173* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$176
Hotels.comUS$176
HOTEL.INFOUS$192
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates